MozillaZine

56.0.1 (64-bit) update killed [only] eBay images

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Mozzied
 
Posts: 98
Joined: February 14th, 2007, 2:20 pm

Post Posted October 14th, 2017, 10:07 pm

eBay images will not load after the latest update. This is the case on their front page as well as listings page and individual item pages. No other sites are affected and the images load fine in Chrome.

I have:
cleared cache/cookies/history
checked permission/privacy/security settings, left them at default
disabled all add-ons

The odd thing is, when I did the above the first time, then reopened FF and went to eBay, images loaded. Ok, bingo, it must be an add-on conflict (I have some legacy ones). However, when I enabled add-ons and then checked eBay a few hours later, then performed the above steps again, images remain blocked; they won't load no matter what I try, I just get empty placeholders w/o error messages (except on individual item pages, where I get the "Image not available" message).

I've checked dozens of sites, including Amazon, other major etailers, YouTube, etc.., so it doesn't appear to be a Flash, CSS, JS issue. eBay permissions are set the same as with functional sites.

Mark12547
 
Posts: 175
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 11:36 am
Location: Oregon, United States, Earth

Post Posted October 14th, 2017, 10:30 pm

This has also hit me in Nightly.

If you want to wade through it, you can read https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1179883

For the time being, I'm using a suggestion posed there:

On the address bar, type about:config (and if asked, yes, I'll be careful)

In the preferences search bar, search for security.ssl.enable_ocsp_stapling

Then double-click on the security.ssl.enable_ocsp_stapling line to change it from True to False.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2013
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted October 14th, 2017, 10:45 pm

That was the problem. The pictures weren't getting stapled to the page.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10077
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted October 14th, 2017, 11:27 pm

LoveMyFoxy wrote:That was the problem. The pictures weren't getting stapled to the page.

LOL

This problem affects several sites that use the Akamai CDN. It's just that most of them don't load at all; it's weird that only one of eBay's servers is affected.

  • i.ebayimg.com => e5842.g.akamaiedge.net
  • www.cbssports.com => e5952.b.akamaiedge.net
  • tools.usps.com => e7154.dscb.akamaiedge.net
  • www.amazon.de => e15317.ci.akamaiedge.net
  • www.ask.com => e12353.b.akamaiedge.net
  • radar.weather.gov => e278.dscg.akamaiedge.net
  • www.allstate.com => e10996.x.akamaiedge.net

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3049
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 15th, 2017, 2:19 am

firefox 57 is showing pictures. may not helpful for now but its a foreview.
using some kind of adblocker/scriptblocker?

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11755
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted October 15th, 2017, 5:31 am

Some of it may be due to cross site scripting on one or more of the sites and blocked by Firefox or an extension. tools.usps postal site problem appears to be cross site scripting caused by double click. No problem with ask.com but surprised as that usually ahows as MCI dba Verizon not akamai.
Radar loaded without issue but ebay site i.ebayimg.com provided a "something wrong" page and suggested going to the home page which I tried which completed.

Mozzied
 
Posts: 98
Joined: February 14th, 2007, 2:20 pm

Post Posted October 15th, 2017, 10:01 am

Yep, server (or stapling based on server?) issue. When I checked this morning, images loaded, even with all my add-ons enabled, and I had not modified the config.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3049
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 15th, 2017, 10:41 am

its seems an OCSP error, i read it in german and it concerns ebay and amazon
https://www.camp-firefox.de/forum/viewt ... 8&t=122133

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10077
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted October 15th, 2017, 2:23 pm

All of the problem sites have certs signed by the "Symantec Class 3 Secure Server CA - G4" so I suspect a little hiccup in Symantec's infrastructure. But you probably need specialized tools to inspect the verification for yourself to see why Firefox doesn't like it.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests