MozillaZine

(Resolved) Firefox 57 doesn't play YouTube videos

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Le1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: May 8th, 2011, 8:39 am

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 5:53 am

New Firefox Quantum doesn't play YouTube videos. It pops a message: your browser doesn't recognize the HTML5 format.

Thank you for replays. It was a faulty add-on. Problem solved.
Last edited by Le1 on November 25th, 2017, 3:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119417
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 6:50 am


Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 485
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 7:52 am

In addition to the above :

In case you have any (YouYube) video related add-ons :

Would you please disable them and see if that will make a difference ?

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10546
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 8:45 am

.
FF57 plays YouTube videos for me using the native HTML5 player. Any particular video URL?

.
FF 60.0.1 - FF 61b7 - FF 62a - Palemoon 27.8.1 - TB 52.7 - Mac OSX 10.13.4
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

8-bit

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 5:19 pm

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 1:18 pm

Le1 wrote:New Firefox Quantum doesn't play YouTube videos. It pops a message: your browser doesn't recognize the HTML5 format.

Try going into preferences and disabling hardware acceleration (General > Performance). I believe this has worked - saw it in another thread. Lemme know.

choi_choi
 
Posts: 40
Joined: May 28th, 2014, 5:32 pm

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 2:57 pm

I have a similar problem -- some "live" videos aren't loading. Sky News and Bloomberg for examples:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOacA3RYrXk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ga3maNZ0x0w

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10546
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 3:02 pm

.
Both of those work for me. I had to click the play arrow in the lower left, the large one in the middle did nothing.

.
FF 60.0.1 - FF 61b7 - FF 62a - Palemoon 27.8.1 - TB 52.7 - Mac OSX 10.13.4
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 804
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 3:03 pm

RobertJ wrote:.
Both of those work for me. I had to click the play arrow in the lower left, the large one in the middle did nothing.

.



Same/similar for me.

ZanePhalen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: January 29th, 2015, 12:24 pm

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 5:10 pm

I also can't get videos to play on youtube anymore. However, what I am seeing is the interface loading but the video does not load. Instead all I get is the circular line that keeps on going around and around. This just happened this afternoon. Yesterday, or a couple of days ago, everything worked fine. I've change nothing since upgrading to Ver. 57 (now Ver 58.0b6, 64 bit). I am not getting any error messages.

I briefly reverted to an older version of Firefox and the videos played just fine. Then I went ahead and upgraded again, videos would not work.

I did read the suggested fixes and articles in this post but I still can't put my finger on the problem. None of the solutions seem to fit my particular problem.

8-bit

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 5:19 pm

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 5:36 pm

Just to double check, go to about:config and check these two prefs:

media peerconnection.enabled - TRUE
media.peerconnection.video.enabled - TRUE

A little obscure, but best to check just in case.... If they aren't true you will get the YouTube continuous spinning circle but the video never plays....

elist74
 
Posts: 62
Joined: June 27th, 2013, 11:27 am

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 5:42 pm

check also if media.autoplay.enabled is set to false "True" is the default

If you have a flash/html5 switcher, it have to be set at Html5

edits: "True" is the default

ZanePhalen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: January 29th, 2015, 12:24 pm

Post Posted November 24th, 2017, 6:37 pm

Update:

Looks like my problem was caused by not checking the correct elements via the new version of Noscript. Once I did that everything is back to normal.
Last edited by DanRaisch on November 25th, 2017, 5:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: "Resolved" added to subject per OP's most recent update.

bam80
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 27th, 2017, 4:55 am

Post Posted November 27th, 2017, 5:01 am

ZanePhalen wrote:I also can't get videos to play on youtube anymore. However, what I am seeing is the interface loading but the video does not load. Instead all I get is the circular line that keeps on going around and around. This just happened this afternoon. Yesterday, or a couple of days ago, everything worked fine. I've change nothing since upgrading to Ver. 57 (now Ver 58.0b6, 64 bit). I am not getting any error messages.

Have the same behaviour - can see video frame by frame by moving the spinner, but can't start the video - the circular line just spinning around.
Reset Settings, Safe Mode, turning of HW Accel didn't help.
Don't know what to try else.. ](*,)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18562
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 28th, 2017, 1:32 pm

As a test, create a new, clean Profile, then load your video.
What happens?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

bam80
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 27th, 2017, 4:55 am

Post Posted December 22nd, 2017, 7:10 am

therube wrote:As a test, create a new, clean Profile, then load your video.
What happens?
Hi therube,
just removed .mozilla folder - no changes. Video still hangs.
PS: restarted browser of course.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests