MozillaZine

52.0.2 doing constant lookups.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
IAmediaworks
 
Posts: 19
Joined: April 4th, 2017, 9:26 am

Post Posted April 4th, 2017, 9:35 am

Hey folks.

On a very fast internet connection. Behavior confirmed on 4 different machines, in two different locations.

Prior versions of FF did not do this, and the systems have been stable forever.

On a Win7 desktop - direct ethernet connection - 8GB ram - pages are taking up to 2 minutes to load. Same with a laptop in the same location, and another laptop and desktop miles away.

Have tried disabling IPV6, changing prefetch settings, refreshing FF, and even reinstalling from scratch.

Here's a video screen cap of what's happening. Does not happen with Chrome or IE.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdQtHehuddU

Avast not installed, either.

Already went the whole tech support route with Spectrum on this - including Tier 3 techs and network folks. They are advising that it's FF.

HELP!

IAmediaworks
 
Posts: 19
Joined: April 4th, 2017, 9:26 am

Post Posted April 4th, 2017, 10:24 am

p.s. - tried safe mode too.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22072
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted April 4th, 2017, 10:26 am

Do this test to see what happens.... and use the new profile just like it came out of the box....

Creating a new Firefox profile on Windows - MozillaZine Knowledge Base
And,.... DON'T TOUCH THAT "Choose Folder..." BUTTON! ... unless you fully know all about it.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

IAmediaworks
 
Posts: 19
Joined: April 4th, 2017, 9:26 am

Post Posted April 4th, 2017, 10:32 am

It's still doing the lookups, but it's markedly faster. Now a page load at, say, Jezebel only takes 70 or 80 seconds, as opposed to two minutes.

I'm wondering if this might have something to do with sync?

Actually - no - because at on at least one of the laptops, sync isn't being used.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17289
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 4th, 2017, 8:08 pm

Prior versions of FF did not do this

So you've tested with the prior version of FF, http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/?

Check your Proxy settings, about:preferences#advanced.

CPU usage?

A/V scans?


another laptop and desktop miles away

This is not your connection, but someone else's with the same ISP?
What about your laptop on someone else's connection with a different ISP?


What happens if you change your DSN server (to perhaps, https://www.opendns.com/setupguide/?url=familyshield)?


Anything weird show up with, TcpLogView?
(Not that I would know what would be weird, put possibly some odd ports?)


Disconnect all computers from network.
Connect only one at a time, & see if each behaves similarly.
So test with only desktop connected.
Disconnect, then test with only laptop1 connected.
Disconnect, then test with only laptop2 connected...


Reset your modem/router, but you really wouldn't expect it to be that, because you'd expect IE/Chrome to be affected too, & they aren't.


Not Avast, but what A/V are you using?


Using some sort of Wordpress Plugin?
(Safe Mode does not disable Plugins.)
Take a look at your Plugins.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 1914
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted April 5th, 2017, 5:51 am

The data at the foot of the video indicates constant connections being made to ad servers. You can counter that by installing an ad blocker such as Adblock Plus or uBlock Origin

Similarly, install Privacy Badger to block connections to ad trackers like googlesyndication which track your movements constantly while you surf the web.

Install BetterPrivacy to delete Flash cookies if you value your privacy.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22072
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted April 5th, 2017, 8:49 am

I just visited jezebel.com with my Test profile which only used u-block for ad-blocking... the site loaded in less than 5 seconds... though as I scrolled down some pics would be blank for a second and then would fill in fast... probably the way it should work...
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 1802
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted April 5th, 2017, 12:02 pm

holey sh**
i saw a lot of ad-servers and other crap loading. and those cause reloading again and again and again...

you should think about an ad-blocker.

concerning cdn loads
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ntraleyes/
users who problaby never will get an answer from me: f*x, f*n, j*n, k*s, k*x, l*y, m*o, m*d, m*x, o*l, p*y, s*e, d*h, l*t, d*e, j*k, f*u*a, h*2

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17289
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 5th, 2017, 5:08 pm

To me, adblocker isn't the point.
Something is generating the requests.
And have to assume (?) that you've tried with visiting no sites (as in do not visit a site that you would expect all kinds of trash happening with - not even FF's "new tab" page). IOW, if all that is open is about:blank, & you're still getting those requests...
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

IAmediaworks
 
Posts: 19
Joined: April 4th, 2017, 9:26 am

Post Posted April 7th, 2017, 4:49 am

therube wrote:
Prior versions of FF did not do this

So you've tested with the prior version of FF, http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/?

Check your Proxy settings, about:preferences#advanced.

CPU usage?

A/V scans?


another laptop and desktop miles away

This is not your connection, but someone else's with the same ISP?
What about your laptop on someone else's connection with a different ISP?


What happens if you change your DSN server (to perhaps, https://www.opendns.com/setupguide/?url=familyshield)?


Anything weird show up with, TcpLogView?
(Not that I would know what would be weird, put possibly some odd ports?)


Disconnect all computers from network.
Connect only one at a time, & see if each behaves similarly.
So test with only desktop connected.
Disconnect, then test with only laptop1 connected.
Disconnect, then test with only laptop2 connected...


Reset your modem/router, but you really wouldn't expect it to be that, because you'd expect IE/Chrome to be affected too, & they aren't.


Not Avast, but what A/V are you using?


Using some sort of Wordpress Plugin?
(Safe Mode does not disable Plugins.)
Take a look at your Plugins.


I have not tried with an earlier version, although I was considering it.

The other laptop and desktop - yes - someone else's with the same ISP. This is why I did the LONGGGGG back and forth with Spectrum. :)

Already changed proxy - no effect.

CPU usage is low.

AV is deinstalled entirely.

For most of these tests, there has only been one device connected to the network, via an ethernet cable.

Not only did I reset my modem, I replaced it altogether.

Not using any plugins other than Flash, a video plugin from Google and an openH264 Video plugin by Cisco.

And meanwhile - Chrome (which I hate) is screaming through web pages that FF is choking on.

Thanks!

IAmediaworks
 
Posts: 19
Joined: April 4th, 2017, 9:26 am

Post Posted April 7th, 2017, 4:52 am

dfoulkes wrote:I just visited jezebel.com with my Test profile which only used u-block for ad-blocking... the site loaded in less than 5 seconds... though as I scrolled down some pics would be blank for a second and then would fill in fast... probably the way it should work...


OK - the bar at the top (jezebel / deadspin / fusion / gizmodo, etc.)...

When you roll over each of those, a flyout menu with images shows up. Do they show u- right away, or slowly load?

On chrome, they come up instantly.... on FF, they CRAWL.

Thanks!

IAmediaworks
 
Posts: 19
Joined: April 4th, 2017, 9:26 am

Post Posted April 7th, 2017, 4:54 am

Reflective wrote:The data at the foot of the video indicates constant connections being made to ad servers. You can counter that by installing an ad blocker such as Adblock Plus or uBlock Origin

Similarly, install Privacy Badger to block connections to ad trackers like googlesyndication which track your movements constantly while you surf the web.

Install BetterPrivacy to delete Flash cookies if you value your privacy.


Yes - I know about all of this. But it's entirely besides the point. All of those networks and trackers and cookies exist whether you're using chrome or IE or FF. And Chrome is loading VERY quickly, and FF is just choking.

IAmediaworks
 
Posts: 19
Joined: April 4th, 2017, 9:26 am

Post Posted April 7th, 2017, 4:56 am

therube wrote:To me, adblocker isn't the point.
Something is generating the requests.
And have to assume (?) that you've tried with visiting no sites (as in do not visit a site that you would expect all kinds of trash happening with - not even FF's "new tab" page). IOW, if all that is open is about:blank, & you're still getting those requests...


Exactly. And no, that activity isn't happening when visiting nothing. :)

IAmediaworks
 
Posts: 19
Joined: April 4th, 2017, 9:26 am

Post Posted April 7th, 2017, 5:04 am

OK - that seals it.

I just installed 51.0.b9.

And it's running like a champ.

So this is absolutely an issue with the last version of FF.

(And yes - the constant connects are still happening on some sites, but it's not affecting browsing or loading of the actual page.)

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11398
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted April 7th, 2017, 5:54 am

Is there a situation with MS where you have a captive portal connection being made?
I had an issue with 52.0.2 where an item in about:config was constantly connecting, or trying, to a non-existent user access page
Search about:config for the items or similar items listed. You may need it if your wireless access is open and not dedicated, like at a bistro with wifi.
see this - Constantly phoning home

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 11 guests