MozillaZine

getting rid of title bar

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
aubbieed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 7:59 am

Image

In reference to the pic above, this is the only part of the title bar that is of any use. The title bar is simply just a waste of space. I've always wanted to move that (refer to pic) to the menu bar and have a little more space on my screen. Is there an addon that can do this?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39294
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 8:35 am

Hi,
Well, there's one extension that I found but it's a tad over kill for just removing a section of the Title Bar.
> https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... -plus-sma/
or, try this one...
> https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... on/?src=ss

Moving to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9908
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 8:39 am

Menu or right click on a Toolbar > Customize > Bottom Left corner > Click on Title Bar 'button'.
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

aubbieed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 1:56 pm

LIMPET235 wrote:Hi,
Well, there's one extension that I found but it's a tad over kill for just removing a section of the Title Bar.
> https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... -plus-sma/
or, try this one...
> https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... on/?src=ss

Moving to Firefox Support...

I tried the first one this morning and it didn't work.

The second says it doesn't work with FF 50.

aubbieed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 1:57 pm

mightyglydd wrote:Menu or right click on a Toolbar > Customize > Bottom Left corner > Click on Title Bar 'button'.

I tried this, but when I clicked Exit Customize, everything went back to normal. ?

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9908
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 2:07 pm

#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

aubbieed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 2:48 pm

mightyglydd wrote:That WFM, try Safe Mode, prossibly it's Extension related.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/tr ... -safe-mode

It did the same thing.

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32253
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted January 21st, 2017, 3:00 pm

The Tabstrip should move up when Firefox is maximized. When the browser window is less than maximized, the Tabstrip will be lower. I have been using this code in userChrome.css to have the Tabstrip almost at the top of the browser window when the window isn't maximized.

Code: Select all
/* Tabs to top of browser window when not maximized ***** */
#TabsToolbar { margin-top: 2px !important; }


http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css

.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

aubbieed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 12:31 am

the-edmeister wrote:The Tabstrip should move up when Firefox is maximized. When the browser window is less than maximized, the Tabstrip will be lower. I have been using this code in userChrome.css to have the Tabstrip almost at the top of the browser window when the window isn't maximized.

Code: Select all
/* Tabs to top of browser window when not maximized ***** */
#TabsToolbar { margin-top: 2px !important; }


http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css

.

This isn't about tabs. I rarely use tabbed browsing.

This is about what people like to call "screen real estate".
My favorite add-on's are Multirow Bookmarks and Custom Buttons.
These have allowed me to put everything I need within easy reach, but take up space (check below).
The whole reason I want to get rid of the title bar is to free up a little more of the "screen real estate".

> http://www.imagescream.com/images/x.png
Last edited by LIMPET235 on January 22nd, 2017, 3:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image tags removed to restore the forum layout.

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32253
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 2:05 am

Now I see what you have going on. The manner that you customized the all the toolbars is probably why the first suggestion made by mightyglydd (de-selecting the Titlebar to have it not show) didn't work for you. Or show other customization is causing that to happen.

Are the Tabs located below the Multirow bookmarks? Or are you suppressing the Tabstrip from showing when only one Tab is open?


.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4616
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 2:21 am

you are using windows 2000 classic design on win 7, not possible under this condition.

aubbieed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 7:52 am

Brummelchen wrote:you are using windows 2000 classic design on win 7, not possible under this condition.

I tried that earlier suggestion of doing it in safe mode and it did not work, I don't think you are correct.
Last edited by aubbieed on January 22nd, 2017, 7:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

aubbieed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 7:54 am

the-edmeister wrote:Now I see what you have going on. The manner that you customized all the toolbars is probably why the first suggestion made by mightyglydd (de-selecting the Titlebar to have it not show) didn't work for you. Or show other customization is causing that to happen.

Are the Tabs located below the Multirow bookmarks? Or are you suppressing the Tabstrip from showing when only one Tab is open?.

Yes, the tabs are below the multirow and I am suppressing the tabstrip. I rarely use tabs and it takes up screen space.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9908
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 8:23 am

FWIW, if the OP's using it, there is a Classic Theme Restorer option > Options > Firefox Button > Use Firefox titlebar instead of OS titlebar.....
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20842
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted January 22nd, 2017, 9:25 am

aubbieed wrote:My favorite add-on's are Multirow Bookmarks and Custom Buttons.

Go to the Custom Buttons forum then and get the code for toggling the titlebar. If you're using that extension, you should already know that.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests