MozillaZine

Make website fit on screeen next to sidebar?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
semigeek
 
Posts: 96
Joined: April 16th, 2014, 8:54 pm
Location: Colorado

Post Posted March 2nd, 2018, 4:03 pm

Most websites resize themselves to the available width when a sidebar is displayed (I usually have bookmarks showing). A few don't, assuming they have my full screen witdth to themselves. Is there a way to fix that with userContent.css?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38424
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 3rd, 2018, 2:06 am

Hi,
A "few of those site's" URL's would help.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19119
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 4th, 2018, 6:09 am

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16648
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted March 4th, 2018, 7:50 am

The width of the page display (or element within the page) can be written into the page code. By default, if the page code doesn't specify the width, it will adjust to the available width.

But width CAN be specified as a set width, in linear units (cm, inch, etc.), in pixels, or in % of available space. In such cases, the width will be used as specified and not vary with the available space.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF 52.9.0 ESR (64bit), TB 52.9.1(32bit) ║ Android 8.0/7.1.1: FF 62.0.1 No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

semigeek
 
Posts: 96
Joined: April 16th, 2014, 8:54 pm
Location: Colorado

Post Posted March 4th, 2018, 10:51 am

Thanks. I don't need a bookmarklet to click on, because I can already solve the problem with ^B to hide the sidebar. I'm looking for an automatic solution, through css or a preference or extension.

The extension referred to in the mentioned thread no longer exists, and the bookmarklet (like everything here) seems to relate to text flow and margins, while the problem I encounter seems always to occur on pages with lots of images, or large images. I'm having trouble citing an example because it seems to occur less often with FF 52 now, which is good, and if I understood why that was it might help solve the others too. One site that had this problem in FF 28 but no longer does is: http://www.gov.gs/jan-18-newsletter/

Basically it seems to me that Firefox must be telling a site what my screen width is, and there should be a simple way to control whether it reports the physical or the current logical width.

semigeek
 
Posts: 96
Joined: April 16th, 2014, 8:54 pm
Location: Colorado

Post Posted March 5th, 2018, 9:57 pm

makaiguy wrote:The width of the page display (or element within the page) can be written into the page code.

Yes... although I found that hard to believe. I just identified a site that specifies the width of its two page elements as 229px and 971px! Why would someone assume that a fixed 1200px image will fit on my screen? It's just stupid. I've fixed this site with a line in userContent.css.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests