MozillaZine

Cannot make Firefox the default browser

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
aeronca1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: March 1st, 2007, 8:40 am

Post Posted June 17th, 2017, 6:01 am

Lately, I cannot make Firefox the default browser. When I start Firefox, it "knows" it is not the default browsers and a requester come up asking if I want to make it so. I click to do so, but it does not work. I have to go to Control Panel/Default Programs and do it there.

I'm not sure if this is related, but I have also had login problems on a couple of sites. If I click on login, the page I am on simply refreshes and I am not redirected to the login page. IE and Chrome work perfectly on these pages.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117347
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 17th, 2017, 6:20 am

Those are separate issues. The default browser setting is handled by the operating system. -- http://kb.mozillazine.org/Setting_Your_Default_Browser

Regarding the second issue:
Clear the browser cache (use menu path Tools->Options->Advanced->Network tab->click on "Clear Now" button.)
Delete any cookies relating to the site(s) involved (Tools->Options->Privacy->Firefox will "Use custom settings for History"->Show Cookies button).

Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 348
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted June 17th, 2017, 6:28 am

Hi aeronca1 !

That must be pretty annonying !
Just to make sure that the latest update hasn't accidentally changed any settings, would you check this, please
(but you may already have done so) :

3-bar menu => Options => General => under 'Startup': is 'Always check if Firefox is your default browser' checked ?

3-bar menu => Options => Security => under 'Logins': is 'Remember logins for sites' checked ?
You can keep your diamonds - they're just shiny stones; love is the only precious thing and doesn't cost a dime.

aeronca1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: March 1st, 2007, 8:40 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2017, 2:12 pm

For the first item, 'Always check if Firefox is your default browser' is checked but the option is greyed out preventing any changes.

For the second item, 'Remember logins for sites' is checked and does allow changes.

EDIT: I just noticed that on first starting, I can uncheck the box to make Firefox the default browser for a few seconds. After those few seconds, the item greys out preventing further changes.

aeronca1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: March 1st, 2007, 8:40 am

Post Posted July 17th, 2017, 10:55 am

Flashplayer updated today, and as is my custom, I went through my three browsers making each one the default before updating. After I finished, Firefox again would not let me set it as default from within the program. I had to do it through the Control Panel Default Programs option. VERY annoying..... Chrome and IE had no problems allowing themselves to be set as default from within the program.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37478
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 17th, 2017, 11:10 am

Hi,
May I ask......Why are you setting each as the default?

Why not just leave Firefox as the default, once it's set?

&...A little more...
(Windows does not like to let go sometimes & it needs a really big kick to remind it who's
the boss.
Try changing the defaults a few times.)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117347
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 17th, 2017, 5:16 pm

There really is no need to change each broswer to the system default when updating Flash. Each browser uses a different version of Flash so there is no conflict.

aeronca1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: March 1st, 2007, 8:40 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2017, 9:57 am

All of this is moot now, I have dropped Firefox in favour of Pale Moon. It operates way better than Firefox...

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37478
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 19th, 2017, 10:18 am

As the OP has changed browsers & no longer requires assistance with Firefox,
this is being locked, to stop any spam from accumulating.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests