MozillaZine

Firefox 57

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
pepegot1
 
Posts: 293
Joined: December 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 2:36 pm

I have the ESR version installed. Is it possible to run 57 independently of the ESR version without conflict? Thus, I could try it out and hopefully switch in the future.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22152
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 3:13 pm

I think that the answer is yes... but what I did long ago is use the portable version of Firefox plus I also installed the portable manager app... it works fine.

PortableApps.com - Portable software for USB, portable, and cloud drives

What I did was install the above app then using it I brought down Firefox and other neat tools.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 3:19 pm

Yes you can, just make sure they are using separate profiles. I have ESR installed and launch it with a Shortcut like:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox ESR\firefox.exe" -p "esr" -no-remote

If ESR is your default, then make a separate one for 57.

"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" -p "57default" -no-remote

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/pr ... x-profiles

When you install 57, just don't let it run the first time as it will use your default profile and muck it up. Create the profile for it and make the shortcut first. Or, I guess what you could do is create a new profile called "57default" first and make it the default. Then install 57 and it will use that new default profile. Then go back into profile manager and make your previous profile the default again so that ESR uses it again and make a shortcut for 57 to use its specific profile.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52285
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 7:34 pm

Note that you can't open external links in a Firefox instance that is opened with the -no-remote command line switch.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Opening_a_new ... er_profile
https://developer.mozilla.org/Mozilla/M ... x_Profiles

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 31974
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 8:34 pm

And if you use the installer version of Firefox (rather than the Portable version as Doug posted about) the "last installed' version will "hold the keys" in the Windows Registry as the "Default Browser" if you set Firefox as the "Default Browser" in Windows.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22152
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 25th, 2017, 8:12 am

rather than the Portable version as Doug posted about

Who's Doug? :lol: :-"
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests