MozillaZine

Addons dissapeared

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Erroneus

User avatar
 
Posts: 63
Joined: November 12th, 2004, 1:42 am
Location: Denmark

Post Posted November 14th, 2014, 5:52 am

I have Firefox on three machines, at home, at work and on a laptop.

Today I opened Firefox on my work machine and suddenly most of my addons has been removed. I then connect to my machine at home and see the addons are installed, but while the browser is open it starts uninstalling my addons.... I undo those I'm able to.

My laptop running Mac OSX and Firefox still has my addons. What the hell is going on?! :(

My Mac OSX firefox was running with an old sync account.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121745
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 14th, 2014, 6:18 am

Moving to Firefox Support as no bug has yet been identified here.

giannicot
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 14th, 2014, 1:06 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2014, 1:09 pm

Me too, on two PCs with Firefox 33.1 (home and office). The third notebook with Firefox 33.0.2 still has all the same addons. It is a bug of updating at 33.1 for sure.

Alice0775

User avatar
 
Posts: 2712
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 11:25 pm
Location: OSAKA JPN

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 12:17 am

What do you use for anti-virus?

giannicot
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 14th, 2014, 1:06 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 12:40 am

I probably found the cause of the problem: it could be the tool "Browser Cleanup" of the antivirus "Avast" which analyzes the browser add-ons

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32196
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 1:03 am

Might be related to this.
http://www.ghacks.net/2014/10/31/avasts-https-scanning-interferes-with-firefox-and-other-programs/

If you're running Avast 2015 trigger a manual update for it.




.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

Erroneus

User avatar
 
Posts: 63
Joined: November 12th, 2004, 1:42 am
Location: Denmark

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 2:03 am

giannicot: That was my thought also, but that tool doesn't remove addons automatically to my understanding and when I check in it, it doesn't rate any of my addons to be bad.

I am already running the latest 2008 build of Avast, so it hasn't been fixed, if Avast is the culprit.

I've turned of HTTPS scanning.

But today I recieved the following warning in Firefox:
http://grab.by/CdRs

So I checked my sync log, which has the following:
1416041751726 Sync.Service INFO Loading Weave 1.35.0
1416041751727 Sync.Engine.Clients DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751728 Sync.Engine.Clients DEBUG Resetting clients last sync time
1416041751731 Sync.Engine.Bookmarks DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751733 Sync.Engine.Forms DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751736 Sync.Engine.History DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751738 Sync.Engine.Passwords DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751740 Sync.Engine.Prefs DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751742 Sync.Engine.Tabs DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751742 Sync.Engine.Tabs DEBUG Resetting tabs last sync time
1416041751746 Sync.Engine.Addons DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751747 Sync.Service INFO Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; WOW64; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0
1416041751749 Sync.SyncScheduler DEBUG Clearing sync triggers and the global score.
1416041751749 Sync.Status DEBUG Status.service: success.status_ok => success.status_ok
1416041751749 Sync.Service DEBUG Caching URLs under storage user base: https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... 5/9714023/
1416041751749 Sync.Status DEBUG Status.service: success.status_ok => success.status_ok
1416041751750 Sync.Tracker.History INFO Adding Places observer.
1416041751760 Sync.Status DEBUG Status.service: success.status_ok => success.status_ok
1416041751760 Sync.Engine.Greasemonkey DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751763 Sync.Engine.AdblockPlus DEBUG Engine initialized
1416041751763 Sync.Status DEBUG Status.service: success.status_ok => success.status_ok
1416041751826 FirefoxAccounts DEBUG got keyPair
1416041751827 FirefoxAccounts DEBUG getCertificateSigned: true true
1416041752660 FirefoxAccounts DEBUG getCertificate got a new one: true
1416041752660 FirefoxAccounts DEBUG getAssertionFromCert
1416041752661 FirefoxAccounts DEBUG getAssertionFromCert returning signed: true
1416041752661 Sync.BrowserIDManager DEBUG Getting a token
1416041753497 Sync.BrowserIDManager DEBUG Successfully got a sync token
1416041753498 Sync.BulkKeyBundle INFO BulkKeyBundle being created for undefined
1416041753498 Sync.BrowserIDManager INFO Background fetch for key bundle done
1416041753498 Sync.Status DEBUG Status.login: success.login => success.login
1416041753498 Sync.Status DEBUG Status.service: success.status_ok => success.status_ok
1416041755764 Sync.Status DEBUG Status.service: success.status_ok => success.status_ok
1416041755764 Sync.Service DEBUG User-Agent: Firefox/33.1 FxSync/1.35.0.20141106120505.
1416041755764 Sync.Service INFO Starting sync at 2014-11-15 09:55:55
1416041755764 Sync.Service DEBUG In sync: should login.
1416041755765 Sync.Status DEBUG Status.service: success.status_ok => success.status_ok
1416041755765 Sync.Status DEBUG Status.service: success.status_ok => success.status_ok
1416041755765 Sync.Service INFO Logging in the user.
1416041755765 Sync.Service DEBUG Caching URLs under storage user base: https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... 5/9714023/
1416041755765 Sync.BrowserIDManager DEBUG _ensureValidToken already has one
1416041756443 Sync.Resource DEBUG mesg: GET success 200 https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... ollections
1416041756443 Sync.Resource DEBUG GET success 200 https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... ollections
1416041756444 Sync.Service DEBUG Fetching global metadata record
1416041756444 Sync.BrowserIDManager DEBUG _ensureValidToken already has one
1416041756652 Sync.Resource DEBUG mesg: GET fail 503 https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... eta/global
1416041756652 Sync.Resource DEBUG GET fail 503 https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... eta/global
1416041756652 Sync.Service DEBUG Clearing cached meta record. metaModified is undefined, setting to 1416000335.16
1416041756653 Sync.BrowserIDManager DEBUG _ensureValidToken already has one
1416041756859 Sync.Resource DEBUG mesg: GET fail 503 https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... eta/global
1416041756859 Sync.Resource DEBUG GET fail 503 https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... eta/global
1416041756859 Sync.Service DEBUG No meta/global record on the server. Creating one.
1416041756860 Sync.BrowserIDManager DEBUG _ensureValidToken already has one
1416041756861 Sync.Resource DEBUG PUT Length: 127
1416041757066 Sync.Resource DEBUG mesg: PUT fail 503 https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... eta/global
1416041757066 Sync.Resource DEBUG PUT fail 503 https://sync-129-us-west-2.sync.service ... eta/global
1416041757066 Sync.Service WARN Unable to upload new meta/global. Failing remote setup.
1416041757066 Sync.Service WARN Remote setup failed.
1416041757066 Sync.SyncScheduler DEBUG Clearing sync triggers and the global score.
1416041757067 Sync.SyncScheduler DEBUG Next sync in 3600000 ms.


The sync error might no be related to this. As this moment, I don't have addon syncing on.

giannicot
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 14th, 2014, 1:06 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 4:29 am

I think that Avast, although it does not consider the bad add-ons, deletes them anyway (in fact in the "extension" folder there aren't files .xpi anymore).
Try to disable it (Avast> tools> Browser Cleanup> Settings> and deselect "regularly check my browser ..." and "Avast>setting>tool>Browser Cleanup> OFF), then reinstall the add-ons and everything will be as before (the settings are already saved in" about: config ") . Then stop using "Browser cleanup" otherwise it will erase all again.
Last edited by giannicot on November 15th, 2014, 4:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Erroneus

User avatar
 
Posts: 63
Joined: November 12th, 2004, 1:42 am
Location: Denmark

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 4:43 am

giannicot wrote:I think that Avast, although it does not consider the bad add-ons, deletes them anyway (in fact in the "extension" folder there aren't files .xpi anymore).
Try to disable it (Avast> tools> Browser Cleanup> Settings> and deselect "regularly check my browser ...), then reinstall the add-ons and everything will be as before (the settings are already saved in" about: config ") . Then stop using "Browser cleanup" otherwise it will erase all again.

I'm not sure about that. Because I have Browser Cleanup "regularly check my browser" and I haven't had this issue since yesterday. It's either down to HTTPS scanning in Avast or Firefox sync giving problems, maybe a combination. Or Avast has fixed it in a VPS update.

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4933
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 4:45 am

Erroneus wrote:
giannicot wrote:I think that Avast, although it does not consider the bad add-ons, deletes them anyway (in fact in the "extension" folder there aren't files .xpi anymore).
Try to disable it (Avast> tools> Browser Cleanup> Settings> and deselect "regularly check my browser ...), then reinstall the add-ons and everything will be as before (the settings are already saved in" about: config ") . Then stop using "Browser cleanup" otherwise it will erase all again.

I'm not sure about that. Because I have Browser Cleanup "regularly check my browser" and I haven't had this issue since yesterday. It's either down to HTTPS scanning in Avast or Firefox sync giving problems, maybe a combination. Or Avast has fixed it in a VPS update.


From this post viewtopic.php?p=13876367#p13876367 appears that Avast fixed the problem.

Erroneus

User avatar
 
Posts: 63
Joined: November 12th, 2004, 1:42 am
Location: Denmark

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 5:04 am

No, that's a different issue. The crashing was fixed in a VPS update a week ago and the new build made the HTTPS scanning better. But the issues with addons dissapearing is a new issue.

giannicot
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 14th, 2014, 1:06 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 7:36 am


dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22545
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted November 15th, 2014, 11:31 am

In Windows Control panel and in the Programs and Features ... I clicked on Avast and then clicked on Change... I un-boxed Browser cleanup and Grime Fighter because of some of what has been mentioned in this/there thread. I did that long ago when I noticed some strange stuff going on and visited the Avast board. "They" suggested (at that time) to turn off the Browser cleanup... and I added the Grime Fighter to my thinking. Seems that Avast has released some bad stuff lately... they need to stay with just AV stuff IMHO.

Anyway... just a FYI.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 7 guests