MozillaZine

No more toolbar button extention, need a new bookmark button

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
love10001212
 
Posts: 269
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 12:23 am
Location: New York City

Post Posted September 26th, 2017, 5:48 pm

Seriously? Yes, I did *try* that as I didn't know if it was a different version that may work, and sometimes that can be the case and/or the same thing works differently with different versions/setups.

Please do go though as rudeness is not helpful

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2728
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted September 26th, 2017, 6:13 pm

to be honest - i told you twice that there exist NO solution for now and this answer is the third time. i dont think you ever have tested the extensions LovyMyFoxy gave you. thats the difference between us - i tried it, i installed it - you made same eror twice instead listening to people.

BTW i talk about "toolbar buttons 1.1" or "1.1.1-signed"
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefo ... r-buttons/
and yes, it is the same build. so it must fail. did you not read this page before and remembered the version number?
you feel offended because you are probably upset because no solution yet and i probably had right. you really had a bad day.

i can tell you that firefox 56 is making most profiles more worse than v55, i have read the first comments and i can confirm this problem. v56 coming theses days.

love10001212
 
Posts: 269
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 12:23 am
Location: New York City

Post Posted September 26th, 2017, 6:31 pm

Wrong. I did try EVERY one that was suggested. Don't assume. You are unnecessarily rude for no reason. I didn't memorize the build I tried weeks ago that didn't work and often times repeated attempts with some small things changed DOES help. What is the harm, seriously! Yup I like many miss old features. So what? Who has a bad day? You aren't making sense. It really takes less energy just to be kind.

99 times out of 100 that i've come here people have been kind and patient and helpful even though my knowledge isn't as advanced as them. This is the only time someone actually took the time to be rude repeatedly to me - congrats.

love10001212
 
Posts: 269
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 12:23 am
Location: New York City

Post Posted September 26th, 2017, 6:34 pm

And while there isn't an actual button to add, there IS an easy workaround by simply right clicking and using that button - instead of being rude, since you probably knew this you could have suggested it.

Thank you LoveMyFoxy for your help, time and patience. Much appreciated!

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted September 26th, 2017, 7:30 pm

love10001212 wrote:Thank you so much for your time, much appreciated. It seems like something so simple right! I will try out codefisher.

Interestingly, I just figured out that if you right click on a page and use that icon on the right of the top bar, it DOES put that bm into the bookmarks menu by default! How strange. This maybe the workaround though...


You already had Codefisher's extension. There has been only one version, but they've spiffied up their website. And you can always see your version number in your Add-on Manager.

Glad to help.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 5313
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted September 27th, 2017, 12:03 pm

LoveMyFoxy wrote: And you can always see your version number in your Add-on Manager. Glad to help.


They've removed the version numbers from the add-ons manager (unless you use an extension to show them).
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 27.6.2, Firefox 52.5.0esr, SeaMonkey 2.48, FossaMail 38.6.0 and Thunderbird 52.5.0

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted September 27th, 2017, 2:20 pm

Mine still says 1.1.1, no special extension, maybe because it's so old.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 5313
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted September 27th, 2017, 2:32 pm

LoveMyFoxy wrote:Mine still says 1.1.1, no special extension, maybe because it's so old.


If you're using CTR, there's a setting to show the version numbers.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 27.6.2, Firefox 52.5.0esr, SeaMonkey 2.48, FossaMail 38.6.0 and Thunderbird 52.5.0

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10077
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted October 1st, 2017, 1:05 pm

Although the behavior of the star icon can't be changed by any built-in setting, all of these other methods of adding a bookmark default to the Bookmarks Menu:

* Ctrl+d (Mac: Command+d)
* right-click a blank area of the page > click the star icon on the context menu
* (classic menu bar) Bookmarks > Bookmark This Page

Maybe one of those will serve well enough when other options are unavailable.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 10 guests