MozillaZine

FF 57.0 reuses tab instead of opening new tab

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mms
 
Posts: 86
Joined: March 9th, 2007, 9:47 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 6:49 am

greetings

FF57 keeps opening links in current tab instead of switching to a new tab.
Tools Options settings = [X] Open new windows in a new tab instead
[X] When you open a link in a new tab, switch to it immediately

Prior FF opened new tabs but FF57 reuses tabs. How do I fix this?

Merci d'avance!

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19722
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 7:00 am

mms wrote:Tools Options settings = [X] Open new windows in a new tab instead

This setting means that if the link is meant to open a new window, it will open a new tab instead.

Prior FF opened new tabs but FF57 reuses tabs. How do I fix this?

I'm not seeing any change in how links open here. Maybe you have an extension causing the problem? Try Firefox in safe mode to see if things work the way you would expect.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

mms
 
Posts: 86
Joined: March 9th, 2007, 9:47 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 7:33 am

Open in new tab instead is EXACTLY what I want to happen and did prior to FF57.
I shouldn't have to remember to right-click menu just to get pre-FF57 functionality.

Safe mode sometimes opens new tab, sometimes same tab. I have very few working extensions in FF57. Anyone having problems with AdBlock Plus, Ghostery, NoScript?

My 2 other add-ons stay dormant till actually clicked: Print Edit WE, Take Screenshots Entirely - Fireshot.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 8:01 am

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ab-domain/
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... h-new-tab/

new tabs from bookmarks and search:
about:config

browser.search.openintab <- true
browser.tabs.loadBookmarksInTabs <- true

mms
 
Posts: 86
Joined: March 9th, 2007, 9:47 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 6:39 pm

I'll try the Open Link in New Tab add-on. That may do what earlier versions of FF did with links encountered in articles, email messages, other web pages etc.

Still surprised the current option to open links in new tab instead of new window doesn't do this.

Thank you.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9198
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted November 29th, 2017, 7:15 pm

Just middle click on the link.
#KeepFightingMichael

Debskinner
 
Posts: 224
Joined: July 27th, 2006, 3:22 am

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 12:59 am

I tried FF57 after auto update that I forgot to turn off.... I generally do searches from the address bar & hit return. It opens in same tab every time. Went back to FF56 until this can be fixed. FF acting like that makes it like IE/Edge, which I hate, so out of date FF from now on

mms
 
Posts: 86
Joined: March 9th, 2007, 9:47 am

Post Posted November 30th, 2017, 2:56 pm

I don't have a working middle mouse button. Left-right only. But 2 each of those. (top & bottom of touch pad) Open Link in New Tab comes pretty close to FF56 behavior though. Sure hope they add an About:config line for this.

Thank you for you suggestions

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Infernoflower1 and 9 guests