MozillaZine

BBC Web Site: Video Playback

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
VaughanJG
 
Posts: 5
Joined: December 2nd, 2017, 3:22 am

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 3:27 am

Firefox Version: 57.1

I was wondering if anyone else was having a problem, or have a solution, for a video playback problem I have on the BBC news web site (news.bbc.co.uk)

Essentially, I find that often the video simply won't play, giving a generic error that Flash isn't installed. However, if I restart Firefox and try again, it always works.

I see people have had issues with Youtube, but that has been fine for me. In fact, the only site I'm having issues with is the BBC. Very annoying though.

I sympathize with others about Add-On's not working, we're all facing that. I've also noticed that some of my favorite add-on's have now been released, but with vastly more complicated interfaces which are needless. Such is life. Performance wise things have been good for me too.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120090
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 5:30 am

Don't see any problem with video playback here. Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4673
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 6:07 am

BBC site plays fine here and is not using Flash, but HTML5...

VaughanJG
 
Posts: 5
Joined: December 2nd, 2017, 3:22 am

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 6:30 am

I find it sometimes works, but once it stops, only a Firefox restart fixes it. I'll do some more testing to see if I can find some method to faithfully reproduce it. At the moment it appears rather random, but I'm sure it's not.

DVB
 
Posts: 406
Joined: November 2nd, 2005, 7:54 am

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 8:27 am

Same problem. Since FF57 the BBC News site often tells me I need to download Flash in order to play a video -- despite the fact I did that the day before...

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38393
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 8:45 am

Hi,
Have you checked your settings for Flash in Tools > Addons > Plugins?
Is Flash set to "Ask to activate" or ?

&, Do not D/L anything from any site or pop up, especially Flash from anywhere else but the Adobe site.
We don't want any nasties do we?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DVB
 
Posts: 406
Joined: November 2nd, 2005, 7:54 am

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 10:06 am

Thanks for your reply.

It was set to Ask to activate; I've changed it to Always activate.
And yes, I always download it from Adobe. And for most other things, I use CNET.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38393
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 10:32 am

Be careful when D/L'ing from CNET as it may contain "unwanted stuff" with their D/L installer.
You may like to try, > http://www.majorgeeks.com/
instead?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DVB
 
Posts: 406
Joined: November 2nd, 2005, 7:54 am

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 10:40 am

LIMPET235 wrote:Be careful when D/L'ing from CNET as it may contain "unwanted stuff" with their D/L installer.


Yup, they started doing that a couple of years ago -- very annoying! Don't worry, I always check carefully every step of the way, and un-tick everything that isn't the program I actually want. At least CNET is upfront; some sites are sneaky, and slip in the additional stuff (usually Bing, for some reason) in the default download without even asking; it's safer to click on Advanced, then un-tick the interlopers... :)

David

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38393
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 10:49 am

This free program may help with those installation screens.
> https://unchecky.com/
Read what it does.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DVB
 
Posts: 406
Joined: November 2nd, 2005, 7:54 am

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 11:12 am

What a useful program! Installed.

Thanks!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38393
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 2nd, 2017, 11:16 am

You're welcome...& good luck with the BBC site.

Image
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

costark
 
Posts: 292
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 5:03 am

Post Posted December 9th, 2017, 9:14 am

LIMPET235 wrote:This free program may help with those installation screens.
> https://unchecky.com/
Read what it does.

unchecky_setup.exe when Clk'd on desktop gives "Not a suitable win32 app". Is THIS where you Rt Clk Properties and modify for Win 7 Compatibility Mode? All I can deduce from what I can see. Win 7(64), FF 57.0.2(64), 2010 Office 32-Bit

Not to be Greedy, BUT I CAN SEE a BBC Video from site he gave but found nothing when Searching for HTML5 in FF 57. What DO we have in 57 and/or is an Addon needed further? I Deleted Flash & Java long ago.

Many Thanks!!
Firefox 62.0 (64) - Win 7-64 Hm Prem - Hm-Stdnt '10 Ofce - ESET EIS - MBAM Prem 3 - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect 7 - Diskeeper Pro 15- EPIM Mail - NO Java or Flash - i5 8G Quad Sandy Bridge G2

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38393
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 9th, 2017, 10:26 pm

Unchecky is suitable for all Window's versions from XP & up.
If it doesn't install, then delete it & D/L it again, as it may be corrupt.
You might try disabling your A/V program/s, JIC it's/they are blocking the install somehow.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2017, 2:58 am

TheVisitor wrote:BBC site plays fine here and is not using Flash, but HTML5...

For the most part that's correct, but occasionally the BBC uses Flash and that's when the warning appears that Flash is not installed: https://www.quora.com/Why-does-the-BBC- ... -all-video

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests