MozillaZine

At Wits end: FF Unusable due to crashes

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
FuzzyCPU
 
Posts: 11
Joined: October 8th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 5:27 pm

Hello all- I am at a loss to say the least. Firefox has recently become unusable due to crashes. It crashes when:
-I click the open tab button
-I try to select the three-bar menu button
-click the URL bar to type in something

I have re-installed, tried with add-ons disabled, and am currently using IE 11, because CHROME is now unable to even start. I have updated Flash as best I can; but these problems all started when clicking on a twitter URL link for a post. Not sure if that has anything to do with it, but I'm grasping at straws at this point.

I can easily past the crash report- but it's giant.
Like. 16 pages apparently.

Running Windows 10, and FF (x64)
So please let me know what other info I can provide!

Many thanks.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117346
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 7:14 pm

If you are unable to launch Chrome and Firefox is crashing you should be running scans for malware on that system.
Have you done that?
Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If no improvement using Safe Mode, do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
and
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

FuzzyCPU
 
Posts: 11
Joined: October 8th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 7:28 pm

DanRaisch wrote:If you are unable to launch Chrome and Firefox is crashing you should be running scans for malware on that system.
Have you done that?
Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If no improvement using Safe Mode, do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
and
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows


Thank you for the prompt response!

I have tried running in safe mode- no effect, still have crashes.
I have scanned multiple times for malware (I'm running/reinstalling a virus scanner as we speak) to confirm it, but that doesn't change anything.

I tried to create a new profile- and on clicking the 'create new profile' option.....
Crashed.

Also to clarify: Firefox had been crashing more and more often the day or two prior to clicking the link; I am still able to get into it and search; but not using the url bar or access the menu. Chrome crashes immediately upon launching.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117346
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 7:44 pm

When you reinstalled, did you completely delete the Firefox directories and install from a new download of the installer or simply overwrite the older installation?

Oh, and what security software is running on that system?

FuzzyCPU
 
Posts: 11
Joined: October 8th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2017, 8:04 pm

DanRaisch wrote:When you reinstalled, did you completely delete the Firefox directories and install from a new download of the installer or simply overwrite the older installation?

Oh, and what security software is running on that system?


Both, if I recall. I tried downloading a new installer and installing after uninstalling it, and tried installing AFTER deleting the entire directory from the program files.

Security software: Malware Bytes, CCleaner (if that counts,) and Spybot SD. And of course Windows Defender. Installed AVG just now to run a startup virus scan to make sure.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 1:12 am

forget and uninstall spybot, has ever had no fortune, only disadvantages.

sounds that your system has culprit, either windows broken or hardware broken.
try starting a repair with dism and sfc

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117346
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 4:43 am

1) If you must run Ccleaner, set it to NOT touch Firefox. There have been too many confirmed reports of it corrupting Firefox profiles.

2) You don't have Malware Bytes, Spybot SD and Windows Defender all running active scans at the same time, do you? That's not safe either.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17522
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 11:15 am

I can easily past the crash report

about:crashes, the last few crash report URLs?

Running Windows 10, and FF (x64)

What version of FF?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

FuzzyCPU
 
Posts: 11
Joined: October 8th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 11:21 am

DanRaisch wrote:1) If you must run Ccleaner, set it to NOT touch Firefox. There have been too many confirmed reports of it corrupting Firefox profiles.

2) You don't have Malware Bytes, Spybot SD and Windows Defender all running active scans at the same time, do you? That's not safe either.


1. I just set it to do so.

2. I only have windows defender/Spybot/CCleaner being active for passive monitoring.

therube wrote:
I can easily past the crash report

about:crashes, the last few crash report URLs?

Running Windows 10, and FF (x64)

What version of FF?


I can't click on the URL bar to get to about:crashes.

The most recent; downloaded from their webpage. I believe 56.0?

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2113
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 11:30 am

Copy/paste into the location bar and hit Enter: about:support

Next, go to the section called Crash Reports for the Last 3 Days. Click the link to open it and then right click each link and select Copy from tne menu. Then come back here and paste them one by one into your next post. The links just look like a random set of alpha-numeric characters by the way.

FuzzyCPU
 
Posts: 11
Joined: October 8th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 11:36 am

Reflective wrote:Copy/paste into the location bar and hit Enter: about:support

Next, go to the section called Crash Reports for the Last 3 Days. Click the link to open it and then right click each link and select Copy from tne menu. Then come back here and paste them one by one into your next post. The links just look like a random set of alpha-numeric characters by the way.


I am unable to click or otherwise edit the location bar. That is part of the problem. I can't access the past crash reports.
Is there an alternative way to access them? I can certainly copy the text in an email I get from each crash report generated.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52256
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 11:54 am


FuzzyCPU
 
Posts: 11
Joined: October 8th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 11:59 am

dickvl wrote:We only need the IDs of the crash report with a "bp-" prefix.



Ah! Got it!

Some examples of them (I hope this is what you mean) from the 'submitted' folder

Crash ID: bp-22c64fcc-d82f-485f-8aae-2f00c1171009
Crash ID: bp-15d8d573-c3c8-4f19-8478-800321171009
Crash ID: bp-db44da12-2974-4878-bb83-098ba0171006
Crash ID: bp-9a5e4d33-e95a-4649-a506-ce3d71171006
Crash ID: bp-981db52b-75ba-469b-99cb-a80851171006

There's a good 15 more. But those are the most recent

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 12:28 pm

all are
[@ OpenTypeGlyph::GetBoundingBox ]
dwrite.dll OpenTypeGlyph::GetBoundingBox()

-> "AMD Radeon Crimson Edition Graphics Driver 17.4.4 Hotfix"

its this driver.
maybe stepping back to latest v16 may help.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17522
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 12:32 pm

I believe 56.0?

56.0.1 talks about, "Block D3D11 when using Intel drivers on Windows 7 systems with partial AVX support", so see what you've got, & if not 56.0.1, then get that update & see if that changes anything? (Yes, it mentions Win7, you've got Win10...)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 22 guests