MozillaZine

53.0 in 32 bit only?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
MasterMarik
 
Posts: 7
Joined: September 6th, 2014, 5:02 pm

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 6:32 pm

Just updated to 53.0 but had errors for updating that I believe are from the update being 32 bit when I have a 64 bit computer. Is this update only in 32 bit? If so, why? Never had this problem before.

ICQ5

User avatar
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 7:15 pm

MasterMarik wrote:Just updated to 53.0 but had errors for updating that I believe are from the update being 32 bit when I have a 64 bit computer. Is this update only in 32 bit? If so, why? Never had this problem before.

if you look at i think the Release Notes, the installer will now detect if you have a 64bit PC, if you have a 64bit PC it'll install the 64bit firefox , the future is 64bit, 32bit Arch is dying , Linux Distro's recommend 64bit over 32bit

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 26778
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 8:16 pm

MasterMarik wrote:Just updated to 53.0 but had errors for updating that I believe are from the update being 32 bit when I have a 64 bit computer. Is this update only in 32 bit? If so, why? Never had this problem before.

The Win64 Firefox has existed since Firefox 42.0 Release along with 32-bit version for Windows. Windows users downloading from http://www.mozilla.org would be served the 32-bit Firefox stub installer. You needed to go to http://www.mozilla.org/firefox/all/ to get the Win64 Firefox.

However the small online stub installer will now give 32-bit or 64-bit option if you have 64-bit Windows 7 or later. https://www.mozilla.org/firefox/53.0/releasenotes/

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 1555
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 11:52 pm

However the small online stub installer will now give 32-bit or 64-bit option

nice, they fixed it.

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1082
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted April 20th, 2017, 1:57 am

FYI, both my 32bit and 64bit version updated to the corresponding bit version via their internal updater.

4td8s
 
Posts: 558
Joined: June 24th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Post Posted May 4th, 2017, 9:35 am

Arch5 wrote:if you look at i think the Release Notes, the installer will now detect if you have a 64bit PC, if you have a 64bit PC it'll install the 64bit firefox , the future is 64bit, 32bit Arch is dying , Linux Distro's recommend 64bit over 32bit


yup. the future is 64bit for all linux, mac & windows archs

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 5 guests