MozillaZine

Bing results page elements load horribly slow (pic inside)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Proteus86
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 5:02 pm

Post Posted January 23rd, 2018, 7:15 pm

This picture https://i.imgur.com/yylse7R.png can best describe what I'm trying say. I've highlighted the areas I'm having issues with loading. It just hangs for a good 20-30 seconds per search. This doesn't happen on any of my other browsers.

Any suggestions on how to speed things up?

This was my post copied from Reddit yesterday, no one responded so I figured I'd try here.

Edit: Forgot to add I'm running FF58 on Win10

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3851
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 4:50 am

bing is awful small i you want to point that out. (i dont get the images above) but google is not better.
maybe you need some stylish code to improve
https://userstyles.org/styles/browse/bing
https://userstyles.org/styles/browse/google

eg
https://userstyles.org/styles/115828/fenton-bing

or just a quick shot from me
Code: Select all
@-moz-document domain("www.bing.com") {

#b_context
{
    /*display: none !important;*/
    float: right !important;
    margin-right: 20px !important;
}

#b_results .b_caption p
{
      width: calc(100vw - 640px) !important;
}

}
users using outdated and vulnerable software probably never will get an answer from me - sticked with the past? stay alone.

Proteus86
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 5:02 pm

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 4:10 pm

Thanks for the response, but this isn't a style issue I'm having, just a performance hiccup with some of Bings page elements. Guess no one knows.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3851
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 25th, 2018, 1:21 am

provide some information please (text, not raw)
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/us ... ix-firefox

test firefox in safe-mode please:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/tr ... -safe-mode
or
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode


calling bing.com took some seconds longer, the ui was loaded but the background image not (stupid, none need it). performing a search was smooth, either with or w/o ublock.

Proteus86
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 5:02 pm

Post Posted January 25th, 2018, 7:34 pm

Ok, it's not the Bing home page giving me the problem, it's when performing search's, especially when clicking the news articles on the bottom of Bing.com.

I have tested in safe-mode and it's still pretty much the same.

I only have about 7 extensions installed:

1. uBlock Origin
2. Reddit Enhancement Suite
3. Imagus
4. Viewhance
5. Notifier for GMail
6. Bitwarden
7. Gesturefy

I went through the process of disabling each one and disabling all of them as well, and nothing really changes.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3851
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 26th, 2018, 1:59 am

maybe a combination of all. last option is a fresh profile (hwa is affected in safe-mode)
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1075185

create a new profile
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows
or
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager

i did this minute, bing was faster than my used profile. but i still have one problem - i dont get your image line. this may be a result because i am no user of bing (thus i can not login)
but on the main page (no search) i get a bottom news line with images and those are scrolling smooth without timeout.

if a fresh (without login to bing) profile dont change experience then is caused by system, maybe a security software scanning, maybe ssl scanning.

to test that out you need to start windows in safe-mode with network (msconfig.exe). if this condition wont change anything its on the hardware, either router (in most cases not) or provider itself (there is nothing you can do).

this method reduces the impacts on firefox. let us know about the results please and ask if situation is not clear. btw you wont lose anything, not firefox, not profile, not windows.

Proteus86
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 5:02 pm

Post Posted January 27th, 2018, 6:16 pm

Yea...I tried all that and it's still the same. It's gotta be the browsers engine and how it loads certain things, I can't think of anything else. My other browsers (Opera and Yandex) both have no issues and I believe those are Chromium based.

This is just really annoying. Thank you for taking the time to help me.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3851
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 2:59 am

i dont think its firefox because then there must be more complaints, in special bing, but there are not.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests