MozillaZine

How Do I Stop FF from Updating to Version 57?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
killz
 
Posts: 86
Joined: August 6th, 2017, 6:49 pm

Post Posted October 7th, 2017, 8:42 pm

Look like when FF updates to version 57 many add-ons won't work. How can I stop FF from updating itself to 57 before this stupidity happens?

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2099
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 7th, 2017, 9:40 pm

Tools > Options > General
-Never check for update

Or switch to FF 52ESR and keep your add-ons almost another year.
Last edited by LoveMyFoxy on October 8th, 2017, 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

Tony-E

User avatar
 
Posts: 8778
Joined: November 5th, 2004, 11:28 am

Post Posted October 7th, 2017, 11:24 pm

On Firefox 56 the location for that option is different, the options dialog has been reorganized. It can be found at Tools > Options > General

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3741
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 5:45 am

killz wrote:Look like when FF updates to version 57 many add-ons won't work. How can I stop FF from updating itself to 57 before this stupidity happens?


Why not update the add-ons now? Most of these should work in 56.0. The ones I use do work.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ppver=57.0

or just search for a replacement if you don't want to go through the 8,949 results on 448 pages.

https://mozilla.github.io/extension-finder/
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2099
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 6:37 am

Is Github still working on that list? The substitute I just found is not related to the one I asked about.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10664
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 8:57 am

.
That Github site is very limited and has incorrect information. For example I'm using ff57b6 and uBlock Origin version 1.14.11rc14 1.14.12 works just fine.

I found that a less "pretty" site but one with much more information is

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... edit#gid=0


.
FF 63.0 - FF 63b14 - FF 64a - TB 60.2.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

killz
 
Posts: 86
Joined: August 6th, 2017, 6:49 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 2:07 pm

WaltS48 wrote:
killz wrote:Look like when FF updates to version 57 many add-ons won't work. How can I stop FF from updating itself to 57 before this stupidity happens?


Why not update the add-ons now? Most of these should work in 56.0. The ones I use do work.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ppver=57.0

or just search for a replacement if you don't want to go through the 8,949 results on 448 pages.

https://mozilla.github.io/extension-finder/


What are you talking about? I'm not talking about ff 56. I'm talking about ff 57.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2099
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 2:19 pm

Tony-E wrote:On Firefox 56 the location for that option is different, the options dialog has been reorganized. It can be found at Tools > Options > General


Thanks. Corrected.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2099
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 2:22 pm

killz wrote:...

What are you talking about? I'm not talking about ff 56. I'm talking about ff 57.

Update all your add-ons, then turn off automatic updates of the program.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10664
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 2:26 pm

.
killz, this site will give you a good idea of what is happening with extensions ported or not ported for FF57 compatibility. It also has some suggested alternative.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... edit#gid=0

I personally have reduced my 15+ extensions to 8 "must have". Five have already been ported or there is a good replacemnt, two more are in the process of being ported while the last one has no good replacement yet.

I've been using FF57 since it came out as Nightly and now 57b6 (over 8 weeks in total). It is great improvement (IMO).

Last, as far as I'm able to determine userChrome.css tweaks (FF57b6) still work and will continue to going forward.

.
FF 63.0 - FF 63b14 - FF 64a - TB 60.2.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2099
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 4:53 pm

I like the description of one of the substitutes: "Stupid Privacy Policy."

I can see the mods composing css tweaks for 7,594 old extensions ;-)
Last edited by LIMPET235 on October 9th, 2017, 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Some slight text editing.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3741
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 6:23 am

killz wrote:
WaltS48 wrote:
killz wrote:Look like when FF updates to version 57 many add-ons won't work. How can I stop FF from updating itself to 57 before this stupidity happens?


Why not update the add-ons now? Most of these should work in 56.0. The ones I use do work.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ppver=57.0

or just search for a replacement if you don't want to go through the 8,949 results on 448 pages.

https://mozilla.github.io/extension-finder/


What are you talking about? I'm not talking about ff 56. I'm talking about ff 57.


Most of those work in Fx 56.0 as I noted above in my original reply. I also had them installed in Fx 55.0.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

The Mechanic

User avatar
 
Posts: 864
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 7:24 am

What I think that I see is that most people do not understand that this "change" is actually a transition that started with the update of FF 54 to FF 55. Some may recall that they changed some storage and that a FF 55 profile would not work with FF 54 or the ESR.

And things have changed during the roll out to FF 56 and are continuing in FF 57 and now FF 58. Slow, gradual, changes.

I get the impression that most people think this is like flipping a switch. Light on. Flip. Light off.

And I think that many of the people now having problems are having extensions being gradually stopping or conflicting as code is removed.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9237
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 8:26 am

The Tinsmith wrote: I think ....I see ..I get....And I think


Image
#KeepFightingMichael

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10664
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 8:34 am

.
Locking, in the weeds.

.
FF 63.0 - FF 63b14 - FF 64a - TB 60.2.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dubinm and 11 guests