MozillaZine

Pop Ups blocking and whitelisting

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
TDV
 
Posts: 172
Joined: January 27th, 2012, 4:37 pm

Post Posted December 14th, 2017, 7:42 pm

The pop up blocker does not really work, but at least that is mentioned in the help page.

But the whitelisting at least should work... I am using https://www.onlinetvrecorder.com When I get to the page: http://otrkeyfinder.com.... to download from a mirror AND I have listed that soite as ALLOW (I even listed the website of the mirror that I want to access as allowed) still there is just a short flash from the wanted site, but then the blocker does what it is not supposed to do and blocks it.

Why is a website like https://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/en/live/ suddenly prevented to work, even after being put on the whitelist?`Or the really dangerous http://www.sudoku.name/

All this worked perfectly before 57.0.2... so how I do get this back to work normal?

Thanks

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7737
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2017, 1:25 am

TDV wrote:Why is a website like https://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/en/live/ suddenly prevented to work, even after being put on the whitelist?

What's blocked over there? If I click "Popout", that opens normally. Did you modify the value of dom.popup_allowed_events in about:config?
Either way, adding the site to the whitelist also works. Make sure the address is exactly https://www3.nhk.or.jp/

TDV
 
Posts: 172
Joined: January 27th, 2012, 4:37 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2017, 2:06 am

Thank you, yes, this one works now, but all the others.... I noticed that it is actually the MOUSE FUNCTIONS, "right click and Open in new tab" works whenever Ff chooses to and most time it does not.... Which is also the problem on the sites I mentioned above, I noe realize. I did not think that updating a browser will change the mouse.

What can I do to fix this back to normal behaviour?

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7737
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2017, 7:32 am

Start Firefox in Safe Mode to check if one of your add-ons is to blame.
If there's no difference, also check if you get the same behavior when starting in a brand new profile.

TDV
 
Posts: 172
Joined: January 27th, 2012, 4:37 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2017, 5:07 pm

Thanks. I will try both. (As this is exactl the problem, the links you provider, I access! When I rightclick on them and then Open in a new tab, a new tab flashes up for a fraction of a second, and then vanishes again...)


And I am back. It also happens in safe mode.
And also, right click works fine on everything else on the desktop, ONLY not on webpages using FIrefox, it worked perfectly fine with the ESR 52.

I will now try with a new profile, (the old profile which I transferred to Ff57 worked fine on the esr52)


Another 15 minutes later. IT works fine with a new profile.

So, what can I copy from the old profile? Maybe a few things at a time, and always check if it still is ok? Ot is there a way to find the problem in the profile? What can I transfer, f.e. for the bookmarks, add ons...?

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7737
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2017, 6:35 pm

Since it also happens in Safe Mode, it's not one of your add-ons. Since it works in a new profile, it's probably one of your preferences. Test that theory as follows:
  1. Enter about:support into the location bar.
  2. Click the Open Folder button. This opens a file manager window with your current profile.
  3. Exit Firefox.
  4. Back in the file manager window, move the prefs.js file somewhere like the desktop.

TDV
 
Posts: 172
Joined: January 27th, 2012, 4:37 pm

Post Posted December 16th, 2017, 2:38 am

What I did was: Start with new profile and then, three at a time, exchange the new against equivalent files/folders from my old profiles and check each time. I got all the way to the emd #69 and the mistake never returned. So copying the complete old profile into the new (emptied) profile folder must have somehow not worked...

Now, I am happy to say, everything works just fine... so, thank you very much for your support.
Have a nice weekend everybody, TDV

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests