MozillaZine

Can't play a specific live stream on youtube

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Brodoho
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 3rd, 2017, 10:12 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 10:25 am

Thank you mod for deleting my message, very helpful, instead of trying to solve an issue. Very helpful, thank you, good job there. A+++++

I'll try again though.

THere's one particular youtube stream, but I guess I can't post a link? I was trying to watch London Chess CLassics tournament which is going live right now but I can't. I get "An error occured" Please try again later. This only happens when trying to watch this particular tournament, other youtube live videos play fine. I can watch the tournament on chrome, but I hate chrome. I want it to work in Firefox.

Is is possible? I'd post a link but the message will get deleted as spam or something. So if someone is kind enough to help, please search youtube for london chess live and see if it plays for you.

Brodoho
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 3rd, 2017, 10:12 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 10:28 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiDhj1Vq-uQ

Doesn't work on Firefox, works on Chrome. I have been unable to watch this tournament on Firefox (several days, various streams, same result - error. try again later)

I posted this in general forum, but my message went into abyss without any note, I don't know whats going on.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 11:46 am

.
It plays for me.

.
FF 62.0.2 - FF 63b9 - FF 64a - TB 60.0 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Brodoho
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 3rd, 2017, 10:12 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 11:55 am

This is what I have.

Removed image, too large and broke forum format.
Last edited by RobertJ on December 3rd, 2017, 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image too large

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 11:59 am

.
You can post a link.

.
FF 62.0.2 - FF 63b9 - FF 64a - TB 60.0 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 2:00 pm

Brodoho wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiDhj1Vq-uQ

Doesn't work on Firefox, works on Chrome. I have been unable to watch this tournament on Firefox (several days, various streams, same result - error. try again later)

I posted this in general forum, but my message went into abyss without any note, I don't know whats going on.


That link plays for me in FF57.0.1

.
FF 62.0.2 - FF 63b9 - FF 64a - TB 60.0 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

allande
 
Posts: 188
Joined: July 20th, 2017, 11:58 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 2:21 pm

See here viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3035907 for a possible workaround, and the encouragement that a related bug should be fixed when Firefox 58 is released.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3675
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 4:04 pm

currently nothing fixed - or to fix.
v57, windows 8, new profile
Image

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 1:30 am

This link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiDhj1Vq-uQ plays fine for me because it's not currently a live stream coming across as VP9 WebM. Normal videos coded in VP9 play fine. It's just the live streams.

Image

The bug in question is: 1362440 - [MSE] WebM segments with Tags elements not properly handled.

Now this: NASA Live - Earth From Space (HDVR) ♥ ISS LIVE FEED #AstronomyDay2017 | Subscribe now! - YouTube which is live, does toss up an error for me in 57. Setting media.webm.enabled to false and reloading the page, it will play. In 58 beta, it plays fine with that set to true.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 7:17 am

.
MarkRH, that live NASA feed plays fine for me in FF57.0.1

.
FF 62.0.2 - FF 63b9 - FF 64a - TB 60.0 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3675
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 11:08 am

i can confirm that issue here (but i LOVE nasa videos and stream - so overwhelming view from space down to earth. i recorded nearly anything when shuttles were in space). firefox 58 not issued

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 1:41 pm

RobertJ wrote:.
MarkRH, that live NASA feed plays fine for me in FF57.0.1

.


Curious, is everything checked here: https://www.youtube.com/html5

Might also be OS related.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 2:07 pm

.
Says my FF57.0.1 supports everything except "MSE & WebM VP9"

.
FF 62.0.2 - FF 63b9 - FF 64a - TB 60.0 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19050
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 7:45 pm

The issue is as noted in the Bug referenced above.

I know not what a "Youtube live feed" is, but is seems some "live feeds" may at times not be live, so if a particular "live feed" works for you (on FF 57, or even SeaMonkey 2.49 [likewise affected]) then it might not be "live" at the particular point in time you looked. Also possible that Youtube will make changes on their end. Otherwise work-around as noted in the bug, or seemingly FF will have a "fix" in 58.


@RobertJ, check about:config, filter on 'webm'. Confirm that you have "...webm.enabled", disabled (false).
Reset it to default (true), & confirm that NASA no longer works.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10643
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted December 5th, 2017, 7:39 am

.
therube, there are four about:config settings for webm and they are all the default.

media.encoder.webm.enabled ---------------> true
media.mediasource.webm.audio.enabled ------> true
media.mediasource.webm.enabled -----------> false
media.webm.enabled ----------------------> true

Also, the NASA live feed works jut fine as noted above with these DEFAULT settings.

.
FF 62.0.2 - FF 63b9 - FF 64a - TB 60.0 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gort and 4 guests