MozillaZine

My5 TV Hangs

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19165
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 13th, 2017, 7:06 pm

atlanto wrote:fwiw, imgur.com/a/vFA6F

So what is the particular greasemonkey script?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52428
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 13th, 2017, 8:12 pm


greybeard2012
 
Posts: 40
Joined: October 21st, 2012, 8:27 pm

Post Posted April 1st, 2017, 6:46 am

I meant to post an addendum to this because after one of the FF updates since I started this thread the matter has clearly been addressed because My5 now works perfectly with the version (52.0.1) I'm currently using. I only discovered that this week as on the few occasions I've been there in the last month I've used IE :(

Anyway thanks to whoever fixed it. Appreciated.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19165
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 2nd, 2017, 4:42 am

(
> with the version (52.0.1) I'm currently using

52.0.2 is out.
)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

greybeard2012
 
Posts: 40
Joined: October 21st, 2012, 8:27 pm

Post Posted April 2nd, 2017, 8:02 am

Thanks I know, I updated it yesterday but when I used My5 earlier this week I hadn't.

I haven't tried it with the new version yet so I thought I had better just report that My5 was working with FF 52.0.1.

greybeard2012
 
Posts: 40
Joined: October 21st, 2012, 8:27 pm

Post Posted October 19th, 2018, 4:19 am

Sorry to resurrect this thread but I'm having problems with My5 again.

After the fix, whatever it was, for the FF version I was using back then the My5 (UK Ch5 TV catch up) has worked fine. I hadn't used it for a month or so but last week wanted to use it again. All seemed OK, I had to sit through the advertisements before the program selected started and there was no problem with that displaying but as soon as the program itself began up popped an error message.

The error message ID (JW 2011|Version: 1.8.7.186) is listed in the My5 "help" page as some unspecified generic issue and when I contacted My5 by email about this they simply (stupidly unhelpfully) just repeated the generalised advice they provide on the web site to update the OS, browser and ensure the play DRM content box is ticked. The specific FF advice suggests it should work with My5 from v47 onward.

The fact is FF was working until very recently on that web site. Whatever the problem it affects all the programs I've tested. Clearly from the fact that the advertisements run perfectly it is not a display issue and that suggests some sort of content certification problem, possibly the same thing thing as before. It has never been explained exactly what fixed that.

Problem is that despite my video playback plugins being up to date and everything else unchanged since it last worked I am using an older FF version (v54.0.1). This is for very good reasons, detailed in another thread here, and I still don't want to update it just to find out whether it works OK or not.

I have found that the EI version I have that was working with My5 when I had the original problem with My5 is now "not supported for our video playback" but I tried Waterfox v56.2.3 and that works fine despite almost all its settings being imported from Firefox.

BTW BBC iPlayer, the only other TV catch up service I use regularly, still works perfectly with my FF version so it is must be some specific problem with My5.

If it is a DRM or some other sort of certification recognition issue again I'm wondering if it might also affect whatever the most recent FF version is too and if that is fixed my older FF might work as well.

Any advice/suggestions other than to update FF appreciated.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 20th, 2018, 12:55 pm

.
Tried to check it out however got a pop-up that said

We're sorry but you must be located in the British Isles to view this content.


Can't help if I can't use the site.

.
FF 63.0.3 - FF 64b10 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

greybeard2012
 
Posts: 40
Joined: October 21st, 2012, 8:27 pm

Post Posted October 22nd, 2018, 5:28 am

Thanks for trying.

Typically with UK broadcast TV channels (My5 is one of a number UK Channel 5 or just "5" owned TV stations) getting access from abroad to their online content is blocked because of programme licensing restrictions.

Apparently using a VPN with UK location option works.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 22nd, 2018, 10:17 am

dfoulkes wrote:Just to put what I found out... and I do not know the cause...

It ran fine in my IE
It ran fine in my portable Chrome
It ran fine in my portable Opera
It ran fine in my portable Firefox ESR
It did not run in my skinny Firefox test profile
It did not run in that skinny Firefox test profile when it ran in safe-mode.

So... just confirming what you see.


Since you are in the US, how did you manage to access the site.

Tried to check it out however got a pop-up that said

We're sorry but you must be located in the British Isles to view this content.


.
FF 63.0.3 - FF 64b10 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 13 guests