MozillaZine

How to avoid New Tab page with it's Firefox ads please?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19719
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 3:50 pm

Find this line:
/** End Nav bar background **

And add a / to the end of it.
/** End Nav bar background **/
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 806
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 4:27 pm

Yes, it is in the Context Menu that appears when I right click on a page or image

Here's what I have now ....

Code: Select all

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");
/*AGENT_SHEET*/

/* Firefox 57+ userChrome.css tweaks ****************************************************/
/* code mostly taken from 'Classic Theme Restorer' & 'Classic Toolbar Buttons' add-ons **/
/* by Aris (aris-addons@gmx.net)*********************************************************/
/* Github: https://github.com/aris-t2/customcssforfx ************************************/
/****************************************************************************************/

.searchbar-textbox, #urlbar {
  border-radius: 20px !important;
}

/**/










/*AGENT_SHEET*/

/* Firefox 57+ userChrome.css tweaks ****************************************************/
/* code mostly taken from 'Classic Theme Restorer' & 'Classic Toolbar Buttons' add-ons **/
/* by Aris (aris-addons@gmx.net)*********************************************************/
/* Github: https://github.com/aris-t2/customcssforfx ************************************/
/****************************************************************************************/


/* move star-button to boxes last position */
#star-button-box{
  -moz-box-ordinal-group: 100 !important;
}

/**/









/* hide toolbar borders */
toolbar {
  -moz-appearance: none !important;
  border-left: 0px !important;
  border-right: 0px !important;
  border-bottom: 0px !important;
  border-top: 0px !important;
}









#navigator-toolbox > toolbar:not(#toolbar-menubar):not(#TabsToolbar):not(:-moz-lwtheme) {
    margin-bottom: -1px !important;
}










 /* set default namespace to XUL */

/* Firefox userChrome.css */

/* This will remove the current "line" above the active tab */
.tab-line {
  visibility: hidden !important;
}
/* Color of ACTIVE tab - #E3E3E3 is just a sample */
.tab-background[selected="true"] {
  background-color: #E3E3E3 !important;
  background-image: none !important;
}
/* Color of ACTIVE tab TEXT & bold or not bold. You can use a color code instead of "white" here if you wish.
.tabbrowser-tab[selected] .tab-label {
  color: black !important;
  font-weight: bold !important;
/* font-weight: normal !important; (for regular text) */
}
 










 
#tabbrowser-tabs { min-height: 0px !important;}
 
#tabbrowser-tabs tab[first-tab='true'][last-tab='true'] { display:none !important; }

/* Theme Fix - you only need these next 2 lines if your theme doesn't look right
...just uncomment them to use.............

#TabsToolbar { border : none !important;}
#TabsToolbar { min-height: 0px !important;}*/









/* Firefox - Remove borders/gradients on tab/nav bars
 * (c) 2014 Scott Zeid <s.zeid.me>.  X11 License.
 *
 * For use with the default Firefox Australis theme.
 *



/** Tab bar bottom border **/

/* Pre-Australis */

#nav-bar {
 margin-top: -1px !important;
}

#PersonalToolbar ~ #TabsToolbar {
 padding-bottom: 0 !important;
 box-shadow: none !important;
}

/* Australis */

#main-window #TabsToolbar ~ toolbar#nav-bar {
 margin-top: -1px !important;
 border-top: 1px solid transparent !important;  /* Firefox 32+
}

#TabsToolbar::after {
 border-bottom-color: transparent !important;
}

/** End Tab bar bottom border **/

/** Nav bar top border **/

/* Australis only */

#TabsToolbar ~ #nav-bar,
#verticaltabs-box ~ * #nav-bar {
 box-shadow: none !important;
}

/** End Nav bar top border **/

/** Nav bar bottom border **/

:disabled {}

/** End Nav bar bottom border **/

/* Nav bar background */

/* Both Australis and pre-Australis */

#nav-bar {
 background: none !important;
}

/** End Nav bar background **/









/* hide toolbar borders */
toolbar {
  -moz-appearance: none !important;
  border-left: 0px !important;
  border-right: 0px !important;
  border-bottom: 0px !important;
  border-top: 0px !important;
}










menuitem.menuitem-iconic[label="Kill It"] > .menu-iconic-left {
  opacity: 0 !important;
}






and the little blighter is still showing :(
Mud is good!

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19719
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 8:41 pm

Do me a favor... make a backup copy of your userChrome.css file. Then edit the original (not the copy) to be just the @namespace line and the code we are trying to use to remove the Kill It icon. Your file should be this:

Code: Select all
@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

menuitem.menuitem-iconic[label="Kill It"] > .menu-iconic-left {
  opacity: 0 !important;
}

Make sure you save the file, exit Firefox, wait a good ten seconds to make sure Firefox is really closed, then restart Firefox.

This is the extension you are talking about, right?
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/kill-it/
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 806
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 5:27 am

Okelydokely ..... didn't know how to make a back-up so I thought outside the box. I copied all the file's contents, pasted them into an email to myself then deleted all in the original file.

Pasted in all the code you posted for me into the now empty file and all my previous userChrome bits have gone in my right click context menu but the wretched Kill It is still there.
Mud is good!

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 204
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 6:32 am

madmudmob wrote:Okelydokely ..... didn't know how to make a back-up so I thought outside the box.

MMM, the easy way to make a backup is as follows:

(1) Right-click on the userChrome.css file and select Copy

(2) Now right click on a blank area of your chrome folder and select Paste. A new file will be created with the title something like userChrome - Copy.css That is your backup of the userChrome.css file. The content of that file will be an exact copy of your userChrome.css file as it was at the time you created the backup.

(3) You can rename that backup file to anything you like (except of course userChrome.css). For example, userChrome.bak.css or userChrome.old.css (whatever makes sense to you).

(4) Once you have the backup file created you just open your userChrome.css file and follow smsmith's instructions for what code to paste into the userChrome.css file.

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19719
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 6:56 am

madmudmob wrote:Pasted in all the code you posted for me into the now empty file and all my previous userChrome bits have gone in my right click context menu but the wretched Kill It is still there.

Ok, I think we need to step back one more time.

Are you trying to remove the entire menu item for Kill It that shows up when you right click the page, or are you trying to just remove the icon?
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 806
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 7:13 am

Hi again,
I don't see an icon just the words Kill It.

Perhaps I should explain why it bothers me so much .... it appears just below my Remove This Link From History (at the very bottom of my right-click context menu) which is this add-on ...
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ited-link/


I use that add-on all the time as it helps me keep up to date with where I've been and is a great help to my poor eye-sight.
My issue with Kill It is I have more than a few times clicked that instead of Remove Visited Link which has got me into a world of confusion trying to find the right entry in Kill It to remove it.
Mud is good!

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19719
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 9:29 am

Ok, so you want to remove the entire menu item, not just the icon. I thought you were just after the icon removal.

Try this:
Code: Select all
menuitem.menuitem-iconic[label="Kill It"] {
  display: none !important;
}
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

madmudmob

User avatar
 
Posts: 806
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 9:44 am

Fantastic smsith! You are my Techy Hero of the Day. I always get such kind and friendly help here both with big issues or 'frivolous' stuff like killing a menu entry.

I have just been diagnosed with terminal cancer with an expectancy of 3 to 5 months so I will one day disappear from here but I wanted you all to know it will be beyond my choosing and not that I feel peeved with any of you in any way as you have always been Techy Stars to me whenever I come here with a question.
Mud is good!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 9 guests