MozillaZine

Frequent Reloads/Refreshes

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
tnffuser
 
Posts: 139
Joined: December 28th, 2006, 9:02 am

Post Posted March 12th, 2018, 8:05 am

FF has, in the past few weeks, starting doing an awful lot of reloading of pages.
The page will turn white then return to the page. It seems to be an actual refresh as sometimes an article or such will be missing upon refresh.
is there something in setting that control reloading of pages and let me do the refresh?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120282
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 12th, 2018, 9:41 am

Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If no improvement using Safe Mode, do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
and
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

Also see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnostic_-_Firefox

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10663
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted March 12th, 2018, 9:43 am

.
Some sites do that; how about a URL?

.
FF 62.0.3 - FF 63b14 - FF 64a - TB 60.2.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

tnffuser
 
Posts: 139
Joined: December 28th, 2006, 9:02 am

Post Posted March 14th, 2018, 12:17 pm

One that I remember off the top of my head is Drudge Report.
There is a refresh every minute or so on that one.
Maybe it is the sites, and not FF.

No have not tried safe mode, but did disable all addons, and restart, no change.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10663
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted March 14th, 2018, 12:43 pm

.
Just went to the Drudge Report using a blank FF test profile (i.e., no extensions) and waited five minutes and there were no refreshes.

.
FF 62.0.3 - FF 63b14 - FF 64a - TB 60.2.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

gorhill
 
Posts: 155
Joined: February 10th, 2015, 8:00 am

Post Posted March 14th, 2018, 12:50 pm

tnffuser wrote:One that I remember off the top of my head is Drudge Report.
There is a refresh every minute or so on that one.
Maybe it is the sites, and not FF.

The site itself is programmed to do this, there is this inline javascript code on the page:
Code: Select all
<!--
var timer = setInterval("autoRefresh()", 1000 * 43 * 3);
function autoRefresh(){self.location.reload(true);}
//-->

This makes the page reload every ~2 minutes.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10663
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted March 14th, 2018, 1:09 pm

.
gorhill, that is interesting. I tried the Drudge Report using my normal profile and it does reload about every couple of minutes. No clue why the blank profile does not.

.
FF 62.0.3 - FF 63b14 - FF 64a - TB 60.2.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests