MozillaZine

Twitter embeds don't fully render any more

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
miss_kitty
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 28th, 2005, 11:12 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 11:49 am

I don't know what I did, or if it happened during an update, but twitter embeds quit fully rendering in website posts. I get text only with the links, but not the style. I can see them in twitter, have tried with the ABP turned off, and I just can't get them to render.

Is there any idea as to what happened here?
Windows 7

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10714
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 12:10 pm

.
Example?

.
FF 64.0- FF 64b13 - FF 65a - TB 60.3.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

miss_kitty
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 28th, 2005, 11:12 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 12:22 pm

RobertJ wrote:.
Example?

.
I don't know how to show you. It's a no-style kind of deal, just text. I did a screen print. but don't know how to show you here.
Windows 7

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10714
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 12:27 pm

miss_kitty wrote:Ibut twitter embeds quit fully rendering in website posts.


Website post you referred to?

.
FF 64.0- FF 64b13 - FF 65a - TB 60.3.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

miss_kitty
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 28th, 2005, 11:12 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 12:36 pm

You want a link? It won't do for you what it does for me, unless it was the last update https://crooksandliars.com/2018/02/here ... er-roundup
So excuse my dragging politics into here.
The stuff not coming up is the background, the borders, the avatars...it actually speeds up loading w/o that, but I need to know what kind of futzing around caused this.
The post is an example. It's universal, all twitter embeds in all posts at all sites.
Windows 7

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10714
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 12:54 pm

.
I don't do twitter but this showed up fine for me on that site using FF58.0.2

pic.twitter.com/lAh677B6t9

I also found a number of other sites where the twitter embeds show up fine. I verified by viewing in Chrome and Safari. You may have to wait for someone who knows something about Twitter embeds to come along.

.
FF 64.0- FF 64b13 - FF 65a - TB 60.3.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

miss_kitty
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 28th, 2005, 11:12 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 1:04 pm

RobertJ wrote:.
I don't do twitter but this showed up fine for me on that site using FF58.0.2

pic.twitter.com/lAh677B6t9

I also found a number of other sites where the twitter embeds show up fine. I verified by viewing in Chrome and Safari. You may have to wait for someone who knows something about Twitter embeds to come along.

.
Ok. It's a setting in my browser. Because I tried in the ultra slow messed up IE, which renders them fine. The page just takes an eon to load--dial up speed.

But I don't know where and the page that discusses images not loading http://kb.mozillazine.org/Images_or_ani ... o_not_load seems to be out of date on the paths and instructions on how to check this stuff "In Firefox, look under "Tools -> Options -> Content" and Make sure that "Load images automatically" is checked." There is no path to 'Content' and option search said there was no "Load images" phrase at all in 'Options'.

Thanks for giving it a go :D
Windows 7

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10714
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 1:15 pm

.
On the menu bar, click the Help menu and select Restart with Add-ons Disabled.... Firefox will start up with the Firefox Safe Mode dialog. Click continue in Safe Mode and don't check any items.

To go back to normal mode just quit FF and restart.

.
FF 64.0- FF 64b13 - FF 65a - TB 60.3.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

miss_kitty
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 28th, 2005, 11:12 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 1:22 pm

RobertJ wrote:.
On the menu bar, click the Help menu and select Restart with Add-ons Disabled.... Firefox will start up with the Firefox Safe Mode dialog. Click continue in Safe Mode and don't check any items.

To go back to normal mode just quit FF and restart.

.
I only have ABP, which was the first thing I checked turned off yesterday. However, opening in safe mode with everything off, I still have no style in the twitter embeds. I also checked about:config and the permissions deal for images is set at 1, where it should be. Excuse me while I head back to unsafe mode. :)
Windows 7

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10714
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 1:38 pm

.
Try creating a temporary test profile

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

.
FF 64.0- FF 64b13 - FF 65a - TB 60.3.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

miss_kitty
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 28th, 2005, 11:12 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 1:50 pm

Ok. This looks like it will take me awhile, but I'll get on it.
Windows 7

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4694
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 2:00 pm

miss_kitty wrote:You want a link? It won't do for you what it does for me, unless it was the last update https://crooksandliars.com/2018/02/here ... er-roundup
So excuse my dragging politics into here.
The stuff not coming up is the background, the borders, the avatars...it actually speeds up loading w/o that, but I need to know what kind of futzing around caused this.
The post is an example. It's universal, all twitter embeds in all posts at all sites.



Did you by chance turn on Firefox Tracking Protection ? I saw no embeds on that site until I turned it off for that site.
options->privacy&security-> tracking protection. Default is 'only in private windows'
Unless you something got into Full time Private browsing.

miss_kitty
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 28th, 2005, 11:12 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 3:09 pm

TheVisitor wrote:Did you by chance turn on Firefox Tracking Protection ? I saw no embeds on that site until I turned it off for that site.
options->privacy&security-> tracking protection. Default is 'only in private windows'
Unless you something got into Full time Private browsing.

That's exactly what I did. I would have answered sooner, but the 'create a new profile' task never goes smoothly for me, I lost the profile, I was kicked out, tried to re-register twice, and totally kicked out both tries. Just as I was doing that, you were handing me the the answer. And I finally found my damned profile. Thanks!

And thanks everybody! :D
Windows 7

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4694
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2018, 3:18 pm

miss_kitty wrote:
TheVisitor wrote:Did you by chance turn on Firefox Tracking Protection ? I saw no embeds on that site until I turned it off for that site.
options->privacy&security-> tracking protection. Default is 'only in private windows'
Unless you something got into Full time Private browsing.

That's exactly what I did. I would have answered sooner, but the 'create a new profile' task never goes smoothly for me, I lost the profile, I was kicked out, tried to re-register twice, and totally kicked out both tries. Just as I was doing that, you were handing me the the answer. And I finally found my damned profile. Thanks!

And thanks everybody! :D


Your Welcome =D>

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 8 guests