MozillaZine

Vimeo Videos Will Not Even Display (Mac)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10714
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 3:13 pm

.
Not using flash since mine is disabled.

.
FF 64.0- FF 64b13 - FF 65a - TB 60.3.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27446
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 4:13 pm

auctoris wrote:Does anyone know if it's trying to use Flash or html5?

Thanks

Vimeo player is HTML5.

auctoris
 
Posts: 148
Joined: November 5th, 2004, 1:27 pm
Location: USA

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 4:26 pm

If I trash my pref.js file entirely in my profile folder and start in safe mode, it still won't play.

This is crazy.
auctoris

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20102
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 4:38 pm

James wrote:
auctoris wrote:Does anyone know if it's trying to use Flash or html5?

Thanks

Vimeo player is HTML5.

....you know many HTML5 only vid sites that bring up a massive 'Activate Adobe Flash' notice in the centre of their vids before playing? :P

If the OP has Flash, as they do, then it will try to use that. Apart from anything else, it's in the Page Source coding for that website.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19187
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 11:31 am

If I trash my pref.js file entirely in my profile folder and start in safe mode, it still won't play.

You did that with FF closed?

Try clearing cache & cookies.

Once that's done & with your prefs.js (prefs, plural, btw) "trashed", does Vimeo still look like your above screenshot, or does it look like what you got in your new Profile test?

Are you blocking cookies, or 3rd-party cookies, or similar?

If you set Flash to disabled, does anything change?
(Generally, you can tell if a video is Flash or HTML5 by right-clicking the video. Flash generally mentions Flash in there. HTML5 generally mentions things like "stats". You can also check your firefox.exe processes, Properties, may clue you in on Flash, if its not otherwise identifiable.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10714
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 11:41 am

therube wrote: You can also check your firefox.exe processes,

He is on a Mac

.
FF 64.0- FF 64b13 - FF 65a - TB 60.3.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19187
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 12:08 pm

(UNIX, Linux, Mac, ps [process status], I imagine is there, or whatever GUI equivalent there may be.
Oh, or do you mean firefox.exe, so then what, firefox.bin is it?)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

auctoris
 
Posts: 148
Joined: November 5th, 2004, 1:27 pm
Location: USA

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 12:12 pm

I've tried everything from deleting the cache, history, etc. to testing every possible setting in about:config to manually editing the prefs.js folder. I have no idea what is going on.

I'm just going to create a new profile and slowly migrate everything one at a time.

Thank you everyone for your assistance.
auctoris

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20102
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 12:15 pm

auctoris wrote:I've tried everything from deleting the cache, history, etc. to testing every possible setting in about:config to manually editing the prefs.js folder. I have no idea what is going on..

Have you tried disabling Flash to Never Activate in the Addons Manager? That site should then switch to trying to play in html5.

Sometimes, although sites claim to support something, like Flash, they don't do it very well.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests