MozillaZine

"Unresponsive Script".....

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Joe ds
Guest
 

Post Posted August 1st, 2015, 8:58 am

I recently performed a clean install of windows 7; I'm prevented from restoring my old bookmarks back to firefox because I keep receiving the following message;

"A script on this page may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the script now, open the script in the debugger, or let the script continue".

"unresponsive script" message: script:chrome://browse/content/places/editbookmarkOverlay.js:915 ( or 6733 etc)

I have thousands of bookmarks that I fear are lost forever. I backed them up to a .json file. I've read all of the support articles in the data base and tried all of the fixes; Nothing works.

Can anyone please help? Thank you.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120091
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 1st, 2015, 9:04 am

Moving to Firefox Support as this is not a MozillaZine site question.

Have you tried deleting the Firefox program directory and reinstalling the application?

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22301
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted August 1st, 2015, 10:40 am

Joe ds wrote:I recently performed a clean install of windows 7; I'm prevented from restoring my old bookmarks back to firefox because I keep receiving the following message;

"A script on this page may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the script now, open the script in the debugger, or let the script continue".

"unresponsive script" message: script:chrome://browse/content/places/editbookmarkOverlay.js:915 ( or 6733 etc)

I have thousands of bookmarks that I fear are lost forever. I backed them up to a .json file. I've read all of the support articles in the data base and tried all of the fixes; Nothing works.

Can anyone please help? Thank you.

Did you click on the script-message 'Continue'?

It's hard for us to make suggestions ... if we don't know what fixes were tried.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52395
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted August 1st, 2015, 11:23 am

Do you get this dialog when you try to restore a JSON backup?

What is the file size of this backup and do you know how many bookmarks are in the file?

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted August 1st, 2015, 11:28 am

Is Firefox running or not when you are moving this stuff around/into your profile. Firefox needs to be closed to replace a file that is in use. If you are using one of the 15 bookmark backups that Firefox creates automajicly, that method is done inside Firefox with Firefox open/running,
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

dusabrive
 
Posts: 5
Joined: July 28th, 2015, 1:45 pm

Post Posted August 2nd, 2015, 11:50 am

Sometimes I get the option to continue; Either the entire page/browser freezes immediately or after choosing "continue" the page hangs and then freezes. Usually, I attempt to recover my back ups either from the dated restore file in the nested menu or I'll manually try to insert the .json file (that I saved onto my external hard drive) into the "Profile" folder-while Firefox is closed. However, the page freezes and the script pops up before any changes can occur. Eventually, I have to press "ALT-CONTROL-DELETE" to start all over

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19040
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 2nd, 2015, 12:27 pm

> What is the file size of this backup and do you know how many bookmarks are in the file?

?


Any change if you restart in Safe Mode?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

dusabrive
 
Posts: 5
Joined: July 28th, 2015, 1:45 pm

Post Posted August 2nd, 2015, 12:37 pm

13.4 GB ; 24,497 Bookmarks;

dusabrive
 
Posts: 5
Joined: July 28th, 2015, 1:45 pm

Post Posted August 2nd, 2015, 12:46 pm

*************Correction********* 27.6MB

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19040
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 3rd, 2015, 4:29 am

So it is the .json (.jsonlz4) file that is 27 MB?
If so, that's huge.

Why not just over places.sqlite itself?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

dusabrive
 
Posts: 5
Joined: July 28th, 2015, 1:45 pm

Post Posted August 6th, 2015, 3:45 pm

This is how I finally resolved this problem.
1. Type "about:config" in the address bar
2. Type "dom.max_script_run_time"
3. Right click this entry to modify and change the value next to it from 10 to 1000
4. Now the "continue button" on the "unresponsive Script" message didn't freeze and allowed me to click it.
5. I clicked "continue" about 15-16 times (every time it re-appeared) until my bookmarks finally loaded.
6. Finally, I repeated steps 1,2 and 3 and changed the value back from 1000 to 10.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22301
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted August 7th, 2015, 9:53 am

I forgot all about that setting... I changed mine to 300 years ago. 'But' I could have sworn that the message had something about time-out or something to do with 'time' ... not the 'unresponsive' part of the message... maybe they changed it or my memory of that situation is faulty... probably the latter.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests