MozillaZine


Profile cannot be loaded. Missing or inaccessible.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2015, 5:20 pm

Firefox updated and then would just spin forever rather than loading. Then got the message the ff was still running in background and needed to close before restarting. Then I get the "profile cannot be loaded, missing or inaccessible" message over and over again.

I've uninstalled and reinstalled ff multiple times, Idone the stuff in the tutorials for this problem, searched and deleted every folder related to ff and reinstalled, I've deleted the profiles and created new ones, deleted "profile.ini", I've done a system restore.

Sometimes I can get it to work for 20 minutes so, then the connections just time out and the whole game starts again. What gives?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 124286
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 6th, 2015, 7:12 pm

What security software are you running on that system?

killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2015, 8:47 pm

AVG free.

abhishekchrs18
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 8:58 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2015, 9:05 pm

Firefox is already running, but is not responding. The old Firefox process must be closed to open a new window.
I can't close the process from the task manager. It says "access denied".

killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2015, 9:20 pm

Why is this dude in my thread?

killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2015, 9:20 pm

I am having the same problem with task manager, however, but without the access denied message.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39383
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 7th, 2015, 2:28 am

abhishekchrs18,
Please....Just start your own thread, stating your problem & everything that you've tried.
Thanks.
====================================================================

killkillkill,
Did you receive any kind of message from AVG...Did it update?
It's just possible that it is causing the error.
What firewall are you running?
Is the new version of Firefox "allowed?"
For ref; > http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firewalls
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20598
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 7th, 2015, 6:49 am

Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 7th, 2015, 10:14 am

Version was 36.0.1 Not sure what the old one was--probably the one just before it as I try to update when the option comes up.

killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 7th, 2015, 10:16 am

I have tried temporarily disabling AVG with no results. Also added FF to the 'allowed' list on Windows 8 firewall, but received a message that it was already on the allowed list.

killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 7th, 2015, 10:38 am

I have deleted and created new profiles. Have deleted "parent.lock", and change the profile attributes off from "read only". When I unclick "read only", the box is rechecked when I open the properties afterward.

I can get firefox to open and sometimes even connect to sites by doing these things, but if I close it then reopen it the whole thing starts over again.

killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 7th, 2015, 10:57 am

I've already lost all my bookmarks, etc. Isn't there a way I can just delete ALL of FF then reinstall?

killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 7th, 2015, 1:47 pm

Downloaded Revo uninstaller and removed anything even remotely related to FF. Seemed to do the trick until I closed and opened a couple times. Then, same problem. Even completely uninstalled AVG.. What the heck.

killkillkill
 
Posts: 18
Joined: March 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Post Posted March 8th, 2015, 6:56 am

So nobody knows what to do?

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8652
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted March 8th, 2015, 11:41 am


Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests