MozillaZine

64bit version reverts to 32bit version on automatic update.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
WeeFella
 
Posts: 4
Joined: May 23rd, 2017, 3:28 pm

Post Posted May 23rd, 2017, 3:44 pm

Firstly I apologise if this has been asked several times but I searched and could not find it.

I have a 64 bit machine and my initial download was the 32 bit version of Firefox.
I upgraded to the 64 bit version a few months ago.
Every time there is an update my "About Firefox" states that I have reverted to the 32 bit version.
I thought I had done the upgrade properly. Install 64bit version and uninstall 32bit version.
I have reinstalled the latest 64bit version but expect that it will revert on the next update.

Can someone tell me what is happening? and what I can do to fix it?

Thank you in anticipation( Said with a Rocky Horror emphasis) :)

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 26833
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted May 23rd, 2017, 3:59 pm

Firefox since 51.0 now shows if you have 32-bit or 64-bit in the About. A number of 64-bit Windows users as a result thought they were upgraded to a 32-bit version instead of 64-bit when they were using 32-bit Firefox all along. No version of Firefox for Windows, Mac OSX, or Linux has ever gone from 32-bit to 64-bit or 64-bit to 32-bit in a internal Firefox update.

Up til Firefox 52.0 Windows users downloading from http://www.mozilla.org were served a 32-bit online stub installer. Firefox 53.0 and later for Windows now has a new stub which will give option of 32-bit or 64-bit if user has 64-bit Windows 7, 8 (8.1), or 10. https://www.mozilla.org/firefox/53.0/releasenotes/

To make sure you download 64-bit (Win64) version for windows you can do so from http://www.mozilla.org/firefox/all/

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22034
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 23rd, 2017, 4:46 pm

I have a 64 bit machine and my initial download was the 32 bit version of Firefox.
I upgraded to the 64 bit version a few months ago.
Every time there is an update my "About Firefox" states that I have reverted to the 32 bit version.
I thought I had done the upgrade properly. Install 64bit version and uninstall 32bit version.

I also have the 64bit Win7-pro ... but I did the upgrade long ago and did it a little diff... since then... no issues...

I backed up my profile (JIC) ... then I downloaded the full 64bit product... then I uninstalled Firefox (32) leaving the profile alone... then installed that saved 64 bit version... never had an issue since.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

WeeFella
 
Posts: 4
Joined: May 23rd, 2017, 3:28 pm

Post Posted May 24th, 2017, 6:23 am

Thank you both for your replies. As stated I believe that I did everything properly previously but have again installed the 64bit version from http://www.mozilla.org/firefox/all/.
Perhaps this time it will stay.
Thanks again.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 24th, 2017, 6:35 am

you have 32-bit version uninstalled before?

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52106
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 24th, 2017, 5:08 pm

Note that you started this thread with a 64 bit Firefox version.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:53.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/53.0

WeeFella
 
Posts: 4
Joined: May 23rd, 2017, 3:28 pm

Post Posted May 25th, 2017, 4:22 am

Thanks for the interest but it is now a case of waiting until the next automatic update.
As stated previously I had reinstalled the 64bit version prior to starting the thread and just wondered if it would revert back on the next update.
I did also notice that the posts are stamped with the version used.
I do have a linux machine that I dabble with occasionally but have not looked at that recently to see what the situation is there.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 1665
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 25th, 2017, 6:34 am

check your prefs:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/App.update.channel
and reset it when wrong. not present here in my profiles.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 26833
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted May 25th, 2017, 2:27 pm

Brummelchen wrote:check your prefs:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/App.update.channel
and reset it when wrong. not present here in my profiles.

Caveats
This preference can only be changed by editing "channel-prefs.js" in the application directory.


The app.update.channel only shows what channel you are on as it is no longer used as a modifiable Preference as it was from the old channel system used from Firefox 1.5 and on (well earlier as in August 2005) till Firefox 4.0. The easiest way to change the channel is to just download and install a build on the channel you want.

WeeFella
 
Posts: 4
Joined: May 23rd, 2017, 3:28 pm

Post Posted June 16th, 2017, 11:11 am

Just updated to 54 and it stayed on 64bit version. I have to accept that I must have made a mistake before.
This is solved.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 17 guests