MozillaZine

Firefox using over 90 % of CPU ??

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
dritchie
 
Posts: 112
Joined: March 15th, 2006, 1:54 pm

Post Posted December 14th, 2013, 2:33 pm

at times, my computer comes to a screeching halt and FF uses
over 90 % of the CPU "power", with a number of tabs open,
there is no way to tell what is causing this ...

I almost hate to ask this, because I don't REALLY need another "plug-in"
but how can you tell what is causing this ??

Thanks

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38873
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted December 14th, 2013, 2:37 pm

How often does it happen? For example, does it happen after x number of hours?
Post wrangler
"If you lock this, the Pentium IIs win." - anonymous

lithopsian
 
Posts: 3211
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 9:03 am

Post Posted December 14th, 2013, 4:00 pm

This sort of thing is usually an addon. Try safe mode and see if it still happens.

dritchie
 
Posts: 112
Joined: March 15th, 2006, 1:54 pm

Post Posted December 14th, 2013, 4:31 pm

How can you tell if it's in safe mode?
Hold shift when starting FF, it opens after a while.
But Idon't know if it's in safe mode ???

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8799
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted December 14th, 2013, 4:54 pm

If you are in Firefox safe mode all of your extensions would be disabled... Also
dfoulkes wrote:Safe Mode - MozillaZine Knowledge Base

>What safe-mode does
* The status of plug-ins is not affected.
* Custom preferences are not affected
* The Just-in-time (JIT) JavaScript compiler is disabled.
* All extensions are disabled.
* The default theme is used, without a persona.
* userChrome.css and userContent.css are ignored.
* The default toolbar layout is used.
* Hardware acceleration is disabled.
"The problem with quotes on the internet is you can never be certain they're authentic." ~ Abraham Lincoln

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13799
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 8:29 am

dritchie wrote:Firefox using over 90 % of CPU ??

You're asking us? 8-[ I'm going to guess that you're probably right. I'm also going to guess that it's not Firefox doing this, but a Web site that's making profligate use of JavaScript on your computer.

Hard to know, though. If not a Web site, then it's probably an extension. In theory, it's possible that a user-set option could make unusual demands. Standard troubleshooting is required, as others have suggested. Defaults are almost always best. Carry on.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 7612
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 8:46 am

dritchie wrote: FF uses over 90 % of the CPU "power", with a number of tabs open,
there is no way to tell what is causing this ...

Hmm....You're on XP right ? I assume you're seeing that 90% cpu with the Task Manager, and it's all Firefox?
# KeepFightingMichael

dritchie
 
Posts: 112
Joined: March 15th, 2006, 1:54 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 12:08 pm

Using a think called "progress explorer", Task manager on steroids.
Works very well, it shows FF is using 90 %.
With all the BS turned off, it's not a problem.
Now it's other browsers, but I don't use them much

Thanks

RXLA39
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 15th, 2013, 2:20 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 2:28 pm

This wrote:
Using a think called "progress explorer", Task manager on steroids.
Works very well, it shows FF is using 90 %
With all the BS turned off, it's not a problem.
Now it's other browsers, but I don't use them much

Thanks


Hi there....so did using "progress explorer" pretty much solve your issue? Or are you stating you just have found a work around?
Last edited by RXLA39 on December 29th, 2013, 1:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 7612
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 2:52 pm

dritchie wrote:Now it's other browsers, but I don't use them much

So it's not Firefox specific.
Start IE8, what does process explorer show, IE using 90% or are other processes like svchost, and wuaudt running up cpu?
# KeepFightingMichael

Rangerhere

User avatar
 
Posts: 103
Joined: May 22nd, 2007, 7:06 am
Location: Florida

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 3:15 pm

dritchie wrote:at times, my computer comes to a screeching halt and FF uses
over 90 % of the CPU "power", with a number of tabs open,
there is no way to tell what is causing this ...

I almost hate to ask this, because I don't REALLY need another "plug-in"
but how can you tell what is causing this ??

Thanks


the last microsoft updates causes 100% CPU usage in all browsers running Windows XP..if you have XP and running IE8 heres the patch from Microsoft to fix the problem..run it..reboot and see if the problems fixed
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=40390

only do this if you have XP and running IE8

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 7612
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 3:36 pm

Yep, that's my suspicion, post 157 fixed it for me... http://www.neowin.net/forum/topic/11763 ... ng/page-11 ....... It's a different patch than your link :-k
@If this is the OP's problem, I reckon before doing anything, if it's on, turning OFF Windows Updates, restarting, and seeing if things improve would probably be the prudent step before installing those patches.
# KeepFightingMichael

Rangerhere

User avatar
 
Posts: 103
Joined: May 22nd, 2007, 7:06 am
Location: Florida

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 4:48 pm

mightyglydd wrote:Yep, that's my suspicion, post 157 fixed it for me... http://www.neowin.net/forum/topic/11763 ... ng/page-11 ....... It's a different patch than your link :-k
@If this is the OP's problem, I reckon before doing anything, if it's on, turning OFF Windows Updates, restarting, and seeing if things improve would probably be the prudent step before installing those patches.


your right..i have the link to that patch also but didnt want to post both at the same time..the link i posted i got from an article with the heading....

Windows XP update locks machines with SVCHOST redlined at 100%: Fix it with KB 2879017
Bug returns with recent patches in Windows XP's Windows Update processing, as SVCHOST pegs 100% CPU utilization
this is the 3rd month in a row that microsoft updates caused this problem for me and had to use the fix to repair it..one of the two patches should fix the problem

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 7612
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 4:55 pm

Rangerhere wrote:this is the 3rd month in a row

Look on the bright side, only four more to go :)
# KeepFightingMichael

dritchie
 
Posts: 112
Joined: March 15th, 2006, 1:54 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2013, 7:20 pm

process explorer is what I use in place of task master, which is how I "discovered"
it was FF that was causing the problem.
I almost NEVER use IE ( 8.0.6xx is what I have), unless I have to
because some idiot wrote a web site that NEEDS IE,
and yes I am using XP SP 3, and have updates turned off.

Thanks


Propaganda :
A lie, when told often enough, no matter how
ridiculous it is, many people will actually begin
to believe, and others will pretend to believe
it in order to be accepted by others.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: redwolfe_98 and 32 guests