getting rid of title bar

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
wright76878
Posts: 716
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 8:05 am

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by wright76878 »

For Custom Buttons:
/*Initialization Code*/
function hideChrome() {
if (navigator.platform == "Win32") {
window.moveTo(0,0);
window.maximize();
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','true');
// preserve small area for taskbar to appear
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight-2);}
else {
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','true');
window.moveTo(0,0);
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
window.maximize();}}

hideChrome();

this.leftclick = function(evt){

function showChrome() {
if (navigator.platform == "Win64") {
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','false');
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
window.maximize();
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);}
else {document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','false');
window.maximize();window.maximize();}}

function toggleChrome() {
var mainWindow = document.getElementById("main-window");
var isFullScreen = mainWindow.getAttribute('hidechrome');
if (isFullScreen == "" || isFullScreen == 'false') {hideChrome();}
else {showChrome();}}

toggleChrome();}
this.setAttribute('onclick', 'gQuot(event, this)'); // Calls the Global MouseClick handler gQuot
this.style.opacity = '.65';
this.setAttribute('onmouseover', 'custombuttons.ButtonBrt(event);' );
this.setAttribute('onmouseout', 'custombuttons.ButtonDim(event);' );
aubbieed
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by aubbieed »

mightyglydd wrote:FWIW, if the OP's using it, there is a Classic Theme Restorer option > Options > Firefox Button > Use Firefox titlebar instead of OS titlebar.....
That worked perfect until I closed the add-on manager, then it reverted back to normal.
aubbieed
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by aubbieed »

wright76878 wrote:For Custom Buttons:
/*Initialization Code*/
function hideChrome() {
if (navigator.platform == "Win32") {
window.moveTo(0,0);
window.maximize();
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','true');
// preserve small area for taskbar to appear
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight-2);}
else {
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','true');
window.moveTo(0,0);
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
window.maximize();}}

hideChrome();

this.leftclick = function(evt){

function showChrome() {
if (navigator.platform == "Win64") {
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','false');
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
window.maximize();
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);}
else {document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','false');
window.maximize();window.maximize();}}

function toggleChrome() {
var mainWindow = document.getElementById("main-window");
var isFullScreen = mainWindow.getAttribute('hidechrome');
if (isFullScreen == "" || isFullScreen == 'false') {hideChrome();}
else {showChrome();}}

toggleChrome();}
this.setAttribute('onclick', 'gQuot(event, this)'); // Calls the Global MouseClick handler gQuot
this.style.opacity = '.65';
this.setAttribute('onmouseover', 'custombuttons.ButtonBrt(event);' );
this.setAttribute('onmouseout', 'custombuttons.ButtonDim(event);' );
I don't know much about CB other than how to make new buttons.

Where do I put this code? In a new button, or in all my current buttons?
wright76878
Posts: 716
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 8:05 am

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by wright76878 »

Right click on the menu bar, choose "add new button". Click on initialization tab and paste the code there. Then you have to drag it to the bar from the customize menu, It'll probably create a star.
aubbieed
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by aubbieed »

aubbieed wrote:
mightyglydd wrote:FWIW, if the OP's using it, there is a Classic Theme Restorer option > Options > Firefox Button > Use Firefox titlebar instead of OS titlebar.....
That worked perfect until I closed the add-on manager, then it reverted back to normal.
I was surfing this morning, opened a tab and everything shifted up, so it seems that as long as a tab is open, the title bar is gone, which really defeats the purpose.
aubbieed
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by aubbieed »

wright76878 wrote:Right click on the menu bar, choose "add new button". Click on initialization tab and paste the code there. Then you have to drag it to the bar from the customize menu, It'll probably create a star.
I'll give that a try.
aubbieed
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by aubbieed »

aubbieed wrote:
wright76878 wrote:Right click on the menu bar, choose "add new button". Click on initialization tab and paste the code there. Then you have to drag it to the bar from the customize menu, It'll probably create a star.
I'll give that a try.
It works, but my minimize-exit buttons (below) disappear. I'd rather keep them.

Image

And, having that star which isn't really a menu choice is annoying. I changed the pic to what is really just blank, so, out of sight, out of mind.

Still, I'd prefer to do it without CB, so I can have my minimize-exit buttons back.
wright76878
Posts: 716
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 8:05 am

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by wright76878 »

There are 2 buttons for that
For a minimize button: Under the code tab put: window.minimize();
For a close button: under the code tab put: close()
I have icons for them too.
You can get some at
http://www.iconarchive.com/search?q=min ... e=1&res=24
Just save what you want to a folder somewhere, then edit the button and choose browse under image, find the icon. also can change name for the tool tip under Name.
aubbieed
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by aubbieed »

wright76878 wrote:There are 2 buttons for that
For a minimize button: Under the code tab put: window.minimize();
For a close button: under the code tab put: close()
I have icons for them too.
You can get some at
http://www.iconarchive.com/search?q=min ... e=1&res=24
Just save what you want to a folder somewhere, then edit the button and choose browse under image, find the icon. also can change name for the tool tip under Name.
Well, that works. Thanks!
wright76878
Posts: 716
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 8:05 am

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by wright76878 »

Unfortunately Custom Buttons doesn't work for the latest FF51. You can use Hide Captions Titlebar Plus. Lots of tinkering in the multi-part menu tho. I turn off the orange button and fix the close button to close firefox altogether.
DN123ABC
Posts: 695
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by DN123ABC »

Did you try F11?
johnnathan
Posts: 4
Joined: January 25th, 2017, 1:43 am

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by johnnathan »

I did the same thing to hide the title bar of Firefox and it works for me. Hope this will help you to get much better solution. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/995349
aubbieed
Posts: 37
Joined: June 4th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by aubbieed »

wright76878 wrote:Unfortunately Custom Buttons doesn't work for the latest FF51. You can use Hide Captions Titlebar Plus. Lots of tinkering in the multi-part menu tho. I turn off the orange button and fix the close button to close firefox altogether.
Right when I get everything the way I want, this crap happens. Is Custom Buttons going to release an update?
User avatar
mightyglydd
Posts: 9813
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by mightyglydd »

wright76878 wrote:You can use Hide Captions Titlebar Plus. Lots of tinkering in the multi-part menu tho.
Lots of tinkering?
I use that on all my Linux Fx's, to do what you want is a couple of clicks piece of cake..even I could figure it out.
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.
User avatar
Reflective
Posts: 2283
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Re: getting rid of title bar

Post by Reflective »

The F11 key toggles full screen on and off. Maybe try that.
Post Reply