MozillaZine

Getting "customise firefox with add-ons" notification a lot

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mikeymike

User avatar
 
Posts: 2819
Joined: April 24th, 2003, 6:00 am
Location: UK

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 7:00 am

It seems to me that (possibly since updating to Firefox 56), I'm getting this message every time I start Firefox and go to a website:

Image

Is there a way to switch it off?

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4359
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 7:04 am

Just when you start Firefox, or is it on any website ? Have a link to where you see this happening ?

EDIT: are you using an old addon (no longer available from what I see) called the 'PuzzlePiece' ?

mikeymike

User avatar
 
Posts: 2819
Joined: April 24th, 2003, 6:00 am
Location: UK

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 1:57 am

No add-on by that name. Since then I've found that it's not every time I start Firefox and I haven't found any rhyme or reason to when the notification appears.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2271
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 2:25 am

maybe a new system add on.

provide some information please
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/us ... ix-firefox
users who problaby never will get an answer from me: f*x, f*n, j*n, k*s, k*x, l*y, m*o, m*d, m*x, o*l, p*y, s*e, d*h, l*t, d*e, j*k, f*u*a, h*2

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 31875
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 2:54 am

mikeymike wrote:No add-on by that name. Since then I've found that it's not every time I start Firefox and I haven't found any rhyme or reason to when the notification appears.


Could it be that the message appears only the first time you open Firefox each day?
If so, it might happen as a result of Firefox checking for updates for add-on once per day and the first time that Firefox is used each day.

I think this is the preference that controls the timer - extensions.update.interval;86400 - where that 86400 is 24 hours as expressed in seconds.

Check to see if that is when that message appears - the first time Firefox is used each day.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3400
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 7:51 am

It is the TAARExperiment that puts an Add-ons icon in the URL bar, which appears on every restart.

I clicked close and the icon disappeared. Sorry, I don't remember what I did yesterday to stop the annoying message from appearing.

EDIT: I didn't do anything. It always appears when you start Firefox 56.0.
Last edited by WaltS48 on October 5th, 2017, 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4359
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 1:59 pm

Try about:config and flip pref: experiments.supported

also might have to flip extensions.ui.experiment.hidden

mikeymike

User avatar
 
Posts: 2819
Joined: April 24th, 2003, 6:00 am
Location: UK

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 12:57 pm

WaltS48 wrote:It is the TAARExperiment that puts an Add-ons icon in the URL bar, which appears on every restart.

I clicked close and the icon disappeared. Sorry, I don't remember what I did yesterday to stop the annoying message from appearing.

EDIT: I didn't do anything. It always appears when you start Firefox 56.0.

Yep, I had that add-on installed, but I had the notification even after removing it. Today was a bit hectic to say the least, so I can't remember whether I've seen it today. I'll keep an eye out to see if it appears again.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 1844
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 11:23 pm

Pop-up blocking on or off?
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64, 6GB RAM /FF ESR / Thunderbird 52 / Chrome /Opera / Avira A-V / Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2271
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 7th, 2017, 3:10 am

currently started my firefox (v57) and that was shown for a second as a button then disappeared. nothing to customize. and nothing in about:support

same missing transparency as here
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3033924


forget it - its the extension "small clock" when initialising.

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 7th, 2017, 7:41 am

Have you tried dragging that green toolbar button shown in your screenshot into the Customize panel?

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2271
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 7th, 2017, 7:45 am

you cant speak to me as i resolved it for me (meanwhile i use a modified version and when trialing code i also get that green puzzle piece - its part of firefox). but it is complete different from the picture above.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests