MozillaZine

Pin bookmarks to home screen in 57?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
pitman44
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 10th, 2011, 7:01 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2017, 3:13 pm

Prior to 57 when I opened a new tab it was a screen consisting of icons that were bookmarks of pages I visited more often or of bookmarks I pinned to the page. When 57 dropped there was a bunch of stuff I didn't care for so I removed it all with the exception of the default 6 bookmarks thinking I could once again fill the page with icons of bookmarks. I found I could only display the 6 small icons. As of a few days ago those disappeared as well. Now when I open a new tab the page is blank.

Is there a way to display numerous bookmarks (icons) that I can pin to the page when I open a new tab?

eisneun
 
Posts: 670
Joined: January 17th, 2005, 12:10 am
Location: socal

Post Posted December 5th, 2017, 9:19 am

you can edit sites and pin them on the newtab page:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/cu ... a-top-site
How can ace be one and eleven? Huh?
What kind of god would allow that?

costark
 
Posts: 277
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 5:03 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2017, 11:14 am

https://i.imgur.com/E34ytLr.jpg

Per link above Under my theme's address bar are currently X Bkmarks per page width and a bunch of BkMk Folders full of Bkmarks that are Always Visible &/or quickly accessible. The far right Drop-Dn arrow shows the Toolbar BkMk OverFlow.

Firefox Blue & Orange theme by engin1984 was on FF 56 when 57 Transitioned and being Cosmetic, it still works.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... nd-orange/

I've learned Not to treat someone's FF page layout by MY logic; There are too many people's inexplicable (to me) preferences for even God to keep track of, so consider a Toolbar Row like mine but pick and press on as you see fit.
Firefox 60.0.1 (64) - Win 7-64 Hm Prem - Hm-Stdnt '10 Ofce - ESET EIS - MBAM Prem 3 - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect 7 - Diskeeper Pro 15- EPIM Mail - NO Java - Flash - i5 8G Quad Sandy Bridge G2

pitman44
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 10th, 2011, 7:01 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2017, 11:50 am

eisneun wrote:you can edit sites and pin them on the newtab page:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/cu ... a-top-site


Thank you. This is on the path to what I'm looking for. The problem I have at the moment is that my new tab page is completely blank. Any suggestions on how to get any of them to show? Thanks again. I appreciate your efforts to help me with my problem.
Last edited by pitman44 on December 5th, 2017, 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

pitman44
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 10th, 2011, 7:01 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2017, 11:54 am

costark wrote:https://i.imgur.com/E34ytLr.jpg

Per link above Under my theme's address bar are currently X Bkmarks per page width and a bunch of BkMk Folders full of Bkmarks that are Always Visible &/or quickly accessible. The far right Drop-Dn arrow shows the Toolbar BkMk OverFlow.

Firefox Blue & Orange theme by engin1984 was on FF 56 when 57 Transitioned and being Cosmetic, it still works.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... nd-orange/

I've learned Not to treat someone's FF page layout by MY logic; There are too many people's inexplicable (to me) preferences for even God to keep track of, so consider a Toolbar Row like mine but pick and press on as you see fit.


LOL I like your last line. I feel that way about many things in life. :) Thank you for the suggestion. I have been using what you recommend for sites I go to fairly often, just not as often as the ones that I had displayed on the new tab page.

I appreciate you taking the time to address my problem.

pitman44
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 10th, 2011, 7:01 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2017, 12:13 pm

eisneun wrote:you can edit sites and pin them on the newtab page:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/cu ... a-top-site


Thanks again for this suggestion. It got me digging around some more in a different area. I found https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/th ... -them-back

The article mentions the cogwheel in the upper right which I didn't have either. Then I noticed a new icon in the taskbar. New Tab Override. I had installed that trying to resolve my problem. I removed it and the bookmarks came back. One of the articles I read showed how to add a second row. Be nice if they'd let you add a few more.

I'm a happy camper now. Thank you.

eisneun
 
Posts: 670
Joined: January 17th, 2005, 12:10 am
Location: socal

Post Posted December 5th, 2017, 12:15 pm

pitman44 wrote:The problem I have at the moment is that my new tab page is completely blank. Any suggestions on how to get any of them to show?

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/hi ... nt-new-tab
How can ace be one and eleven? Huh?
What kind of god would allow that?

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3475
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2017, 1:15 pm

i just wanted you to try "brian dashboard"
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... dashboard/
but author has deleted it and left.

it had offered bookmarks as tree on the left, history, top sites, addons (information) and a query for bookmarks/history.
pity, and i cant pass it to you.

fred8615
 
Posts: 10
Joined: July 22nd, 2013, 12:29 pm
Location: Sorrento, LA

Post Posted December 11th, 2017, 3:12 pm

pitman44 wrote: Be nice if they'd let you add a few more.

Open about:config and find this:

browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.topSitesCount

Change the value to whatever you want. I'm using 36, but did have it set to 50 with no problem.

My only complaint is you can't rearrange the pinned sites like you used to be able to do.

pitman44
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 10th, 2011, 7:01 am

Post Posted December 11th, 2017, 4:33 pm

fred8615 wrote:
pitman44 wrote: Be nice if they'd let you add a few more.

Open about:config and find this:

browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.topSitesCount

Change the value to whatever you want. I'm using 36, but did have it set to 50 with no problem.

My only complaint is you can't rearrange the pinned sites like you used to be able to do.


Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! lol That's exactly what I was looking for.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dfoulkes and 14 guests