MozillaZine

Firefox Process Problem

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
RobCharles1981
 
Posts: 9
Joined: October 20th, 2011, 1:39 pm

Post Posted December 23rd, 2017, 4:22 pm

Hey All,

I'm using the latest version of firefox 57.02 64 Bit Edition and I'm noticing allot of System Processes are hogging my system memory, If I close them off it effects the program in general.
In the years I've used firefox Ive never experienced this before.
Any ideas on what to do?


Image

Thanks
Rob

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43485
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted December 23rd, 2017, 4:34 pm

64bit Firefox is now a multi process program.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7736
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted December 23rd, 2017, 4:45 pm

Report the problem and be sure to read the section about a memory use bug.

As for what you can try,
  1. Open the Options Page (about:preferences).
  2. Into the search box, enter performance settings
  3. In the search results, uncheck "Use recommended performance settings". From the drop-down list that's revealed, lower the Content Process Limit.
  4. Restart Firefox.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119754
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 23rd, 2017, 6:39 pm

And note that Photobucket is causing their abusive "Please update your account" image to be displayed in your first post rather than your intended screenshot.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted December 23rd, 2017, 9:10 pm

RobCharles1981 wrote:Hey All,

I'm using the latest version of firefox 57.02 64 Bit Edition and I'm noticing allot of System Processes are hogging my system memory, If I close them off it effects the program in general.
In the years I've used firefox Ive never experienced this before.
Any ideas on what to do?

Thanks
Rob

Are you lookin at the System Process ?

It looks like to MS "Idle" means "not doing anything." When the "System Idle Process" is at 100%, that means nothing is using your CPU

See > https://encrypted.google.com/search?ei= ... Mw5huc_xmk
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

RobCharles1981
 
Posts: 9
Joined: October 20th, 2011, 1:39 pm

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 4:59 am

JayhawksRock wrote:
RobCharles1981 wrote:Hey All,

I'm using the latest version of firefox 57.02 64 Bit Edition and I'm noticing allot of System Processes are hogging my system memory, If I close them off it effects the program in general.
In the years I've used firefox Ive never experienced this before.
Any ideas on what to do?

Thanks
Rob

Are you lookin at the System Process ?

It looks like to MS "Idle" means "not doing anything." When the "System Idle Process" is at 100%, that means nothing is using your CPU

See > https://encrypted.google.com/search?ei= ... Mw5huc_xmk




No Its the Memory eating firefox,

I went into the options of the program to improve the performance and nothing has changed!

Vitesse
 
Posts: 1236
Joined: April 21st, 2011, 6:03 pm

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 5:10 am

DanRaisch wrote:And note that Photobucket is causing their abusive "Please update your account" image to be displayed in your first post rather than your intended screenshot.

This seems to be the only Photobucket fix which still works, Dan: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-GB/firefo ... r/?src=api

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3525
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 6:03 am

No Its the Memory eating firefox,

I went into the options of the program to improve the performance and nothing has changed!

tried a new profile?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows
or
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager

if that wont help its your system and/or (mostz probable) antivirus program.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18797
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 6:16 am

Firefox is using RAM.

https://imgur.com/a/knHI6

I see no issue.
Close FF & see if its RAM usage doesn't disappear ;-).
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests