MozillaZine

MSN home page -- can't get rid of it

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted April 9th, 2018, 11:24 am

Using Firefox 56.0b9 I keep getting a MSN page almost every time I start the browser. It is NOT in my homepage or any bookmarks on my PC. I even removed MSN from the search engines.

https://www.msn.com/?ocid=wispr&pc=u477
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119403
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 9th, 2018, 1:02 pm

Have you scanned the system for malware?

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted April 10th, 2018, 5:37 am

Thank you. No problems on a full scan. It is inconsistent. Just looking for anything someone might have experienced. I'll live with it.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3403
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted April 10th, 2018, 8:04 am

check the (desktop) link itself. check homepage settings. try a clean profile.

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted April 13th, 2018, 12:37 pm

Thanks for the suggestions. I have not had it for a couple days now. I did find some links online that had some suggestions too. Not sure what worked or didn't as it was not consistent. But thanks.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3403
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted April 13th, 2018, 12:52 pm

btw
do we still need to say to you that current firefox is version 59.0.2?
or that 56beta9 is not 56 final?
and that 56beta contains so many bugs solved with the final?

so many reasons to leave any older version
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3039818

i am not sure now if msn is your real issue or 56beta.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18556
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 13th, 2018, 1:06 pm

Using Firefox 56.0b9

Aside from the fact that you're using 56, isn't b9 going to be a good month older then the 56.0.2 release.
(Ya beat me by a few minutes, I see ;-).)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3403
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted April 13th, 2018, 11:47 pm

nailed it twice maybe help some more^^

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted April 14th, 2018, 9:10 am

Version 56.0 seems to be the last version that would accommodate TMP -- which I do not want to give up yet. Thanks for all the suggestions.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38222
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted April 14th, 2018, 9:22 am

Hi,
TMP has been updated to work with the latest version.
It doesn't have all the old features but....may suit.
ref; > https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... src=search

Have you tried a new Profile yet?
See if you still have the same intermittent error.
> http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted April 14th, 2018, 10:14 am

Thanks, LIMPET235 and everyone else. It certainly puts me closer to what I want and lets me update to a later version.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3403
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted April 15th, 2018, 3:10 am

TMP gladly was never vital for me although it has benefits. i replaced it which was possible.
for any other people
https://www.camp-firefox.de/forum/viewt ... 4&t=122887
this is the german speaking community around firefox which uses scripts and more as a replacement.
probably a translator needed.

TMP as webextension is not even close but it offers some tips how to adjust this or that in firefox itself.

haveing a look into my installed extension - only 3 webextensions:
- right click opens in new tab
- close all tabs
- undo close tab button
- opening bookmarks or search results in new tab in firefox prefs.

ofc there exist many more extensions to sort, eliminated dupe tabs etc - used in my second profile and partial in firefox dev (try out).

we can help - but only for those who speak up and want to improve. any other is waste of time.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests