MozillaZine

FF55 and flashgames

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
talkee
 
Posts: 15
Joined: August 10th, 2017, 4:16 am

Post Posted August 10th, 2017, 4:35 am

Updated from 54.0.1 to 55 manually (all went smoothly except adblock lost several blocked addresses and that got solved by restoring backup) but after playing with some flashgames I noticed that mousescrolling doesn't work and there's delay in cursor's movement to where user wants it to go. Both are not wanted things when only control is mouse.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117973
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 10th, 2017, 5:23 am

Moving to Firefox Support.

Have you confirmed that you have the latest version of Flash installed? That would be 26.0.0.151/
Do you have hardware acceleration disabled in Firefox? Menu path Tools->Options->General.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17960
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 10th, 2017, 8:36 am

Does the issue persist if you restart FF in Safe Mode?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

talkee
 
Posts: 15
Joined: August 10th, 2017, 4:16 am

Post Posted August 10th, 2017, 11:29 am

Flash is up-to-date since I update it on same day as Microsoft releases its updates since Adobe does same.

I have tick in box on general tab.

Don't know how to play flashgames in browser w/o flashplayer which won't operate in safe mode.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17960
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 10th, 2017, 12:53 pm

Flash is Plugin & is not affected by (FF) Safe Mode.

FF 55 release notes did mention that with 55, Flash is set to click-to-play.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

talkee
 
Posts: 15
Joined: August 10th, 2017, 4:16 am

Post Posted August 10th, 2017, 2:19 pm

Well when I tried 1 game I have problems with FF55 game didn't load at all (or was given notification to start Flash like Chrome does occasionally) as it does on normal or private mode.

Also now leftclicks are counted as rightclicks atleast sometimes (on flashgame site), no that problem with Chrome (portable) on same site.

Also FF totally hanged itself when I clicked link to game which had graphically heavy flashgame and most of time I couldn't do anything else than switch windows occasionally and situation stayed same until I terminated FF's process, no problems with Chrome (portable) with same game on same site so its clearly FF issue.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117973
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 10th, 2017, 4:18 pm

What site, what game?

talkee
 
Posts: 15
Joined: August 10th, 2017, 4:16 am

Post Posted August 12th, 2017, 12:42 pm

Mousewheeling doesn't work in crusaders of lost idols (kongregate and needs kong account) and in agame all leftclicks are counted as rightclicks and gamw which hanged FF is Knights of Magic and Steel (in agame), all those games and rest worked just fine before updating to version 55.

AndyTwobeats
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 13th, 2017, 4:58 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 5:05 am

https://bigfarm.goodgamestudios.com/ became unplayable for me after the update.
(You do not have to have an account or log in for this problem to occur, for me anyway)

After a few minutes, the cursor will change from the game cursor (large arrow), to the regular mouse cursor, and quickly alternate between the two (like split second).
When this happens, I am no longer able to click on anything within the game.
I posted on their forum as well, but didn't receive any replies.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117973
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 8:40 am

AndyTwobeats, I checked out that site and had no such problem, even after leaving the site active in the background for more than half an hour.
Have you confirmed that you are running the most recent version of Adobe's Flash Player? That would be 26.0.0.151
Did you try launching Firefox into Mozilla Safe Mode?

AndyTwobeats
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 13th, 2017, 4:58 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 10:50 am

Hi Dan,

Yes, that's the version of Adobe Flash Player I have installed (says it was last updated August 13, 2017)
For some reason I can't get Flash to run in safe mode
In the "Add Ons" tab, I unchecked the box that says "Enable Adobe Flash Protected Mode", but even after doing so, if I go to https://bigfarm.goodgamestudios.com/ to try and play the game, I just get a message on the page telling me I need to install Adobe Flash.
Then of course if I try doing so after it tells me, I restart in normal mode instead of safe mode, so I'm not sure what to do.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117973
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 11:03 am

Go to the Add-ons tab and make sure you have Flash set to "Always activate".

AndyTwobeats
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 13th, 2017, 4:58 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 11:15 am

Yes, I have it set to that, I also tried "Ask to activate" and both were a no go.
End result was that page telling me I needed to install Adobe Flash.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117973
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 11:27 am

OK, try this. First uninstall Flash and then reinstall it. See the reply in this thread from dfoulkes -- viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3025793&p=14723793&hilit=+flash+uninstall#p14723793

AndyTwobeats
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 13th, 2017, 4:58 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 11:32 am

I'll give that a try, thanks for all your help so far, much appreciated!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Ken4757 and 21 guests