MozillaZine

"Secure Connection Failed"

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 9:16 am

I have noticed after the recent update to Firefox Version 37.0.1 I am getting this message when trying to log into some sites.

Secure Connection Failed

The connection to web4.secureinternetbank.com was interrupted while the page was loading.

The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because the authenticity of the received data could not be verified.
Please contact the website owners to inform them of this problem.


What do I need to do to correct this issue. I have not had any problems in the past, it just seems to be an issue since the current update. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!

honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 11:06 am

I also tried restarting the computer. I cleared all history, cookies, and cache as well, there was no change, still having the problem.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 11:11 am

Can you connect with IE and/or Chrome?
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 11:16 am

I just tried IE and it worked fine. Seems as tho the issue is only with FF.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 11:26 am

I cant connect with any browser using your link.. or https://secureinternetbank.com/ or https://www.secureinternetbank.com/ or http://secureinternetbank.com/ or web4.secureinternetbank.com
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 11:29 am

https://www.powellvalleybank.com/

This is the specific site I am trying to connect to.

honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 11:30 am

I can open the initial webpage. When the access ID is put in and I hit enter is when I get the "secure connection failed" message. And cannot go any further with security question that is asked, and then password.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 11:43 am

I get the main page from your link... dont have an account so..
Try Firefox safe mode in case you have an addon or changed setting acting up. To do go, to Menu Help > Restart with Addons disabled .. if you get any prompt just continue
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

Also what A/V or security software are you running?
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 11:59 am

I did it in safe mode with addons disabled, no change. I am currently running 360 total security I also have SUPERAntispyware.

I also just noticed when trying to go to the bank website, next to the web address I have the Triangle icon with the ! in the center. I clicked on it and can screen shot what it says if you need to see that. I also tried going to the same website on another laptop I have at home and I get the same error message. My finace tried logging in at work earlier and had no issues. I am not sure what he uses there (IE,FF, or chrome)

honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 12:55 pm

Please let me know if you need any of the information I get when clicking on the grey warning triangle.

honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 3:58 pm

I'm not sure if it matters or not but I downgraded to Firefox version 36.0.4, went to attempt to log into the website I have been having the issue with and it worked..HOWEVER of course FF updated back automatically to the most current version 37.0.1 as soon as I closed down FF and restarted it so I am back to the same issue.

honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 3:59 pm

I'm not sure if it matters or not but I downgraded to Firefox version 36.0.4, went to attempt to log into the website I have been having the issue with and it worked..HOWEVER of course FF updated back automatically to the most current version 37.0.1 as soon as I closed down FF and restarted it so I am back to the same issue.

honeys04
 
Posts: 42
Joined: September 17th, 2013, 10:09 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2015, 4:18 pm

I turned off auto update, downgraded back to Version 36.0.4 of FF and I am able to access the website with no issues.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27643
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted April 9th, 2015, 12:19 am

honeys04 wrote:https://www.powellvalleybank.com/

This is the specific site I am trying to connect to.

https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/analyze.html?d=powellvalleybank.com

It is the site that needs fixing/updating and not Firefox 37. It is going to have problems with Firefox and current versions of other browsers as time goes by if they do nothing in updating site.

https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Firefox/Releases/36/Site_Compatibility#Security
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Firefox/Releases/37/Site_Compatibility#Security

The website may try to fallback to TLS 1.0 in a way that is no longer allowed in current releases or may be using a deprecated cipher suite.

You can open the about:config page via the location (address) bar and use the top bar to locate preference below

security.tls.insecure_fallback_hosts

You can double-left-click or right-click and Modify the pref and add the domain (full domain) to this pref.
If there are already websites (domains) in this list then add a comma and the new domain (no spaces).
You should only see domains separated by a comma in the value column.

hambleturtle
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 22nd, 2015, 2:54 am

Post Posted April 22nd, 2015, 3:00 am

I'd strongly argue that Firefox needs fixing.
The number of questions about this show there is a problem and the error given is not sufficient to explain to users
a) What the problem is. (why could the data not be verifed?)
b) How to fix the webserver.
c) How to ignore the error and use the page while knowing security is compromised.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 8 guests