MozillaZine

Linux: Firefox 54 fullpage screenshot not working?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
flaneurb
 
Posts: 547
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted June 14th, 2017, 9:33 pm

It was possible to press Shift+F2 and then paste in screenshot --fullpage filename.png, enter to take a fullpage screenshot of web pages.

I can't do this in Firefox 54. I get "unknown error".

Can anyone confirm this or provide the correct command? I don't want to use an extension for the purpose.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52178
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted June 14th, 2017, 11:40 pm

Is this with a Firefox version from the Mozilla server or with a version from the repositories?

Does this also happen if you enable and use the toolbar screenshot (camera) button via the setting page?
https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Tools/Settings
https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Tools/ ... creenshots

flaneurb
 
Posts: 547
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted June 15th, 2017, 3:59 am

Thanks for looking into this.


With Firefox 54 direct from Mozilla.

I'll check on the other machine which has Firefox 54, as modified by Canonical, and post that in a while.

Code: Select all
Application Basics
------------------

Name: Firefox
Version: 54.0
Build ID: 20170608175746
Update Channel: release
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:54.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/54.0
OS: Linux 4.4.0-79-generic
Multiprocess Windows: 1/1 (Enabled by default)
Google Key: Found
Mozilla Location Service Key: Found
Safe Mode: false


Edit: it works just fine with the version from the standard repo!

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11472
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted June 15th, 2017, 11:19 am

Why would you need the screenshot for Firefox if the system screenshot functions properly?
Is it due to the screenshot including only the active Firefox Window?

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52178
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted June 15th, 2017, 3:14 pm

The built-in Firefox screenshot feature can take a full page screenshot including parts that aren't visible.
I think that all extensions that allow to take a full page use this same API.

https://dxr.mozilla.org/mozilla-release ... eenshot.js

flaneurb
 
Posts: 547
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted June 16th, 2017, 4:10 am

dickvl wrote:Is this with a Firefox version from the Mozilla server or with a version from the repositories?

Does this also happen if you enable and use the toolbar screenshot (camera) button via the setting page?
https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Tools/Settings
https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Tools/ ... creenshots
Thank you! After enabling the taking of full-page screenshots, I just need to click on the camera icon.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11472
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted June 16th, 2017, 4:43 am

@dickvl - Thanks.

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 577
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted June 16th, 2017, 6:05 am

Unfortunately, both Shift+F2 and Screenshot system addon can't take screenshots of long web pages.
I am an idiot. Sorry for my poor English. Current list of config tweaks: https://pastebin.com/1dCT4Cvp

flaneurb
 
Posts: 547
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted June 18th, 2017, 9:25 pm

@GHM113, I've prefixed this thread's topic with "Linux".

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests