MozillaZine

Firefox just changed my new tab settings AGAIN!

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
bobr2k
 
Posts: 108
Joined: December 10th, 2005, 8:57 am

Post Posted October 15th, 2015, 9:47 am

Why does FIREFOX decide for me what my new tabs should contain? Why not show an option instead of overriding what I had? Now I have to check again to find out how to have my home page appear for new tabs. :roll:
Bob R.
Doctor of Computers and Computing (CDP 1963) - Retired.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22325
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 15th, 2015, 4:15 pm

I've never had Firefox mess with my home page or anything like that... Did you just update or something?
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120438
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 15th, 2015, 4:19 pm

The settings for home page and new tab page are not the same.

See this articles regarding homepage -- https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ho ... +home+page

See this article regarding setting the new tab page -- https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/cu ... w-tab-page

bobr2k
 
Posts: 108
Joined: December 10th, 2005, 8:57 am

Post Posted October 15th, 2015, 5:33 pm

DanRaisch wrote:The settings for home page and new tab page are not the same.

See this articles regarding homepage -- https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ho ... +home+page

See this article regarding setting the new tab page -- https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/cu ... w-tab-page


Everything was great until I updated today (41.0.1).

It just seems WRONG to have to use an addon to get back to where I was.
New Tab Override (browser.newtab.url replacement)
Bob R.
Doctor of Computers and Computing (CDP 1963) - Retired.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10287
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted October 15th, 2015, 5:34 pm

Firefox 41 no longer uses the browser.newtab.url setting in about:config because it was constantly attacked by malware. Starting in Firefox 41, you need an add-on to change the new tab page.

Here are some options:

Please only use one of these methods at a time, otherwise there may be conflicts and dysfunctionality.

Note: New Tab Override and Custom New Tab require setup on the Add-ons page to change to the page you actually want to load.

Open the Add-ons page using either:

* Ctrl+Shift+a (Mac: Cmd+Shift+a)
* "3-bar" menu button (or Tools menu) > Add-ons

In the left column, click Extensions. Then on the right side, find New Tab Override or Custom New Tab and click its Options button.

mmoy
 
Posts: 5028
Joined: February 17th, 2004, 9:05 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Post Posted October 16th, 2015, 8:58 am

I looked all over the place for a fix and just went with an Add-On. I don't like to have Add-Ons for doing these simple things but I couldn't find another option. I don't even think about it anymore as it's taken care of now.
Dell E521 X2 5600+ MacBookPro 17'' 2.5 Ghz Penryn Dell M1330 2.0 Ghz Merom 4 GB Vista x64 Compaq r3000z AMD 64 3200+ (Win 32/64) PowerMac G5 1.8 Ghz MMOY-1.5 (OSX 10) Inspiron 8500, 4100, 4000, Dimension 2300 MacBook Pro 2.2 Ghz HP E6600 HP X2 4400+

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52427
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2015, 11:32 am


Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests