MozillaZine

Google Maps Street View spinning in FF 57

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
moz2u
 
Posts: 125
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 8:38 pm

Bizarre designers. Why they wouldn't put that clearly visible is a mystery. In modern technology its all there but you spend half your life just finding it because the designers didn't seem to have the communication capacity to tell you where these wonderful tidbits are. A mysterious world we live in.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10390
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 7:24 am

28 Nov 2017 RobertJ wrote:.
Are you using Google Lite or the full Maps?

28 Nov 2017 moz2u wrote:How do you tell the difference between Lite and full maps? I'm on maps.google.com and maps.google.ca and both exhibit the exact same behavior. Can further suggestions only be made only by people that have actually experienced this problem....

If you weren't such an a** you would have had the answer three days ago. #-o

.
FF 57.0.4 - FF 58b16 - Palemoon 27.6.2 - TB 52.5.2 - Mac OSX 10.13.2
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

moz2u
 
Posts: 125
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 8:32 am

> There are numerous issues with Google maps (at maps.google.com) that I have seen

I wonder if its just smarter to use Chrome with Google Maps?
Hangouts refuses to work with Firefox 57 so far. Sometimes it just seems like we're swimming up a river. Chrome isn't that bad but obviously we all prefer to use just one browser. But it isn't realistic to assume one program is going to do everything well. Plus, as Google Maps is designed by Google its natural to assume their browser might be a better fit. I do find YouTube works fine in Firefox 57 though.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118376
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 8:33 am

I do find YouTube works fine in Firefox 57 though.

And we're finding no problems with Google Maps under Firefox 57 either.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10390
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 8:39 am

.
Google full maps works fine in FF57 if you turn off Hardware Acceleration and your computer has 8G of RAM or more and is not too old.

.
FF 57.0.4 - FF 58b16 - Palemoon 27.6.2 - TB 52.5.2 - Mac OSX 10.13.2
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

moz2u
 
Posts: 125
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 9:26 am

DanRaisch wrote:
I do find YouTube works fine in Firefox 57 though.

And we're finding no problems with Google Maps under Firefox 57 either.


I should make clear that Google Maps seems to be perfect except for navigating in Street View with the Left/Right arrow keys after you've moved the focus on the screen by dragging it a bit with the mouse cursor.

I'm using a 1.8ghz dual core with 2gb 800mhz ram and it sometimes crashes, usually when a page is loading with a browser (latest Chrome or Firefox). Hardware Acceleration settings didn't seem to improve this problem with Google Maps. Being that its older and slow what would be a recommended setting for Hardware Acceleration?

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10390
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 9:34 am

moz2u wrote:Being that its older and slow what would be a recommended setting for Hardware Acceleration?


OFF

.
FF 57.0.4 - FF 58b16 - Palemoon 27.6.2 - TB 52.5.2 - Mac OSX 10.13.2
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

moz2u
 
Posts: 125
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 11:25 am

RobertJ wrote:
moz2u wrote:Being that its older and slow what would be a recommended setting for Hardware Acceleration?


OFF

.


Done.
What about Content Process Limit? It goes from 1 to 7.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10390
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 1st, 2017, 11:41 am

.
Would need a WIN person to chime in on that with the hardware you have; or, you could experiment.

.
FF 57.0.4 - FF 58b16 - Palemoon 27.6.2 - TB 52.5.2 - Mac OSX 10.13.2
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37866
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 4:47 am

moz2u wrote:
RobertJ wrote:
moz2u wrote:Being that its older and slow what would be a recommended setting for Hardware Acceleration?


OFF

.


Done.
What about Content Process Limit? It goes from 1 to 7.


Hi,
Go to > Tools > Options > General > Performance.
UN-check > "Use recommended......."
This will give you a link "Learn More."
Click it & all will be explained.
If you have a slow computer, then leave it set at the default.
If you have a fast computer, then try upping the # of processes.
These will show up in the Task Manager.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

moz2u
 
Posts: 125
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 8:56 am

So who should set it at 1? People with really slow computers? How to test this? What about just leaving Hardware Acceleration unchecked?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 12 guests