MozillaZine

Search engine manager help

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Robwood

User avatar
 
Posts: 247
Joined: November 8th, 2005, 4:31 pm

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 4:44 pm

Due to a mishap while dealing with another issue, my search engine drop down bar needs an overhaul. I had a search engine manager of some type that would allow me to rearrange the order of the engines in the drop down menu, but it's gone now and I can't find it or an acceptable substitute using Firefox's add-on search website. Any ideas?
Never give anyone your two cents because it's only a penny for your thoughts.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52281
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 5:15 pm

Did you try to change the order on the "Options/Preferences > Search" page?

Robwood

User avatar
 
Posts: 247
Joined: November 8th, 2005, 4:31 pm

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 5:30 pm

Options-->Search
Image


Search bar
Image


Looks like I'm going to have to re-add Duck Duck Go, as well.
Never give anyone your two cents because it's only a penny for your thoughts.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52281
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 5:57 pm

There is a restore default search engine button in the Search tab to get the default search engines back (DuckDuckGo is one of them).

Robwood

User avatar
 
Posts: 247
Joined: November 8th, 2005, 4:31 pm

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 6:00 pm

Yes, but my focus right now is on getting the order of the engines in the toolbar to match the settings.
Never give anyone your two cents because it's only a penny for your thoughts.

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 94
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 9:12 pm

So you want to put them in a specific order?

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22143
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 9:27 am

Unless I'm missing something here...ain't the first time... all you should have to do in order to re-arrange search engines is go into Options/Search... place the mouse pointer over a search engine, hold down the left-clicker and move that engine up or down...
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Robwood

User avatar
 
Posts: 247
Joined: November 8th, 2005, 4:31 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 6:02 pm

@tomatoshadow2: Yes.

@dfoulkes: You are mistaken. The results are as you see them in the pictures above. While the search engines within Options-->Search can be arranged however I want, it has no effect on the actual search engine bar part.
Never give anyone your two cents because it's only a penny for your thoughts.

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 94
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 9:46 pm

I'm not sure if they can be reordered in the search bar itself.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22143
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 9:12 am

Robwood wrote:@dfoulkes: You are mistaken. The results are as you see them in the pictures above. While the search engines within Options-->Search can be arranged however I want, it has no effect on the actual search engine bar part.

I just moved my search engines around based on what I posted... I did that in two profiles ... it works fine.

You pics (though) look different that both of mine and that may be because 'stuff' is left over from that extension that you had... don't know... anyway, to test out some stuff why don't you create a test profile and use it as-is... then get into it and try moving your search engines... working or not in that test profile, please post back with the results.

Creating a new Firefox profile on Windows - MozillaZine Knowledge Base
And,.... DON'T TOUCH THAT "Choose Folder..." BUTTON! ... unless you fully know all about it.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52281
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 11:02 am

Firefox would normally only show icons in the sidebar drop-down list and show them as one line.
If you have labels and see them vertically ordered then you must have an extension or theme that provides this appearance.
So you likely need to check the settings of that extension.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests