MozillaZine

How to avoid New Tab page with it's Firefox ads please?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 806
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 7:18 am

When I only have one page open and use the Close X on the left instead of using the one on the very right (as I should do) .... I get a New Tab covered in Firefoxy stuff.

Is there a way please to prevent the left (like a single tab) X from closing Firefox please?

I'm sure there used to be a way in the older Firefox's (probably using the Tab Mix Plus add-on) but I am hopeless at remembering to use the right hand close page X especially when I am in the process of closing more than a few tabs one by one and would be really pleased if I could find a way of not being able to close the final page using what is effectively the last tab open.

Can any of my wonderfully patient techy friends here point me in the right direction please?
Mud is good!

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 204
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 7:26 am

To avoid the ads and other stuff do the following:

(1) Open a new tab.
(2) On the top right of the page you will see a small "gear wheel" symbol. Click on that symbol.
(3) Select what you want/don't want to see.
(4) Click the "Done" button.

(Hope that was what you were asking about.)
Last edited by BuddhaNature on January 28th, 2018, 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38336
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 7:28 am

Hi MMM,
I believe you need to set this pref in about:config to FALSE.
> browser.tabs.closeWindowWithLastTab

&, From the little Gear icon at the top RHS, UN-check all the options.
You should end up with a blank Firefox page.

[edit]
Darn it....Beaten to the punch by 2 Mins & 14 Secs.
[/edit]

[edit]
Nope. I actually beat "BuddhaNature" by 2 Mins & 16 Secs.
[/edit]
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 204
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 7:35 am

LIMPET235 wrote:Darn it....Beaten to the punch by 2 Mins & 14 Secs.

No, Limpet. On re-reading MMM's question, actually questions, I did notice that he was talking about two subjects and started looking for the other concerning the about:config preference (which I knew I had read "somewhere"). You got that in one. :D

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38336
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 7:40 am

BuddaNature,
Thanks for that one...
If I may just point out a small error?
MMM is most definitely not a he.
She likes to receive...
Image
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 204
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 7:44 am

Oops! :oops:

(Apologies, MMM. Image )

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 806
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 10:23 am

Thanks folks (and I'll answer to anything except "You owe me money").

Used the little cog/gear icon and unticked everything to give me a blank New Tab.

I looked at the bit in about:config and it was already set to false. This is how it looked ....
Code: Select all
browser.tabs.closeWindowWithLastTab     modified     boolean      false


Restarted my lovely Firefox and opened a few tabs .... but, I am still getting (the now blank) New Tab page if I click on the last surviving X after closing the others.

Nothing is ever simple with 'ickle me .... sorry :)
Mud is good!

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 204
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 11:30 am

madmudmob wrote:Restarted my lovely Firefox and opened a few tabs .... but, I am still getting (the now blank) New Tab page if I click on the last surviving X after closing the others.)

That's what happens in my FF too. I suspect that behaviour might be deliberate on the part of FF developers. The thinking behind that might be, "Well, if the user has the browser open at all, and with no actually open "active" tab, then the user will most likely want a New Tab immediately - so that's what we'll give them." Something like that is my guess. Personally I think it good behaviour on the part of FF. Don't know if that can/cannot be changed.
Last edited by BuddhaNature on January 29th, 2018, 5:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38336
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 29th, 2018, 2:16 am

Hi MMM,
Do you remember this old Acronym?

"WYSIWYG"
What you see is what you get, the same as me & everyone else, AFAIK.

Ref; what I get with those settings/options/prefs...

Image

NB: I am using the "Clear Transparent Glass" theme.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 806
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted January 29th, 2018, 5:26 am

I remember WYSIWYG :) .... not only as an acronym but it was a great robot in the UK Robot Wars some years ago ....

Image
Mud is good!

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 806
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted January 29th, 2018, 5:36 am

Woohooo thanks to looking at your pic, LIMPET235 I spotted Violent Monkey ..... installed it and then my favourite bits (they keep the progress bar permanently visible on YouTube) which now work on this latest Firefox.


Happy me!
Image
Mud is good!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38336
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 29th, 2018, 5:43 pm

You're welcome...

Image
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19722
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted January 29th, 2018, 6:18 pm

That preference should be true to close the window when you close the last tab, not false.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 806
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted January 29th, 2018, 7:13 pm

I finally got an userChrome to work so installed this that Frank Lion kindly posted for me on another thread ....

Code: Select all
/* Franks Hide Tab Bar When Only One Tab is Open for FF29 onwards... */
 
#tabbrowser-tabs { min-height: 0px !important;}
 
#tabbrowser-tabs tab[first-tab='true'][last-tab='true'] { display:none !important; }

/* Theme Fix - you only need these next 2 lines if your theme doesn't look right
...just uncomment them to use.............

#TabsToolbar { border : none !important;}
#TabsToolbar { min-height: 0px !important;}*/


so no more single tab and no New Tab to deal with.

As always, thanks folks

Image
Mud is good!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38336
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 30th, 2018, 12:31 am

You're welcome, MMM.

Image
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests