MozillaZine

Open File icon: set what it opens to - Help again please?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted July 10th, 2016, 3:26 pm

I dug out the Open File icon when I was playing in Customise and would like to have it go directly to Pictures (or My Pictures) but it continually goes to the Music file. I did have it on my Navigation bar ages ago and I'm sure it went to My Pictures then so something seems to have altered in the time I moved it back into the Customise section where all the unused icons live.

I am clueless as to how to change this. I have tried going to Pictures in the hope the button would swap, doing the same then restarting Firefox and lastly trying the same with a clear Cache/History but all no joy. I then tucked it back into Customise and away from my Navigation bar, then returned it to the bar but it still insists on going to the Music file. I even said please but it refuses to take any notice of me Image

I'm suspect it is something easy but I can't seem to discover the knack - could some kind person help me please?
Last edited by madmudmob on March 25th, 2017, 2:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Mud is good!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19165
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 11th, 2016, 9:23 am

What is that about:config setting for 'browser.download.lastDir' ?
If its "my music", then set it to "my pictures" & see what happens?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted July 11th, 2016, 9:49 am

Thankyou for replying.

Here's what it says.
browser.download.lastDir ...... user set ....... string ...... C:\Users\Roz\Pictures Minus the dots I added for spacing.

I tried changing it to My Pictures both with and without a gap but I still get Music opening when using the Open File icon so I changed it back again.
Mud is good!

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted July 11th, 2016, 10:03 am

I tried right clicking and reset then adding C:\Users\Roz\Pictures ... no joy
Tried to add the above as a new string again but it asked for a string value?
Browser restart after each change.

So have put it back to how it was before (as in bold a post or two ago)
Mud is good!

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted March 25th, 2017, 2:19 pm

Yay ... cruised through all the browser. configs and found this .... browser.open.lastDir;C:\Users\Roz\Music
changed it to pictures as well as the other one, restarted good old Firefox and all is well.

Thankyou so much for your help and guidance Image
Mud is good!

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted March 25th, 2017, 2:33 pm

Apologies for opening an old thread but it is the exact same issue I am having again.

Dear old pc finally shuffled off this mortal coil and I now have a new one with W7 Pro rather than Premium.

Transferring went well and I've been having fun installing programs and getting it all just as I like.

I'm having one annoying issue in that when I click the Open File icon on the top bar it opens to my desktop not to My Pictures as the last pc did after some help from you guys.

I have tried to replicate all the above posts and had to have 2 goes at creating ....
browser.open.lastDir;C:\Users\Roz\Music
and have done the clear cache and cookies thing but no joy. Could some kind person help me sort this please as I used it a lot?

As always all hints and helps greatly appreciated.

Image
and ....
Image
Mud is good!

kreemoweet
 
Posts: 729
Joined: December 30th, 2009, 11:25 pm

Post Posted March 25th, 2017, 4:22 pm

The pref that controls Open File is "browser.open.lastDir" with no extra characters like you have in your screenshot above.
The value of that pref should only be over in the 4th column.

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted March 25th, 2017, 4:37 pm

Thankyou .... I think you are telling me that the one in the pic with the blue bar is correct and the others are not? If so how would I delete the wrong ones please?

Image
Mud is good!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19165
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 26th, 2017, 7:14 am

(Mud is good!, but do you also EAT WHITE DIRT?)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted March 26th, 2017, 7:21 am

Image
Err no - but it did make me laugh Image
Mud is good!

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted March 26th, 2017, 7:25 am

Psssst ... so how do I delete the about:configs I made wrongly please?
Mud is good!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38454
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 26th, 2017, 7:43 am

Hi Roz,
Here's a quoted fix from a very old "How To" site...
1. Close firefox (so not to mess it up even more).
2. Go into your profile page "%AppData%MozillaFirefoxProfilesxxxxxxxx.default" the x's stand for a randomly generated code for every profile.
3. Open the file "prefs.js" in a text editor.
4. And just use the find tool and enter the title of the string. (not the whole title just a part if you want) and just erase that part.


ref; > http://kb.mozillazine.org/About%3Aconfig
Re-start Firefox to complete the removal & add "your pref" back in, so take note of the name & how it's entered.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted March 26th, 2017, 8:19 am

Had a go but got this ....
Image

and noticed I get two differing sets of profile letters (2 profiles?) depending on whether I go via Start with %AppData% or through Firefox, Troubleshooting, Open Folder ... with both I closed Firefox before doing anything else and both gave me the same notice.
Last edited by madmudmob on March 26th, 2017, 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mud is good!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38454
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 26th, 2017, 8:23 am

Roz,
Please change that image as it shows your default profile location.
Just blank it out.

Did you use the notepad to open the prefs file?
It's just a .txt file.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted March 26th, 2017, 8:32 am

Oh okay - will do.
Ahh, no I didn't will try again and tyhanktou for your patience
Mud is good!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests