MozillaZine

Can't see or downlaod motherboard drivers from ASUS website

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
ghot

User avatar
 
Posts: 132
Joined: August 10th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 12:10 am

For some reason I don't see the motherboard drivers list, that I should be seeing. I only seem to have this problem on ASUS's website.

I try to go here: https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/PRIME-Z370-A/HelpDesk_Download/, choose an OS, then I used to see a list of motherboard driver downloads, now I see nothing.

I'm running Win 7 64 bit and Firefox 52.5.0 ESR.

I used to be able to see the driver download list at ASUS.

/e I asked other folks if they could see it...and they can.
AMD FX-8350 CPU, Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO (push/pull), ASUS Sabertooth 990fx R2.0 motherboard, 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866Mhz, EVGA TITAN (SC), WD 500GB Velociraptor, 2x WD 2TB Black, DELL U3011 monitor, Cooler Master ATCS 840 case, Win 7 Home Premium x64, Firefox 57.0.4 (x64)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118376
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 5:03 am

Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2280
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 5:14 am

I tested the site on FF ESR 52.5 and as you can see from the screenshot, the site loads just fine. https://imgbox.com/tNLSFDq0

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11696
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 7:24 am

Had no issues going around the entire site and searching with various blockers enabled.
The site does not drop a page however when going to a link or search page.
If you closed a preceding page it might be why a second page might not open.
No Login seemed necessary for basic stuff but you might need to create an account using your board specs.
I seem to remember having to do something like a registration process for the most recent for my board..

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2853
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 7:30 am

asus pages are either slow or critical to blocked scripts and popups.

ghot

User avatar
 
Posts: 132
Joined: August 10th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 3:40 pm

I know the site works fine. I said that in the OP.


About 3 weeks ago, I tried FF 57, didn't like it, and uninstalled it. I also removed all instances of Mozilla from my C: drive
Then I installed FF 52.5.0 ESR, and everything works fine...except one site, and only part of that site. Namely the drivers download page.

I do have an account there and even logged in and tried that. Something is blocking that one page. I can even go to the BIOS files and see all them.
But the drivers page won't show me the drivers and their download links.

I only use two extensions, namely NoScript and Classic Theme Restorer. NoScript is set to allow the whole page.




/e Same problem in safe mode. Entire rest of the site works.
AMD FX-8350 CPU, Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO (push/pull), ASUS Sabertooth 990fx R2.0 motherboard, 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866Mhz, EVGA TITAN (SC), WD 500GB Velociraptor, 2x WD 2TB Black, DELL U3011 monitor, Cooler Master ATCS 840 case, Win 7 Home Premium x64, Firefox 57.0.4 (x64)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 8:33 pm

As a test, create a new, clean Profile & confirm that the site works.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43363
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 8:46 pm

Yep Noscript can be painful
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

ghot

User avatar
 
Posts: 132
Joined: August 10th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 9:15 pm

therube wrote:As a test, create a new, clean Profile & confirm that the site works.


I completely uninstalled FF 52.5.0 ESR and ALL it's associated files, then reinstalled it clean.

I'm beginning to think it may have been when I uninstalled FF 52.5.0 ESR, installed FF 57 tried it out...and then uninstalled it, completely, and reinstalled FF 52.5.0 ESR.

I never had the problem before I did that. Unfortunately, right before I did that, I also did some Win 7 security only updates.
I do have a Acronis backup from October 7th, before I did any of this. Maybe I'll try that tomorrow. :/



/e

malliz wrote:Yep Noscript can be painful


Yeah, I thought of that, but running in safe mode, I still had the problem. Just that one site. Lol
AMD FX-8350 CPU, Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO (push/pull), ASUS Sabertooth 990fx R2.0 motherboard, 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866Mhz, EVGA TITAN (SC), WD 500GB Velociraptor, 2x WD 2TB Black, DELL U3011 monitor, Cooler Master ATCS 840 case, Win 7 Home Premium x64, Firefox 57.0.4 (x64)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 10:07 pm

Yesterday, I happened to have a similar issue on HP's website when I went to download drivers.

The site automatically detected my setup, & there were "OS" & "version" dialog boxes too, & while the dropdowns in those boxes worked, "selecting" them resulted in no action occurring, & I refreshed the page & tried again, & again. The same.

Then I opened a new window, & loaded the page, & it it worked. No idea why.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

ghot

User avatar
 
Posts: 132
Joined: August 10th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Post Posted December 8th, 2017, 4:09 am

I'm on FF 52.5.2 and I still can't get the driver page at ASUS's site to work. The whole rest of the site works fine.
I have the same problem in safe mode.

I tired both 32 and 64 bit versions and totally clean installs...no help. No problems on any other site.
AMD FX-8350 CPU, Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO (push/pull), ASUS Sabertooth 990fx R2.0 motherboard, 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866Mhz, EVGA TITAN (SC), WD 500GB Velociraptor, 2x WD 2TB Black, DELL U3011 monitor, Cooler Master ATCS 840 case, Win 7 Home Premium x64, Firefox 57.0.4 (x64)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 12th, 2017, 11:05 am

uninstalled FF 52.5.0 ESR and ALL it's associated files

Did that include your Profile files?

Does IE work on that site for you?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

ghot

User avatar
 
Posts: 132
Joined: August 10th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Post Posted December 13th, 2017, 12:51 am

Yeah, all files associated with Firefox.

As for IE I don't use it and it is disabled. But everyone else, on FF, Chrome, IE etc, can access the site's driver list and downloads.
I can access the entire site, even the lists and downloads of all other motherboard related files and documents. It's just the motherboard drivers lists and files that I can't access. I choose the OS and the site does absolutely nothing. It doesn't freeze, it just does nothing.

The icon on the tab should turn into a revolving circle, this does not happen. With all other parts of the site, no issues at all.


Here is the link. I picked an older motherboard this time, just in case it was a modern CPU related issue...as I don't have a modern CPU.

https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/SABERTOOTH_990FX_R20/HelpDesk_Download/
AMD FX-8350 CPU, Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO (push/pull), ASUS Sabertooth 990fx R2.0 motherboard, 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1866Mhz, EVGA TITAN (SC), WD 500GB Velociraptor, 2x WD 2TB Black, DELL U3011 monitor, Cooler Master ATCS 840 case, Win 7 Home Premium x64, Firefox 57.0.4 (x64)

Lnwdz
 
Posts: 155
Joined: June 12th, 2012, 7:59 am

Post Posted December 13th, 2017, 8:58 am

It fails for me if tracking protection is enabled. Googletagmanager.com gets blocked, which somehow breaks the driver list.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 13th, 2017, 10:32 am

Good find.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests