MozillaZine

Non-listed extension

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Odin2
 
Posts: 349
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Post Posted December 9th, 2017, 12:45 pm

On the basis of enthusiastic reviews, I've been considering the installation of the Dashlane password manager--especially as it boasts a Firefox extension. AMO however doesn't currently list it--and extensive correspondence with Dashlane support uncovers no explanation of why. Perhaps it was so listed and Mozilla delisted it--or perhaps it never applied for listing. Aside from asking Dashlane (which, as I say, has been fruitless), is there any way for me to find out the facts?

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22215
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted December 9th, 2017, 2:12 pm

So far... stuff that I've read indicates that you have to install that app. first and then within it there is a function to install their extension into Firefox.... I don't use it but from some searches I've done it looks like you use Dashlane to do everything.

So, info from a post that I read...

This is Simon from Dashlane's Support team
To begin with, I would recommend to try re-installing the Dashlane extension for Firefox by launching your Dashlane app and going to Extensions → Manage Firefox extension. You should also try to restart your computer. If this does not help, and if your Dashlane extension in Firefox is permanently greyed-out, you can look at this article on our Help Center.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Odin2
 
Posts: 349
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Post Posted December 9th, 2017, 6:21 pm

Thanks, dfoulkes. My curiosity remains, however. Your quote from Simon could be helpful--but you didin't provide the link to which he referred.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2035
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted December 10th, 2017, 3:16 pm

I use Dashlane. It has a peculiarity in that you need the extension in FF + the Dashlane program, which runs in the systray. On the DL Menu bar, click Tools>Install FF Extension, which is on THEIR site. And no, nothing can be done about the microscopic font in the Menu Bar. I've already asked.

It also has a few unsolved bugs, and when I wrote to them at their website, they passed the query to 4 other know-nothing people, and the last one concluded I should wipe out my FF profile and begin it again. I didn't. I believe an update has fixed the bug.

I have FF 52ESR. Has DL been upgraded for FF57?
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

Odin2
 
Posts: 349
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2017, 5:38 pm

Thanks, LoveMyFoxy. Your disappointing experience with Dashlane support mirrors my own [even though I'm not yet a Dashlane user]. I can't tell you anything about Dashlane from my experience with it, since I don't have any. Your post however is helpful, and I may give it a try.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22215
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted December 11th, 2017, 9:37 am

Odin2 wrote:Thanks, dfoulkes. My curiosity remains, however. Your quote from Simon could be helpful--but you didin't provide the link to which he referred.


Dashlane with Firefox • mozillaZine Forums
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2035
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted December 12th, 2017, 12:17 am

Odin2 wrote:Thanks, LoveMyFoxy. Your disappointing experience with Dashlane support mirrors my own [even though I'm not yet a Dashlane user]. I can't tell you anything about Dashlane from my experience with it, since I don't have any. Your post however is helpful, and I may give it a try.


Lastpass is full of bugs since LogMeIn bought them. I exported my Lastpass data to DL, which I've now been using about 9 months. When DL stopped working on my main profile, the incident I mentioned above, I went back to LP. DL is running again, maybe after an update, so I'm now running them simultaneously. If I need to save a new PW, I enter it into both programs. :crazyeyes:
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2035
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted December 12th, 2017, 12:18 am

Back up your data to a csv file often, in case you hit bugs.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18481
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 12th, 2017, 1:21 pm

It has a peculiarity in that you need the extension in FF + the Dashlane program, which runs in the systray.

Probably not a peculiarity.
Probably not specific to Dashlane.

Rather a needed hack to get things to work in this new FF realm.
(Isn't that wonderful. Instead of using tools, everything you need to do now in FF is done by a hack, in one way or another. And Mozilla feels that is an improvement.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2035
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted December 12th, 2017, 8:15 pm

It's either specific to Dashlane or rare. What other extension needs a resident additional program? I've been using it that way since whatever FF was I running 9 months ago. It wasn't a new FF realm.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18481
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 14th, 2017, 7:22 am

(I new I saw it somewhere...)

https://www.downloadhelper.net/update?f ... 0&to=7.1.1

Unfortunately, the new WebExtensions interface offers less capabilities than the former Add-on SDK. ...
So we (add-ons developers) have to deal with this and find solutions. This is why Video DownloadHelper 7 requires in some situations the installation of an external application that communicates transparently with the add-on to provide missing capabilities. ...
We understand that installing an external application can be annoying and raise concerns about security. To ensure full transparency, the required VDH Companion App has been released in open-source.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2035
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted December 14th, 2017, 5:17 pm

I've always used an external program, and it's not annoying. My current one is YT Downloader.
Desktop--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /FF 52ESR 64/ Thunderbird 52 / MS Sec. Essent./ Windows firewall / Verizon FIOS

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests