MozillaZine

Why https?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
wright76878
 
Posts: 691
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 8:05 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 3:16 pm

I've noticed lately that I have to have https on many of my links instead of http or they won't connect. When did this change?

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2611
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 4:23 pm

when server admin decided to change on SSL protocol - nothing you can change!

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4424
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 4:25 pm

I've not typed in http:// or https:// for years... you really don't need to enter that just start with the main-domain.com ,.org , .net etc...

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16481
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 4:51 pm

You'll be seeing this more and more. Search engines are starting to give sites that do not support secure (i.e. https) connections lower positions in their search results. As a result many sites are jumping through hoops to get their sites upgraded to support https.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF 52.4.0 ESR (64bit), TB 52.3.0 (32bit)║ Android 7.0/7.1.1: FF 57..0, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 5 guests