MozillaZine

FF57 Multi-row tabs?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
DavidGB
 
Posts: 27
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 5:25 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 1:09 pm

Up until the update to FF57, if I had too many tabs open for the width of the browser window, the tab bar would start a second row of tabs. Now it doesn't - I just get arrows at either end to scroll the tabs in view.

I do not like this ... and I can't remember if I ever did or had to do something to the earlier FF to give me a multi row tab bar. Does anyone know a way to get FF57 t0 go to a multi-row tab bar rather than a single row with scroll arrows?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17738
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 1:39 pm

the tab bar would start a second row of tabs

Check your extensions, find the disabled one that did that, then reminisce how things used to be.

know a way to get FF57 t0 go to a multi-row tab bar

I wouldn't know if that can be done with CSS or not?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Vitesse
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: April 21st, 2011, 6:03 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 1:43 pm

It was an option in TabMixPlus, which is - at present - legacy. Multi-row does seem to be the most popular request on the TMP forum ...

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10234
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 1:56 pm

.
TabMixPlus is being ported to WebX for FF57. Do not know when it will be released or if that option is included.

.
FF 57.0 - FF 58b4 - Palemoon 27.3.0 - TB 52.4 - Mac OSX 10.13.1
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2017

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1176
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 3:30 pm


carolgot1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 1:35 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 3:47 pm

Try this:

#personal-bookmarks {
display: block;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar {
display: block;
min-height: 0px;
overflow-x: hidden;
overflow-y: auto;
max-height: 999px;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar > hbox {
display: -moz-stack !important;
left: 0px;
right: 0px;
width: 100%;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar #PlacesToolbarItems {
overflow-x: visible;
overflow-y: visible;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar #PlacesToolbarItems > box {
display: block;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar > .bookmark-item{
visibility: visible !important;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar .chevron{
display: none;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar > hbox > hbox{
overflow-x: hidden;
overflow-y: hidden;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar #PlacesToolbarDropIndicator[collapsed="true"],
#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar #PlacesToolbarDropIndicator{
display: none;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar toolbarbutton.bookmark-item{
padding-top: 2px;
padding-bottom: 2px;
/*margin-left: -4px !important;
padding-right: 9.5px !important;*/
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar toolbarbutton.bookmark-item:hover:active:not([disabled="true"]),
#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar toolbarbutton.bookmark-item[open="true"] {
padding-top: 2px !important;
padding-bottom: 2px !important;
/*-moz-padding-start: 4px;
-moz-padding-end: 2px;*/
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar toolbarseparator{
-moz-appearance: none !important;
visibility: visible !important;
display: inline;
text-shadow: none !important;
border-left: 3px solid ThreeDShadow !important;
border-right: 3px solid ThreeDHighlight !important;
vertical-align: middle;
}

#personal-bookmarks toolbarbutton.bookmark-item[dragover][open]{
-moz-appearance: toolbarbutton;
}

#navigator-toolbox toolbar:not(#nav-bar):not(#toolbar-menubar):not(#TabsToolbar) {
max-height: 999px !important;
}

DavidGB
 
Posts: 27
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 5:25 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 4:14 pm

therube wrote:
the tab bar would start a second row of tabs

Check your extensions, find the disabled one that did that, then reminisce how things used to be.

know a way to get FF57 t0 go to a multi-row tab bar

I wouldn't know if that can be done with CSS or not?


What an incredibly unhelpful, uncalled for and pointless post

DavidGB
 
Posts: 27
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 5:25 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 4:20 pm

Vitesse and RobertJ

Ah, it was TabMixPlus that gave me that. Thanks. It's so long since I installed and configured it (and no reason ever to go back and change the configuration) I had no memory of what it actually did for me versus what was just native FF.

I'll know to keep an eye out for its WebExtensions port.

Thanks.

DavidGB
 
Posts: 27
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 5:25 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 4:27 pm

MarkRH and carolgot1,

Thanks for trying, but those all appear to be about having a multiline bookmarks bar. I'm after a multiline (when necessary) TAB bar.

Sadly, while I learned to write raw HTML back in the 90s, I never learned css.

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1176
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 6:00 pm

DavidGB wrote:MarkRH and carolgot1,

Thanks for trying, but those all appear to be about having a multiline bookmarks bar. I'm after a multiline (when necessary) TAB bar.

Sadly, while I learned to write raw HTML back in the 90s, I never learned css.


Ahhhh.. my bad, misread post I guess LOL.

BreezyOhio
 
Posts: 26
Joined: March 28th, 2008, 12:20 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 2:23 pm

I have to say that it's been Tab Mix Plus (TMP) that has also kept me in the Firefox corner, though day in and day out I have Chrome open for my Google business account stuff (considerable) and FF open with 200 plus tabs on an ongoing basis.

Before I upgraded to 57 (and it is a great upgrade) I used a FF add on that checks my extensions. They all came up green. Sadly it turns out that they had nothing to do with running in the new 57 build. After I updated I found very few plugins and nothing anywhere near any functionality of TMP. That is extremely frustrating but the speed and smoothness of 57 cannot be denied .. it's amazing and far faster than when I use Chrome. It sure looks to be a helll of a great foundation.

The weirdest part though is that FF now manages memory so well that a browser window with 1 tab is no faster (IMO) than one with 200 tabs, though I am sure a full startup load is slower. So the new FF gives users plenty of horsepower to use tabs to their maximum but a UI that seriously hampers working with all those tabs. It makes no sense to the target market. FF simply has to get the minimums of tab management back in the product. Multi rows is a basic. Also what's with the tabs being black? Really stupid on that count but a theme fixes that problem. The lack of any real tab options in the base build may indicate to me that it might be a while for the FF developers to even get the hooks in place for FF to accept these options like I love in TMP.

I am waiting for TMP on 57 and above and staying with 57 for now. The performance is just too great to resist for the time being. I am using All Tabs Helper right now and using the dropdown list to manage tab switching and I'm expanding my browser to full screen sometimes too. I am using Foxy Tabs too. While these will never replace TMP I am getting by and enjoying amazing performance otherwise.

Ed1
 
Posts: 827
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 4:19 pm

carolgot1 wrote:Try this:

#personal-bookmarks {
display: block;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar {
display: block;
min-height: 0px;
overflow-x: hidden;
overflow-y: auto;
max-height: 999px;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar > hbox {
display: -moz-stack !important;
left: 0px;
right: 0px;
width: 100%;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar #PlacesToolbarItems {
overflow-x: visible;
overflow-y: visible;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar #PlacesToolbarItems > box {
display: block;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar > .bookmark-item{
visibility: visible !important;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar .chevron{
display: none;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar > hbox > hbox{
overflow-x: hidden;
overflow-y: hidden;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar #PlacesToolbarDropIndicator[collapsed="true"],
#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar #PlacesToolbarDropIndicator{
display: none;
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar toolbarbutton.bookmark-item{
padding-top: 2px;
padding-bottom: 2px;
/*margin-left: -4px !important;
padding-right: 9.5px !important;*/
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar toolbarbutton.bookmark-item:hover:active:not([disabled="true"]),
#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar toolbarbutton.bookmark-item[open="true"] {
padding-top: 2px !important;
padding-bottom: 2px !important;
/*-moz-padding-start: 4px;
-moz-padding-end: 2px;*/
}

#personal-bookmarks #PlacesToolbar toolbarseparator{
-moz-appearance: none !important;
visibility: visible !important;
display: inline;
text-shadow: none !important;
border-left: 3px solid ThreeDShadow !important;
border-right: 3px solid ThreeDHighlight !important;
vertical-align: middle;
}

#personal-bookmarks toolbarbutton.bookmark-item[dragover][open]{
-moz-appearance: toolbarbutton;
}

#navigator-toolbox toolbar:not(#nav-bar):not(#toolbar-menubar):not(#TabsToolbar) {
max-height: 999px !important;
}



Carolgot1, thanks for this code! I've been trying to reproduce MultiRow Bookmarks Toolbar and this code is partially good. This works, sort of, but doesn't include all of my many Bookmarks Toolbar entries. In order not to hijack this thread, I will open another.

r4zen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Today, 5:19 am

Post Posted Today, 5:20 am

DavidGB wrote:Up until the update to FF57, if I had too many tabs open for the width of the browser window, the tab bar would start a second row of tabs. Now it doesn't - I just get arrows at either end to scroll the tabs in view.

I do not like this ... and I can't remember if I ever did or had to do something to the earlier FF to give me a multi row tab bar. Does anyone know a way to get FF57 t0 go to a multi-row tab bar rather than a single row with scroll arrows?

I did few codes modifications, now Multi Rows Tabs should work fine, without bugs (even if you pin tabs, move/drag window, scroll between tabs e.t.c.):
Code: Select all
#tabbrowser-tabs .tabbrowser-arrowscrollbox,
#tabbrowser-tabs .arrowscrollbox-scrollbox {
    display: block;
}

.scrollbutton-up,
.arrowscrollbox-overflow-start-indicator,
.scrollbutton-down,
.arrowscrollbox-overflow-end-indicator {
  display: none !important;
}

#tabbrowser-tabs .arrowscrollbox-scrollbox .scrollbox-innerbox {
    display: flex;
    flex-wrap: wrap;
    /*
    display: block;
    */
    overflow-y: auto !important;
    min-height: var(--tab-min-height); /* default */
    max-height: calc(5*var(--tab-min-height)) !important;
}
#tabbrowser-tabs .tabbrowser-tab:not([pinned]) {
    flex-grow: 1;
    flex-wrap:wrap;
    min-width: 150px;
    vertical-align: bottom !important;
}
#tabbrowser-tabs .tabbrowser-tab,
#tabbrowser-tabs .tabbrowser-tab .tab-stack .tab-background {
    height: var(--tab-min-height);
}

#tabbrowser-tabs .tabbrowser-tab .tab-stack {
    width: 100%;
}

#titlebar-buttonbox {
 display: block !important;
 vertical-align: top !important;
}

fxfan313
 
Posts: 311
Joined: November 2nd, 2005, 4:12 am

Post Posted Today, 6:52 am

Thank you very much, r4zen.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fxfan313, Google [Bot], Luna C and 20 guests