MozillaZine

Why has content-prefs.sqlite has gone from 14MB to 55MB ?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
darkred
 
Posts: 227
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted May 31st, 2015, 1:10 pm

Thanks to all trying to help.
trolly wrote:Maybe load the file into a sqlite manager and vacuum it.

I just tried in Sqlite Manager>Compact, and the file remains exactly the same!
Code: Select all
The database was compacted using VACUUM statement.
Before compacting:
   Page Count    = 1692
   Database Size = 55443456 bytes
After compacting:
   Page Count    = 1692
   Database Size = 55443456 bytes

Also, checking it's integrity (both quickly and full) shows that there's no problem.
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted May 31st, 2015, 1:56 pm

content-prefs.sql contains page zoom data as well as download and upload folder locations. https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... references

So either you've been zooming in on websites or doing a lot of downloads or uploads in that period.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

darkred
 
Posts: 227
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted May 31st, 2015, 2:14 pm

patrickjdempsey wrote:content-prefs.sql contains page zoom data as well as download and upload folder locations. https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... references

So either you've been zooming in on websites or doing a lot of downloads or uploads in that period.

No, I never tweak zoom level for any site.

Also, yes, I might have done a lot of downloads,
but almost all of them were stored to the same folder (either C:\Users\username\Downloads or C:\Users\username\Desktop), I rarely change the location.
And, I just cleared Downloads in Library, but content-prefs.sql remains exactly the same.
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted May 31st, 2015, 2:27 pm

I don't think that data is cleared with Downloads... Download history is stored in places.sqlite.

But really you are the only person who can answer this question by opening up the two files in the SQLite manager and comparing them.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

redwolfe_98
 
Posts: 259
Joined: September 26th, 2008, 2:13 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Post Posted May 31st, 2015, 3:19 pm

zakk, maybe using backed up profiles is the cause of the problem(s)?

i don't see a need to back up a whole profile.. in my opinion, all you need to back up is your bookmarks..
find answers at "Mozilla Support":
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/products/firefox

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 31st, 2015, 3:32 pm

Assuming that the restoring of a backed up profile is done the normal way... I don't see how that would affect
a file like that... something else is going one. ... and just backing up stuff should not affect anything like that.

I guess it would be interesting to defrag the file... just to see what happens? ... zakk do you have a defraggler? ... I use this one...just stabbing in the dark here...
Defraggler - File and Disk Defragmentation - Free Download

Also... you could always close out Firefox, copy that file to a safe place ... maybe make a new folder under your misc. areas... delete the one in your profile and start Firefox back up... it will/should create the missing file... check its size and watch it for a while to see if it grows.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

darkred
 
Posts: 227
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted June 1st, 2015, 8:42 am

dfoulkes wrote:Assuming that the restoring of a backed up profile is done the normal way... I don't see how that would affect
a file like that... something else is going one. ... and just backing up stuff should not affect anything like that.

This is how I restore a profile:
What I do is I backup in a daily basis this folder
C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla
into a ZIP file.

So, to restore the profile (I've only restored the profile only a few times - after Firefox hang.):
I delete the existing folders:
C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla and
C:\Users\User\AppData\Local\Mozilla.
Then I unzip the backup file to it's initial path.

So, I also don't think that this may have caused this.

dfoulkes wrote:I guess it would be interesting to defrag the file... just to see what happens? ... zakk do you have a defraggler? ... I use this one...just stabbing in the dark here...
Defraggler - File and Disk Defragmentation - Free Download

Defraggler didn't help, the file remained exactly as it is.

dfoulkes wrote:Also... you could always close out Firefox, copy that file to a safe place ... maybe make a new folder under your misc. areas... delete the one in your profile and start Firefox back up... it will/should create the missing file... check its size and watch it for a while to see if it grows.

So, that's what I did: I took backup of the file, and then deleted it.
It got recreated (224 KB) and Firefox works well with no issues.

Thanks a lot, dfoulkes :)
and to all who contributed to my thread.
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted June 1st, 2015, 11:10 am

You're Welcome! :D
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

vessto
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 6th, 2016, 4:29 pm

Post Posted June 6th, 2016, 4:33 pm

My content-prefs.sqlite is 500 MB. What can I do?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38848
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 7th, 2016, 4:30 am

You could try the suggestions in this year old thread.

Locking due to old age...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests