MozillaZine

Missing search box

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
habanerocat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 17th, 2017, 5:34 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 5:47 am

No matter what I try I just can't get the search box onto the toolbar.

When I go into Menu - Customise, its there where I want it. But whe I "Exit Customise" it's gone again.
I've tried to restore defaults. That doesn't work.

I tried reloading Firefox three times.
Last time I deleted every file relating to "Mozilla" and "Firefox" on my PC.
I also cleared out any reference in the registry.
No luck.

I'm trying to reload Firefox after a clean Win 7 install after a hard drive failure.
Very annoying problem.....

Any ideas?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118690
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 5:52 am

Last time I deleted every file relating to "Mozilla" and "Firefox" on my PC.

Did that include deleting the profile folder?
Does the Windows user ID you are running when installing Firefox have administrator privileges?
What security software are you running on that system?

habanerocat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 17th, 2017, 5:34 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 6:11 am

DanRaisch wrote:
Last time I deleted every file relating to "Mozilla" and "Firefox" on my PC.

Did that include deleting the profile folder?
Does the Windows user ID you are running when installing Firefox have administrator privileges?
What security software are you running on that system?


Thanks for the quick reply.

Yes, I would have deleted the profile folder.
Yes, I am running as an administrator.
I am running Avast Free Antivirus.

Everything else about Firefox seems to be running fine.
Just can't understand this.

habanerocat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 17th, 2017, 5:34 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 6:48 am

Ok, It's working now.

I noticed when I was on the "Troubleshooting Information" page that there was a "Try Safe Mode" option.
I pressed this and it restarted with the search box intact.
So I did a Refresh and a reboot, and all is fine now.

As this is a new install I didn't have any add-ons or extensions loaded, so I don't really understand how it fixed itself.
All I can add is that after Win 7 new install the PC is doing a lot of updating.

So, many thanks.......

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118690
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 7:45 am

You're welcome. Thanks for reporting back.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3054
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 10:11 am

this could be causing the culprit
https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/a ... y/reviews/

it makes the search bar disappear - read reviews please

for the german audience:
https://www.camp-firefox.de/forum/viewt ... 7#p1052597


OMG mozilla wtf *** ](*,)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18321
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 8:33 pm

(Heh. A vocal crowd I'd say.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

8-bit

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 9:21 pm

Brummelchen wrote:this could be causing the culprit
https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/a ... y/reviews/

it makes the search bar disappear - read reviews please

Gotta love that review from "triwyn" - lmao

Sounds like a hit!

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52329
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 18th, 2017, 1:30 pm

Note that you can see installed shield studies on the about:studies page and have a button to disable individual studies.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/shield

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37986
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 12:13 am

MMMmm, sneaky, eh wot!?
Image

I think "they've" lost the plot.......somewhat.
Image

Wonder what "they'll" think up, next?
Image

We await with baited breath.
Image
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9121
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 5:03 am

#KeepFightingMichael

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37986
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 5:48 am

What's that you say?

A "paid for browser"?

Just to get a few "extra" features.

No thank you!
Image
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 484
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 6:53 am

To everybody who thinks that Mozilla may have forced the Shield Studies on them :

You may have volunteered for this Mozilla experiment, called 'Shield studies' ......

See :

Options => Privacy & Security => under 'Data Collection and Use' :

Did you UNcheck : 'Allow Firefox to install and run studies ' ?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37986
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 7:01 am

I think you are missing the whole point, Happy12.
It should be an "Opt In" option, NOT an "Opt-out" one.
Plus, it should be in plain sight, not hidden away in the Options.
Just my humble opinion.
:)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 484
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 7:11 am

LIMPET235 wrote:I think you are missing the whole point, Happy12.
It should be an "Opt In" option, NOT an "Opt-out" one.

You have the option right there in Privacy & Security .......

Plus, it should be in plain sight, not hidden away in the Options.



Options is 'hidden' in your opinion ?

If a dumbbell like me could find it right away : anybody can .....

I've even posted the video here that guigs (Mozilla Adminitsrator) made that explained everything about the changes between Preferences 55 => Preferences 56.
Last edited by Happy112 on October 20th, 2017, 2:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests