MozillaZine

how can i work offline in the latest firefox?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mike821
 
Posts: 21
Joined: July 10th, 2017, 4:31 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 2:35 pm

back when i was on a dial up connection and used internet explorer i would be able to work offline and see all the websites that i had been to recently without being connected to the internet, but in firefox if i go to developer>work offline all of the websites i have visited cannot be seen, i get a message like "cannot access website because you are working offline"

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120104
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 2:40 pm

Try "File->Work offline".

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43499
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 2:57 pm

Alt + F select Work Offline
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

mike821
 
Posts: 21
Joined: July 10th, 2017, 4:31 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 12:00 am

DanRaisch wrote:Try "File->Work offline".


i tried that, i does not work because as soon as i click work offline i cannot access any of the webpages that i recently viewed online. how can i work offline like i used to with internet explorer when i could be offline and browse webpages that i had previously browsed while online? thanks.

mike821
 
Posts: 21
Joined: July 10th, 2017, 4:31 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 12:02 am

malliz wrote:Alt + F select Work Offline


ok i tried that too but i does not work because as soon as i click work offline i cannot access any of the webpages that i recently viewed online. how can i work offline like i used to with internet explorer when i could be offline and browse webpages that i had previously browsed while online? thanks.

flaneurb
 
Posts: 619
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 3:37 am

Are you not able to access even very recently visited links? Have you reduced the size of your cache? How are you trying to browse these pages? I can see recent pages via the browser's history page (Alt+S) in off-line mode.

mike821
 
Posts: 21
Joined: July 10th, 2017, 4:31 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 12:30 pm

Are you not able to access even very recently visited links?


no, i cant access links that i have just been to even right before i clicked work offline.

Have you reduced the size of your cache?


no, it says cache limit is 350 MB

mike821
 
Posts: 21
Joined: July 10th, 2017, 4:31 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 12:39 pm

I can see recent pages via the browser's history page (Alt+S) in off-line mode.


apparently i am able to access some of the recent pages via the history page. i have increased cache size to 1000 MB in case that helps.

Duck_Dodgers
 
Posts: 38
Joined: December 6th, 2007, 3:47 pm
Location: 24th-and-a-half-Century

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 12:42 pm

I've never used the "work offline' function, but I assume it uses your browsing history. If so, you don't have Firefox mistakenly configured to "clear history when Firefox closes," do you? Just a thought...

Mike
Quack! Quack!

mike821
 
Posts: 21
Joined: July 10th, 2017, 4:31 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 12:49 pm

you don't have Firefox mistakenly configured to "clear history when Firefox closes," do you?


i dont have clear history when firefox closes checked.

mike821
 
Posts: 21
Joined: July 10th, 2017, 4:31 am

Post Posted December 12th, 2017, 11:55 am

i notice that i am not able to raise the cache past 1024 MB, i think this may be the reason why i have difficulty accessing recently visited websites offline.

so i started a new thread:

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3036329&p=14783349#p14783349

mike821
 
Posts: 21
Joined: July 10th, 2017, 4:31 am

Post Posted December 12th, 2017, 12:20 pm

is it possible that certain websites may have a setting that prevents them from being seen offline? like this one:

https://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?/f ... ane-forum/

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19042
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 12th, 2017, 5:32 pm

is it possible that certain websites may have a setting that prevents them from being seen offline?

Yes.
https://

Secure sites, the content that travels over https: will not be cached - unless the site specifically allow it (basically).
(Perhaps more generally, & more accurately, the site needs to allow caching. MDN: HTTP caching.)

Code: Select all
URL: https://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?/forums/forum/1-general-x-plane-forum/
Cache-control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests