MozillaZine

Separators in Firefox Quantum Fx57+ without CSS/WEs/add-ons

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3174
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 4:15 am

There is an undocumented way to get separators even without any add-ons/WEs or custom CSS code.

The browser preference browser.uiCustomization.state saves and loads the toolbar configuration and keeps items and positions of uninstalled add-ons or non-available/deprecated toolbar content. This can be used to trick Firefox into displaying technically still present separators. They are only hidden from customizing modes palette.

  1. Open about:config and search for browser.uiCustomization.state.
  2. Copy and paste the string content into a text file.
  3. Inside the (probably long) text string you will find an area, that looks like this
    Code: Select all
    ...,"nav-bar":["back-button","forward-button","stop-reload-button","home-button","urlbar-container",....
  4. "Create" a separator by adding customizableui-special-separator[random_4_digits] inside toolbars configuration area, so it looks like this
    Code: Select all
    ...,"nav-bar":["back-button","forward-button","stop-reload-button","customizableui-special-separator1957","home-button","urlbar-container",....
  5. Copy the new string back into browser.uiCustomization.state and restart Firefox.
  6. Repeat for other toolbars btw. positions.

Image

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19719
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 11:12 am

Do the random four digits need to be different for each separator?
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3174
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 11:17 am

Yes they do. Firefox also always used different random digits in the past.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Oma1942 and 3 guests