MozillaZine

How to adjust width of URL bar / Search bar

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Mo_D

User avatar
 
Posts: 758
Joined: January 4th, 2006, 6:34 pm

Post Posted December 8th, 2016, 3:57 pm

.
Screenshot

I did a refresh of a very old profile (2009) and now I can't get it to look like it used to. I know there are add-ons that can make these changes, I just want to know if I'm overlooking something within the existing application.

I used to be able to drag to adjust the size of the URL bar and or Search bar. If you stretched one longer, the other got shorter.

There used to be an icon for "new tab", but it's no longer shown in the Customize menu.

I didn't change versions of Firefox, I just did a refresh. And I wasn't using a theme or extension.

Alternate image host in case Imgur link above doesn't work.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted December 8th, 2016, 4:34 pm

Try CTR.... adjusting those elements WFM
Did you really expect anything from that profile to work :roll:
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

toolong
 
Posts: 913
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted December 8th, 2016, 4:39 pm

ry CTR.... adjusting those elements WFM




Would you happen to know if CTR will continue to work after Mozilla changes the extension(s) system?

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted December 8th, 2016, 4:47 pm

The Tinsmith wrote:
ry CTR.... adjusting those elements WFM
would you happen to know if CTR will continue to work after Mozilla changes the extension(s) system?

Nope... only Aris will know... I would go AWOL today, buts thats me :)
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

Mo_D

User avatar
 
Posts: 758
Joined: January 4th, 2006, 6:34 pm

Post Posted December 8th, 2016, 4:58 pm

JayhawksRock wrote:Try CTR.... adjusting those elements WFM
Did you really expect anything from that profile to work :roll:


It doesn't bother me enough to install an add-on. Like I said, I know that is an option, I'm asking if the bars can be adjusted and I'm just missing something obvious.

That profile was working yesterday, before the refresh. I would expect that type of functionality to be tied to the version, not the profile.

toolong
 
Posts: 913
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted December 8th, 2016, 5:07 pm

JayhawksRock wrote:
The Tinsmith wrote:
ry CTR.... adjusting those elements WFM
would you happen to know if CTR will continue to work after Mozilla changes the extension(s) system?

Nope... only Aris will know... I would go AWOL today, buts thats me :)



Thanks. That's pretty much what I figured. The 'new system' is supposed to not allow GUI changes IIUC.

I, me, don't use it but I do see many that depend on it.

Yaron10
 
Posts: 447
Joined: July 5th, 2011, 6:32 am

Post Posted December 9th, 2016, 11:06 pm

Hello Mo_D,

I used to be able to drag to adjust the size of the URL bar and or Search bar. If you stretched one longer, the other got shorter.

Firefox Menu -> Customize.
Drag the icons between the URL and Search bars out (remove them).
Exit Customization.
Now you should be able to adjust the size of the URL and Search bars.
Firefox Menu -> Customize.
Drag the icons you removed earlier to their former position.

There used to be an icon for "new tab", but it's no longer shown in the Customize menu.

Firefox Menu -> Customize.
Drag the New Tab icon (the "Plus" image) next to the Home icon. The image should change to the "Tab Plus" icon.

Best regards.

Mo_D

User avatar
 
Posts: 758
Joined: January 4th, 2006, 6:34 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 5:56 am

Thanks Yaron10!

I also had to remove the adblock plus icon on the outside, but other than that, your instructions worked perfectly!

I'm curious how you knew this. Do you have a good memory, or is there documentation on this somewhere? Or maybe you just figured it out?

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32219
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 6:02 am

That's been a feature of the URL bar / search bar for almost as long as Firefox has existed. I remember first hearing about that feature in this forum when Firefox 0.9 or 0.8 was current. I'm sure some "tips" website has documented it at one time or another over the last 12 years.



.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38835
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 6:39 am

Just a FWIW...
I did not like the original Tool Bars layouts in all the earlier versions, so,
I started to move some of the icons etc., into the Customize palette....
mainly from the right end.

I saw that the "+" icon changed into the "New Tab" icon, so I moved it to the
left end, starting with the Back/Fwd, Reload, Stop, Home, History & New Tab icons & then the URL box.

Did exactly the same with all v's including v50.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Mo_D

User avatar
 
Posts: 758
Joined: January 4th, 2006, 6:34 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 7:02 am

the-edmeister wrote:That's been a feature of the URL bar / search bar for almost as long as Firefox has existed. I remember first hearing about that feature in this forum when Firefox 0.9 or 0.8 was current. I'm sure some "tips" website has documented it at one time or another over the last 12 years.

I did a little searching before I posted here and couldn't find anything.

I obviously knew the trick to this several years ago when I first changed it, but I don't know how I knew it. I remember the person who told me you could "drag the taint" (LOL), but I couldn't remember the part about having to drag other icons out first.

Yaron10
 
Posts: 447
Joined: July 5th, 2011, 6:32 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 9:11 am

Hello Mo_D,

You're welcome. I'm glad it worked for you.

Being able to re-size the bars myself and looking at your screenshot, I figured it out.

I'd recommend to backup the xulstore.json file and also the "user_pref("browser.uiCustomization.state" line in prefs.js (both in the profile folder).
The layout is stored there.

Best regards.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10826
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 11:30 am

.
From one of my posts:

You can also use the userChrome.css file to set URL/Search to what ever you want. This example sets URL to 400px

Code: Select all
/* THIS SETS THE WIDTH OF THE URL BAR TO 400 PIXELS */

#urlbar-container{
  max-width: 400px !important;
  min-width: 400px !important;
}


For the search bar

Code: Select all
/* THIS SETS THE THE SEARCH BAR TO 350 PIXELS AND ADDS 4PX OF SPACE TO THE LEFT OF THE SEARCH BAR  *

#search-container {
  max-width: 350px !important;
  min-width: 350px !important;
  margin-left: 4px !important;
}



.
FF 70.0.1 - FF 71b7 - FF 72a - TB 68.2.2 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2019

Mo_D

User avatar
 
Posts: 758
Joined: January 4th, 2006, 6:34 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 4:31 pm

Yaron10 wrote:Hello Mo_D,

You're welcome. I'm glad it worked for you.

Being able to re-size the bars myself and looking at your screenshot, I figured it out.

I'd recommend to backup the xulstore.json file and also the "user_pref("browser.uiCustomization.state" line in prefs.js (both in the profile folder).
The layout is stored there.

Best regards.



I appreciate you going through the trouble. You never know what you're going to get on this site - you might get insulted, you might get a canned reply that isn't even relevant, or you might get great help. It's always nice to be reminded there are some great people here.

Thanks again!

Yaron10
 
Posts: 447
Joined: July 5th, 2011, 6:32 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2016, 7:10 pm

Hello Mo_D,

My pleasure. No trouble at all.
And thanks for your kind words.

Let's ignore the insults. :)

Best regards.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests