MozillaZine

Session Restore Problem

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
tnffuser
 
Posts: 137
Joined: December 28th, 2006, 9:02 am

Post Posted December 23rd, 2017, 9:16 am

Each time I open FF I get a message that it is having a hard time restoring my previous session.
It then becomes non responsive for 2-3 minutes before giving up and allowing me to browse.
I have history set to use custom settings with private browse mode, remember browsing, download, search and form history unchecked.
So, how do I set FF to NOT trigger an attempt at a session restore upon opening, something in about:config?
Thanks

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19722
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted December 23rd, 2017, 9:20 am

In Options -> General, what do you have set for when Firefox opens? Go to your homepage or start with previous windows and tabs? If you don't care about restoring your session, switch it to homepage or blank tab.

If you had it set for not showing your previous tabs, then something is causing your session to improperly close (crash). What extensions do you have installed?
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

tnffuser
 
Posts: 137
Joined: December 28th, 2006, 9:02 am

Post Posted December 23rd, 2017, 12:02 pm

FF settings are the same as they were before the 57.0.2 update which is when this started.
FF opens to my home page which is the FVD Speed Dial.
Addons: NoScript, ZoomPage WE, Adblock Ultimate, Ghostery, and EmptyCache Button.
Do any of these have any thing to do with session restore?

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3590
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 1:48 am

please read here
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3036761
and search similarities (eg Noscript)

conerning adblock ultimate = crap
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3036664
ghostery is futile and still buggy.

"EmptyCache Button" futile, use a decent forced reload button
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... he-button/

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ghot, Google [Bot] and 9 guests