MozillaZine

Enterprise Install

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
bman304
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 6:29 am

Post Posted October 23rd, 2017, 6:39 am

I am trying to install Firefox version 52.3 with SCCM 2012 and not have it prompt the users with questions when they open it for the first time. I have configuration files set up and everything works with the exception of the home page which is locked and the end users can't change. It is blank. The buttons to change it are greyed out. These are the settings in the Mozilla.cfg and local-settings.js files. How do I get it so that the end users can make changes to the home page?

// Any comment. You must start the file with a comment!

// Disable updater
lockPref("app.update.enabled", false);
// make absolutely sure it is really off
lockPref("app.update.auto", false);
lockPref("app.update.mode", 0);
lockPref("app.update.service.enabled", false);

// Disable Add-ons compatibility checking
clearPref("extensions.lastAppVersion");

// Don't show 'know your rights' on first run
pref("browser.rights.3.shown", true);

// Don't show WhatsNew on first run after every update
pref("browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone","ignore");

// Set default homepage - users can change
// Requires a complex preference
defaultPref("browser.startup.homepage","data:text/plain,browser.startup.homepage=http://www.google.com");

// Disable the internal PDF viewer
pref("pdfjs.disabled", true);

// Disable the flash to javascript converter
pref("shumway.disabled", true);

// Don't ask to install the Flash plugin
pref("plugins.notifyMissingFlash", false);

//Disable plugin checking
lockPref("plugins.hide_infobar_for_outdated_plugin", true);
clearPref("plugins.update.url");

// Disable health reporter
lockPref("datareporting.healthreport.service.enabled", false);

// Disable all data upload (Telemetry and FHR)
lockPref("datareporting.policy.dataSubmissionEnabled", false);

// Disable crash reporter
lockPref("toolkit.crashreporter.enabled", false);
Components.classes["@mozilla.org/toolkit/crash-reporter;1"].getService(Components.interfaces.nsICrashReporter).submitReports = false;


local-settings.js file
pref("general.config.filename", "mozilla.cfg");
pref("general.config.obscure_value", 0);

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2201
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 6:21 am

I'm not familiar with SCCM 2012, but the following tutorial might help you achieve your goal: https://prajwaldesai.com/deploying-appl ... m-2012-r2/

The home page where that came from is this one: https://prajwaldesai.com/sccm-2012-r2-s ... tep-guide/

The author also maintains a support site if nobody else responds on mozillazine: https://prajwaldesai.com/community/

bman304
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 6:29 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 1:23 pm

Thanks but I can get it deployed with SCCM but when Firefox is installed I can't get Firefox set to a homepage. It can't be changed from a blank homepage. No matter what I set the configuration files to in the deployment package.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52279
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 2:32 pm

I don't see any setting in mozilla.cfg for the home page apart from setting the default.
defaultPref("browser.startup.homepage","data:text/plain,browser.startup.homepage=http://www.google.com");

The default only is used if there isn't a user_pref in the current prefs.js file set.

Do you mean that this default isn't working?

There is a special pref (browser.startup.page) to set what Firefox shows on startup.

bman304
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 6:29 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 2:38 pm

The default homepage google.com will not set as the home page. I didn't want any startup page just want it to be set to a defined page that the end user can set and change. Right now after the install the homepage is set to about:blank and it can't be changed, even the buttons to change it are greyed out in the settings after the install.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52279
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 3:43 pm

How do these browser.startup prefs show on the about:config page?
Do they show as locked?

Did you check if there is a mozilla.cfg file in the Firefox installation folder?

bman304
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 6:29 am

Post Posted October 25th, 2017, 6:23 am

In the about:config page it shows startup page as being locked however all tabs are locked. Below is the settings
browser.startup.firstrunSkipsHomepage default Boolean false
browser.startup.homepage locked string about:blank
browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone user set string ignore
pref.browser.homepage.disable_button.current_page user set booleen false
services.sync.prefs.sync.browser.startup.homepage default booleen true
startup.homepage_overide_url default string
startup.homepage_welcome_url default string

Here is the Mozilla.cfg from the install folder
// WKS Mozilla Firefox Lockdown
// Disable updater
lockPref("app.update.enabled", false);
// Make absolutely sure it is really off
lockPref("app.update.auto", false);
lockPref("app.update.mode", 0);
lockPref("app.update.service.enabled", false);
// Disable Add-ons compatibility checking
clearPref("extensions.lastAppVersion");
// Don't show 'know your rights' on first run
pref("browser.rights.3.shown", true);
// Don't show WhatsNew on first run after every update
pref("browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone","ignore");
// Don't show Windows 10 splash screen on first run
pref("browser.usedOnWindows10", true);
// Set default homepage
lockPref("browser.startup.homepage","about:blank");
// Disable the internal PDF viewer
lockPref("pdfjs.disabled", true);
// Disable the flash to javascript converter
lockPref("shumway.disabled", true);
// Don't ask to install the Flash plugin
pref("plugins.notifyMissingFlash", false);
// Disable plugin checking
lockPref("plugins.hide_infobar_for_outdated_plugin", true);
clearPref("plugins.update.url");
// Disable health reporter
lockPref("datareporting.healthreport.service.enabled", false);
// Disable all data upload (Telemetry and FHR)
lockPref("datareporting.policy.dataSubmissionEnabled", false);
// Disable crash reporter
lockPref("toolkit.crashreporter.enabled", false);
Components.classes["@mozilla.org/toolkit/crash-reporter;1"].getService(Components.interfaces.nsICrashReporter).submitReports = false;
// Disable default browser check
lockPref("browser.shell.checkDefaultBrowser", false);
// Delete history on exit
lockPref("browser.history_expire_days", 0);
lockPref("browser.history_expire_days.mirror", 0);
lockPref("browser.formfill.enable", false);
lockPref("browser.download.manager.retention", 0);
lockPref("network.cookie.cookieBehavior", 0);
lockPref("network.cookie.lifetimePolicy", 2);
// Disable password manager
lockPref("signon.rememberSignons", false);
lockPref("pref.privacy.disable_button.view_passwords", true);
// Disable themes
lockPref("config.lockdown.disable_themes", true);
// Enable Java Plugin
lockPref("security.enable_java", true);
// Automatically enable extensions
lockPref("extensions.autoDisableScopes", 0);

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52279
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 25th, 2017, 5:43 pm

I see:
Code: Select all
// Set default homepage
lockPref("browser.startup.homepage","about:blank");

bman304
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 6:29 am

Post Posted October 26th, 2017, 4:13 am

Yes that is correct. That is on the client that Firefox was installed on however if you look at the first post the mozilla.cfg file is set to have the homepage as google.com and defPref which I believe is to allow the end user to change the home page.
Do you know why when it gets installed that those settings are not getting enforced?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: flimbo, Google [Bot] and 16 guests